We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of South Amercia.. DO NOT MISS THIS EXPERIENCE. Any less than 5 star rating is scandalous!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of South Amercia.. DO NOT MISS THIS EXPERIENCE. Any less than 5 star rating is scandalous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We are research fanatics and La Sofia was the highlight of both of our trips. The only bad thing was that we had to leave.
We are a young couple, had done minimal riding, had never played polo. 
Marcos, an ex international pro, now pro ref, has managed polo farms all over the world, is the teacher. All his achievements are modestly put in a photo album which you can look at if you're interested.
Essentially it's like being taught how to drive by Lewis Hamilton. (Except with all due respect to Lewis, I'm sure he wouldn't be as patient as Marcos!)
Location was crucial for our holiday: La Sofia is only one hour away from Buenos Aires, much easier than the other estancias we looked at. They sent a taxi, who they use regularly.
It was the perfect break from the chaos of Buenos Aires. The horses are free to graze around the house & do so whilst your having lunch.
Price wise: the polo experience is not a cheap one. Having said that, when we were researching estancias, the price varied considerably and La Sofia was good value for money. The quality of instructors isnt regulated on estancias, but if you want to learn from the best, Marcos is your man.
Things which stood out: 
The beef de lomo was the best meat I've ever had. ( better than all of the top steak houses in buenos aires ).
We were apprehensive about the review saying you can't get water or a coffee out of meal times. Our experience was totally to the contrary.
We accidentally over paid the taxi driver who didn't speak English. Marcus sorted it all out for us.
It was one of the guests birthdays and Silke made the most enormous cake and Marcos took us to the local bar, an experience in itself: the real gaucho bar.
We left before breakfast, which usually starts at 8am & is made by the maid. Marcos got up early and made us coffee and croissants at 6.30am to send us off with a full stomach.
Hot, strong, spacious power shower. 
Enormous bath (with feet). 
Open fire in the evening
Really good coffee
Advice:
Its not essential, but if you are a beginner at riding, its definitely worth having a few lessons before you get there so you can focus on polo
Bring a good camera: the shots of the horses in the early morning mist and with the sunsets are incredible. Obviously you need some polo shots. 
Lots of fun to look the part. Neither of us have worn white trousers before, but when totally submerged in polo culture, it's essential!!
Bring insect repellant. We got a couple of bites. The bugs aren't bad but other people suggested this.
Thank you to exceptional hosts Marcos and Silke. May many more people experience your estancia.. Research always pays off to get the very best!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jams83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    15
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
64
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I definitely recommend La Sofia. It was clean and quiet, very relaxing. The food was delicious and horseback riding was fun. Check out my blog post for info about my stay:

http://www.travelaworldaway.com/2013/04/polo-anyone-la-sofia-estancia.html

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Would we ever have planned a polo vacation? No, not in million years.

Did we love it, when we got there?

Absolutely, we loved it!

La Sofia is excellent. They picked us up from the hotel in Palermo, Buenos Aires. At a much lower cost than a rental car. The driver G. was very professional. After a 90 minute drive we were in a beautiful La Pampa setting, 100% peaceful green, white estancia, horses, great food and relax.

The hosts are very friendly and easy going. Hat is off for Marcos who combines Argentinean super charm, Polo teacher, Polo professional, barbecue chef and helping out gringos in a way that should not be possible.

We would go back any day of the week.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweCro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at La Sofia as part of a two week holiday in Argentina. It was the highlight of our trip. The building itself is beautiful with a rustic charm, and it is set in large and wonderfully tranquil grounds. The owners, Silke and Marcos, are great hosts and the whole experience felt very personal. We spent our time riding, taking polo lessons (we were both complete beginners) and relaxing by the pool. We had the opportunity to watch a couple of polo games in the field in front of the house, and also visited San Antonio de Areco, a very pretty nearby colonial town for a couple of hours one evening (Marcos will give directions to an excellent silversmiths, and we also recommend the chocolate shop). Guests are served breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner - the meals are set although any requests are happily accommodated. All the food we had was fantastic, though we particularly enjoyed the traditional asado and the fillet steak which was the best beef we had in Argentina (beating the three top Buenos Aires steakhouses which we tried!) Our stay was a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing experience and we highly recommend a visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We chose La Sofia on the basis of Tripadvisor recommednations and have mixed views about it. The hosts, Silke and Marcos, were very welcoming. The accomodation is a traditional, rustic building on a pleasant, if remote, estancia. Activities are limited to horseriding on the polo field or on the track leading to the estancia, though the horses and guide were excellent. We thought the visit was let down by average housekeeping (1 set of towels for 3 days) and average food; the breakfast was the weakest in all of our trip around Argentina and we not offered any choice or consulted about lunch or the evening meals (my wife could not eat one evening meal and the standard varied considerably. Neither could we get a coffee or drink of water in between meals. For the rate charged we thought the experience disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KingsFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Probably the best food I've had in Argentina. Their outside asado bbqs are worth travelling for. The main house is the best place to stay and has a very homely fireplace, lounge area. We also played polo on their private field which was fantastic fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChimuChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you like friendliness hosts and staff.
If you like the authentic thing.
If you like really fantastic food and good wines.
If you like horses and wildlife.
If you like a fantastic peaceful environment.
The you not only will like Estancia La sofia, you will love it!
10 out 10! We spent 4 days at Estancia La Sofia and the only negative thing was that we had to leave.
Many Thanks to Marcus with family for a wonderful stay. Even if it´s a very long way for us Swedes, we looking forward to visit this extraordinary place again!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio de Areco hotels
4.8 mi away
Estancia El Ombu de Areco
Estancia El Ombu de Areco
#1 of 10 in San Antonio de Areco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
4.1 mi away
Estancia La Portena de Areco
Estancia La Portena de Areco
#4 of 10 in San Antonio de Areco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Patio de Moreno
Patio de Moreno
#6 of 10 in San Antonio de Areco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel y Spa San Carlos
Hotel y Spa San Carlos
#5 of 10 in San Antonio de Areco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pampas de Areco Resort de Campo & Spa
Pampas de Areco Resort de Campo ...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio de Areco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estancia La Cinacina
Estancia La Cinacina
#4 of 20 in San Antonio de Areco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sofia

Property: La Sofia
Address: Azcuenaga- Cuartel VI, San Antonio de Areco 6720, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > San Antonio de Areco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Antonio de Areco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio de Areco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Sofia is a farm (=estancia) just one hour from Buenos Aires and 14km from a nice traditional place called San Antonio de Areco. You can just come along the day for riding and or Polo, eat an "asado" (=argentian barbecue) and pass a relaxing day in the Argentinian Pampa. There are horses of the own bread available for all levels of riding y for those who want to try out Polo you can do this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sofia Hotel San Antonio De Areco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing