We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view of Mount Fitroy”
Review of El Puesto Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Puesto Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice view of Mount Fitroy”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent 5 nights at El Puesto Sur this past February 2013. as previous rewiers have commented the cabins were basic but adequate. The breakfast was real simple of a fresh loaf of bread with jam, butter and milk which was deliveryed the previous nightl.
The owner was pleasent and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattapis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We had a three night stay in El Chalten in March 2012. The cabin was cosy and well appointed. Nothing fancy but everything worked. Great centre for hiking up to the mirador and then on to Lago Torre which we duly did and got soaked for our troubles. Even in the rain though, the glaciated scenery and the Magellanic forest is well worth the effort. And when the sun comes out, which it eventually did, well, the place is just awesome. El Chalten really deserves more time and I'm looking forward to getting back sometime. Condor watching tip: The car park at the roadside viewpoint to the south of the town is a brilliant place to watch the condors rise in the morning. They seem to use the bottleneck of the gorge to rise up towards Fitzroy. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The front ones have got a great view and the cabin to the rear is the quietist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoJuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed with my family (6 pax), and everything was perfect. Cabins are comfortably heated (not a minor detail given the temperature outside), and the quality of sleep is absolute, with the most confortable beds I've found outside from home.
Our arrival was uneasy since it seemed to be "closed" (it is a family run business and there is not a regular reception: instead yo need to knock at the the owner's own cabin to do the check in. Once you realise this, everything runs smoothly. Breakfast is great, and they will prepare you a "lunch bag" for you to carry when you leave for one of the many treks.
To make it short: I'd love to go back to wonderful El Chalten, and would not spend a minute looking for places to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beewhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I stayed here in January 2008 & 2009. We enjoyed these small cabins and had several BBQs.

For a short the stay, the cabin is basic but with such amazing views what more do you need. The kitchen and bathroom were clear and worked perfectly. the town is very small so it's not far to visit the shops or head off for a walk in this great location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stracrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at El Puesto Sur cabanas for four nights recently. The owner who I communicated with via email gave us a great discount and was very helpful even though she was overseas.

The centrally located cabanas are pretty much all the same, but the two front ones have the best direct views of both Cerro Torre and FitzRoy if you have good weather (which is pretty hard to predict in Patagonia!).The cabins were cosy, though quite small and do not imagine very comfortable for four people, though the two double bedrooms are of a good size. The bathrooms have the added bonus of a bathtub, though the water was not always reliably hot. The two burner stove and mini fridge allowed us to cook whatever we wished and the kitchen was well equipped, but for the price we paid I really would have expected a proper four top with an oven.

The mattress was one of the best we have slept on in a long time (we like them firm).

The cabana has gas heaters and it became difficult to regulate the temperature inside, usually it would end up at too warm for comfort (but we did get to walk around in our underwear while it was freezing outside!), especially if the sun comes in during the day. Also one bedroom did not have an openable window, which made it uncomfortable at night, but perhaps this is because we were in Patagonia and a closed box is the best option to brave against the weather!

Omar was not around much but was helpful when he was, and he is an amazing chef who works at two restaurants in town (recommended!). Alejandra was also as helpful as necessary, though not overly friendly and we sometimes felt it was difficult to approach her about things.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at El Puesto and would recommend them. Be warned the wifi is spotty but that is the case through most of El Chalten as they depend on satellite and therefore weather!

Room Tip: Choose cabana one or two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karmicintent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Level Contributor
185 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

These are very nice cabins, with an spectacular view to the Fitz Roy if the weather is on your side. For four people you have two rooms, which is always convenient even if they are not big.
Kitchen and living room are integrated, not much space but Ok to rest after long walks, The bathroom is basic but it works fine. There is wifi connection, which works reasonably well if you are patient. There is no TV but you will not miss it, just bring a good book and you can relax at the small yard enjoying a breathtaking view. If you go during summer, the day hours are very long, but bring warm clothes to spend as much time as possible outside, that is the main reason to visit Chalten. The guy in charge is helpful, can provide maps and useful advice. Not much to say about location since the town is very small and most visitors come here well prepared to walk. There is a supermarket 100 m aways which is convenient.

Room Tip: There are just a few cabins, not a big difference among them
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcela_MDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed in one of the El Puesto Sur cabanias (bungalows) in El Chalten, in the Argentinian Glacier National Park. Great central location, and nice accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank praemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.1 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Guanaca
La Guanaca
#11 of 19 in El Chalten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Infinito Sur
Hosteria Infinito Sur
#10 of 19 in El Chalten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Puesto Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Puesto Sur

Property: El Puesto Sur
Address: Calle Cerro Solo 69, El Chalten Z9301ABF, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Specialty Lodging in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, comfortable, well equipped, and well located bungalows, with a truly traditional Patagonian identity. During the 1990's, we studied the architecture of the Patagonian "estancias"" (ranches). This included the "puestos" - small dwellings far from the main estancia - where ranch personnel (gauchos) can stay while working in the Patagonian expanses. Thus inspired, we built El Puesto Sur as a tribute to traditional Patagonian architecture. Each cottage is equipped for 4 - 6 people. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Puesto Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing