We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most peaceful place near buenos aires”
Review of La Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“the most peaceful place near buenos aires”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We have been there for peaceful days. There is notthing around... Just you and the owners , the rooms are lovely, it's like being at home , but in holiday... The service is excellent, the owners are so lovely. We went horse rideng, we tried a polo lesson. My son was so happy too, in the middle of nothing. The food is also very nice, and the dinner very romantic. I really recommend this place if you are looking for a rest, and for a place not touristic at all. You need to hire a car if you are coming from B.A.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    15
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
64
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunkport, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We just LOVED our stay at La Sofia! From the moment we arrived, we knew that this would be a lovely, relaxing experience..... It was the perfect respite from the hustle and bustle of Buenos Aires.... Marcos and Silke are engaging and lovely hosts; our room was beautiful and well appointed.... our first lunch served on the lovely verandah was an introduction into how well we would eat for the next couple of days.... delicious, plentiful and beautifully prepared and served; the same was true for every breakfast, lunch and dinner to follow. Not being horseback riders or polo players didn't stop us from enjoying all that La Sofia had to offer. We took a lesiurely ride on well trained horses our first afternoon taking in all of the beautiful countryside and the next day, Marcos was patient, funny, and a great teacher as he gave us an hour's polo lesson... We certainly have a new appreciation for the sport of Polo! The rest of the time was spent lounging at the lovely pool, watching the birds and wildlife from our own verandah, having great conversations with the other fun guests and getting to know the owners of this lovely estancia, Marcos and Silke. We made some new friends at La Sofia and will always be grateful for the experience... Go, go, go... you will LOVE it!

Room Tip: We loved our 'suite' with its own verandah!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed at La Sofia with my daughter for 7 nights. It was amazing, the food was delcicious and very plentiful. It was so relaxing to be there and very professionally run by Silke. Marcos is an amazing polo player and very kind and patient. The horses were the best bit though! They knew exactly what to do. The chukkas were such a laugh, Silke and I easily beat Marcos - he must be losing the skill!

Highly recommended place to go for some winter sun and fun.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We can not say enough wonderful things about Estancia La Sofia. From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed with the most delicious Argentine BBQ and drank incredible wine while we relaxed on the gorgeous property. The owners Silke and Marcos were fantastic, personable, helpful and great hosts. We played polo with Marcos - who is an excellent trainer - all levels of players can learn. We lounged at the pool in the afternoon and then went horse back riding in the afternoon. The rooms were absolutely gorgeous, clean and beautiful. Cream colored walls with vines growing up them, wood beams and fire places in our room, candle lit chandeliers... the service was excellent, the food and activities were amazing...and we could not have had a better time. Very romantic but also great for families. We had friends join that night and the staff set up a gorgeous private dinner under the stars of steak, chorizo, pork, salad and apple crumble. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC_trav_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My family stayed at La Sofia Polo estancia, owned by Silke and Marcos, for three nights late in December 2011. The accommodations are simple, clean and traditional. It isn't luxury; it's exactly what you'd want on an estancia. The luxury is in the service (perfect) and the food (fabulous). [My husband says it is luxury - rustic luxury.]

If you stay at La Sofia, you can ride the horses on a trail ride, or have a polo lesson. If you like the polo lesson, you can sign up for the more intensive polo lesson. My husband and I are not riders, neither are our boys, ages 12 & 13, but they really want to ride. We started out on a trail ride, our guide was Christian, who does not speak English, but there was not much need. The horses knew what to do. They are excellent horses. It was just gorgeous to ride in the late afternoon sun. This is big farmland with long evening shadows.

The next day we had the simple polo lesson. We have never even been to a polo game. It could have been a problem, but Marcos is patient and has a great sense of humor. More importantly, he understands the big picture. We are never going to be professional polo players. He doesn't waste a lot of time with technicalities and rules. He made the game so fun, we forgot that we were nervous about the horses. It was so fun that my husband signed us all up for the more intensive lesson the next day. We played that morning, then again in the afternoon. Crazy fun. We ended our stay with a final trail ride the last day.

A few more things:
The chef, Noelia, is fabulous. Breakfast is typical with juice, coffee or tea, croissants, jam, etc. Lunch is very substantial. One day they prepared an asado, or BBQ, with many different types of meats, dinner one night was lomo, or beef tenderloin, and it was the best I've ever had. It was truly at least 3" thick, and prepared perfectly. In Argentina, you will be lucky to get meat cooked medium rare. In general they seem to really like to serve it very well done. But I like it rare, not blue but red. In the afternoon, tea is served with little cakes and sandwiches. Then later, a gorgeous dinner.

The estancia itself is magical. As I said, big flat fields of crops. Blue sky with drifty clouds, so many birds and most of them new to me. We sat at the pool and watched huge rabbits, hares?, chasing each other around a soy bean field.

One afternoon Marcos and Silke invited us to watch a horse give birth to a new colt. It was so amazing that long after everyone else left I sat in the field alone watching the mare clean the baby and the filmed him as he stood up and took his first trembly steps as the sun disappeared. My husband brought out a couple glasses of Malbec and we sat there until all the light was gone. It really doesn't get much better than that for me.

Finally, you might want to pack Advil or Tylenol, or whatever you prefer. If you are not a rider it can make you a bit sore. Also, swinging a polo stick can make your hand very weak after a while. We also needed mosquito repellant.

Oh! One last thing. We are a family of four, we each carry a regulation size carry-on wheelie, and a small back pack. Our luggage barely fit into the car Silke arranged for us. Going back she found a driver with a slightly larger car, but the trunk size was equally small. If you have more, or larger, bags, you'll want to make sure you arrange for a much larger car.

If you are considering staying at La Sofia, just do it. We travel a fair bit with our kids, but this place is one I'm sure they'll remember forever. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed here for a night and the room was beautiful and the food excellent.
Marco and Silke are lovely people and are very passionate about polo.
We had a great chats with Marco about his time in Ireland.
On the morning we were leaving we went horse riding and got a polo lesson off Marco which was great fun.
They have a very extensive wine list but we found it hard to stray from malbec!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We came to la sofia estancia because our flight to El Calafate was cancelled and we needed to fill in 2 days of our holiday. Well this was much more than just a 'fill in' and we would recommend it as an integral part of anyone's holiday. The accommodation is lovely in a peaceful country setting with wild hares and lots of birds around you. Whilst it specialises in polo and you have the opportunity to learn how to play (which you can't normally do unless you are part of the polo community), you don't have to do this. Horse riding, buggy riding and just watching some wonderful polo playing are all available. Or just sunbathing by the pool. The owners are very friendly and you feel very welcome. The food was excellent. While this is neither the most luxurious/gastronomic estancia, nor a working cattle ranch style place, it is a less touristy, more personal and more charming place than others seem to be. We had a really enjoyable relaxing time and completely forgot about our trip to the glaciers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annewolfhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio de Areco hotels
14.5 mi away
Estancia El Ombu de Areco
Estancia El Ombu de Areco
#1 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel y Spa San Carlos
Hotel y Spa San Carlos
#5 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
11.1 mi away
Patio de Moreno
Patio de Moreno
#6 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Pampas de Areco Resort de Campo & Spa
Pampas de Areco Resort de Campo ...
#2 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
11.3 mi away
Estancia La Cinacina
Estancia La Cinacina
#4 of 20 in San Antonio de Areco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
10.6 mi away
Haras San Blas
Haras San Blas
#8 of 9 in San Antonio de Areco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sofia

Property: La Sofia
Address: Azcuenaga- Cuartel VI, San Antonio de Areco 6720, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > San Antonio de Areco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in San Antonio de Areco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Sofia is a farm (=estancia) just one hour from Buenos Aires and 14km from a nice traditional place called San Antonio de Areco. You can just come along the day for riding and or Polo, eat an "asado" (=argentian barbecue) and pass a relaxing day in the Argentinian Pampa. There are horses of the own bread available for all levels of riding y for those who want to try out Polo you can do this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sofia Hotel San Antonio De Areco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing