We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cosy place.”
Review of Hosteria Senderos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hosteria Senderos
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2010

My wife and I were on our Honeymoon in this hotel for 2 days.
The room was small but because we have not spent a lot of time inside, so we did not suffer from the size of the room. The receptionists were very friendly and they helped us choosing the Viedma activity. The restaurant was very good. After a long day of trekking, it was nice to have a great dinner. The menu was different the 3 days.
They even offer a glass of champagne on our arrival.
A great time in El Chalten

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midrangehoteltester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 350 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed at the Senderos Hosteria for 3 nights in early December 2010.
We selected the Premium room to get the view of Mt Fitz Roy and our room was on the 1st floor. The room was quiet, comfortable and warm. The room was fairly small but there was adequte space to store luggage and clothes (in the cupboard).
There was a little bit of noise heard from the neighbouring rooms.
The bathroom was also small but the shower (in bath) pressure was great and there was ample hot water.
The communal spaces of the hotel lobby (ground floor, by entrance) and lounge (2nd floor) provded free wi-fi (which was slow due to it being via satellite but was nice to have).
The breakfast offerings were of a good quality and there was a reasonable selection.
The hotel offered reasonably priced packed lunches (order the night before) which were tasty, healthy and made preparing for our day trips much easier.
We enjoyed relaxing in the cosy & stylish lobby in the evenings, with a glass of tasty patagonian malbec.
All the staff at the hotel were really friendly and helpful. The ladies at the reception desk all spoke excellent english and were extremely helpful with planning our days to make the most of the location.
The hotel is located right at the start of town, opposite the new bus station and 5 minutes walk from the rangers' station. There is no shortage of eating options in the town, all a fairly short walk from the hotel.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Clean rooms, very basic.I don't believe any rooms in this town have TV's. Cell phones don't work in the city. All OK! The big problem with this hotel is you can hear everything! My neighbors alarm went off and woke me up. Yes, I could bear snoring thru the walls. We were in the first floor so 2nd floor might be better. Food at hotel very medicore but lots of choices in town! Tend to gather in small lobby since rooms are so small which is a nice way of meeting people.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadiedog2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

This hotel is probably the best hotel in El Chalten to have views of Fitz Roy. i looked around, there is no better place. Most people visit El Chalten to see Fitz Roy so staying in a hotel where you can see the mountain, is a big plus...
Make sure you ask for a room on the second floor and with views to Fitz Roy; if you are fortunate enough to have a clear view of the moutain, you literally can take the photos from your hotel room which we did... no need to face the strong winds outside...the food is their only weakness, the chef has a beautiful uniform, I think he is also the owner, but the food is not that great and not exactly cheap. Chalten has a lot of restaurants, I highly recommend trying them which I didn't since it was too convenent to just go downstairs.
Over all an ok hotel, poor restaurant but if good weather, FANTASTIC VIEWS.

Well, what can I say? good luck, wish for good weather!!!!

By the way, they claim to have wireless internet at the hotel and it never worked. If you need go online, go to the main street sicne every where else in town has internet, except at Hosteria Senderos.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intlalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

El Chalten as a town is somewhat still "under construction" but it has the pleasant low key vibe typical of a town focused on mountain activities. Senderos Hosteria fits very nicely into the setting. Its warm, cozy and relaxed with lots of exposed wood. Staff were friendly, competent and knowledgeable on the local hiking which was what we were there for and which is excellent. We had a lovely room with views of the Fitz Roy range. Highly recommend the restaurant within the hotel for dinner as well. We had steak in pepper sauce one night at this restaurant that would rate as close to the best meal of a month long trip through Argentina where tasty great value food is the norm.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

placed at the entry of the village right to the bus terminal, hosteria senderos has been one of the best places to stay while travelling in argentina for almost four months. the ambiance is charming, staff and owner friendly and helpful and all the place has swiss ( or austrian ) quality standard in any point of view. very clean and updated equipment. breakfast is good and the restaurant serves good dinner ( perhaps not gourmet kitchen as they call it, but one of my good food experiences in all argentina ). only be prepared to noise as long as not everybody is in bed. as everywhere in argentina, there is no isolation. but staying there for six nights, i can confirm you sleep very well between midnight and six o'clock in the morning. definitely a place to stay in chalten highly recommended. wireless internet connection works very slow or not. no cell phone connection in all the region of chalten.
some words about chalten: road from calafate to chalten is fully paved today and it takes you around two hours by private car or three hours by bus; "fresh" food you can buy in chalten's stores are not to be called fresh ( not fruits, not vegetables, not meet ), so be careful what you buy; for a nice beer go to the house-brewery called bodegon at the avenida san martin. and have a bag with you if you go to any shop *smile* they do not have any bags in the stores as the patagonian wind would blow them away ( felicitas, chalten ! ).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Stayed here for two nights while in El Chalten. Its in a great location - 30 seconds walk from the bus station. Reception staff were very helpful with excellent English. We stayed in a suite on the second floor. Not particularly big for a suite but it had a lovely view of Cerro Torre and the bed was very comfy. Minor problems e.g. safe did not work and the bath rail was loose from the wall would not take away from the place. Breakfast is served in the room on one morning of your stay and it was ok - we got chocolate cake! We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good. Best of all on the second floor there is a small area with bean bags and a heavenly foot massager. We ate in a pizza place around the corner called Patagonicus and it was ok. The trekking around here is fantastic. We did a day walk to Laguna Torre (start of trail 10 mins from hotel) and a day walk to Laguna Capri (start of trail 15 mins from hotel). El Chalten is a small place, though a little spread out and overall I would recommend this hotel as a base for your trekking.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtwofour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.5 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Estancia La Quinta
Estancia La Quinta
#13 of 19 in El Chalten
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria El Puma
Hosteria El Puma
#6 of 19 in El Chalten
157 reviews
19.7 mi away
Aguas Arriba Lodge
Aguas Arriba Lodge
#3 of 19 in El Chalten
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Senderos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Senderos

Address: Calle Perito F P Moreno 35, El Chalten Z9301ACL, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in El Chalten
#7 Romantic Hotel in El Chalten
Price Range: $129 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Senderos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the very doors of El Chalten, within Los Glaciares National Park, at the foot of the Fitz Roy Hill, Senderos Hosteria is waiting for you. Of typical Patagonian architecture, inspired in antique farms from 1920 and with all the modern hotel comfort, Senderos Hosteria offers guests the unique experience to feel and live this outstanding spirit reflected in decoration and mainly shown by the warm and personalized service of its professional staff. The 21 rooms and other spaces in Senderos Hosteria have been designed to offer guests warmth, privacy and peace of mind during their stay. Senderos Hosteria, the ideal place to live Your experience in Patagonia. services Senderos Hosteria gives its guests the following services: • Buffet American Breakfast • Wine Bar • Log fireplace corner • Reading room • Bilingual Receptionists • Room Service • Lunchbox • Laundry Service • Transfer in out • Excursions, horseback ridings and trekkings information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hosteria Senderos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Senderos El Chalten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing