We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive building, convenient location”
Review of Hosteria Senderos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hosteria Senderos
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Some definite pluses and minuses for this very attractive hotel. Located directly across the street from the bus station, it is very convenient, only a 5-7 minute walk to downtown and also within walking distance to Laguna De los Tres trail. Our family of 4, including 15 and 13 y.o. boys, stayed for 2 nights here in early April.

I found the lounge and dining area to be very attractive and our dinner, cooked and served by our very proud Mendoza native chef was excellent. Breakfast was a little more spartan, but was fine. The rooms were also very basic, with essentially a bed, drawers, a closet, a bathroom and a safe and not much more and it is a walk-up, so if that is an issue, request a 1st floor room. The staff was very friendly and when we had an issue with our trekking company, they did everything that they could do to resolve it and when they couldn't, gave us very workable suggestions to work around it.

One issue that was minor for us (although it certainly could have helped with the trekking issue), is that the hotel's wi-fi was down, although it seemed that this was an issue around town, since I saw numerous hand-written signs on a number of doors saying the same thing.

There were a surprising number of hotels (including many newer looking ones) in El Chalten, but the location near the bus station, the building itself and the restaurant combine to make Hosteria Senderos a fine choice.

Finally, I must state that it was rather odd to watch the NCAA basketball final in Spanish on ESPN on the lobby TV of a hotel in Patagonia. Almost beats watching the 1989 final in a jai-alai fronton in Miami!!!

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 357 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

Nice hotel just opposite the bus station - unfortunately this does mean you are a good 10-15 minutes walk from the centre of town. The hotel is quite small but this is "normal" for el-chalten. No lifts (once again, normal for el-chalten) so if you have a problem carrying your luggage or walking upstairs, you'll need to request a ground floor room.

Breakfast was a bit basic unfortunately, especially for a day of serious trekking - no hot food. The restaurant was great - good quality food at a reasonable price. The WiFi was down for my entire stay, though, they were trying to fix it. The hotel staff were friendly.

Overall, nice hotel though I would have preferred something a little closer to the centre of town

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank ynperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Hostel atmosphere with comfortable lounge area where guests can exchange their walking experiences. Rooms are comfortable with views of Mt Fitzroy. Terrific extensive food selection from the restaurant. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The rooms are small and mine was a bit dark, however, I think for the area, this hotel is a good choice. Breakfast was quite basic. Dinner was good. Nice wine selection - reasonably priced. Staff were helpful and efficient. Wifi was very slow. Room had an in-room safe and a minibar. Comfortable lounge.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank SF94597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

El Chalten is not a large town! Built in recent times to lay claim to this part of the Andes (for Arg from Chile) it caters for trekkers from all over the world. The hotel is a modern building built in the Patagonian style and features a lot of wood. It also has comfortable sofas and it's own restaurant. On the night that we were there, they laid on an Asador (BBQ) which provided a huge plate of mixed grill including an excellent black pudding. Far more than the two of us could eat!

The one waiter did an outstanding job with service and the continental breakfast was fine.

Our room in the roof on the second floor was a bit difficult to get the cases to and the wind during the night was quite noisy around the roof! We were assured that in El Chalten terms, this was just a light breeze! The room was quite small, with very limited hanging room and the 6x4 bathroom was snug to say the least (and didn't need a bidet!).

Having said all that, it's a generally comfortable hotel - and with more style than the more modern 'suite' hotels which are springing up

Room Tip: First floor might have less wind noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Budjuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Hosteria Senderos is on the first street in El Chatlen right across from the bus station. The common living room and dining room are small but comfortable. The breakfast buffet was ample and eggs can be made to order for an extra charge. The dinner we had at the hotel our last ngiht was excellent. The wine list was also excellent. Our room was small but sufficient. We were on the 1st floor and we had a view of Fitzroy from the window. The desk staff was very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed her for a few nights either side of hiking around Mont Fitzroy. Staff were brilliant and really helpful.

Hotel has a lovely ambience, very relaxed and cosy. Rooms are clean and comfortable with huge double bed.

Great location next to bus depot, fantastic view of Fitzroy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoobydoo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.5 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Estancia La Quinta
Estancia La Quinta
#13 of 19 in El Chalten
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hosteria El Puma
Hosteria El Puma
#6 of 19 in El Chalten
157 reviews
19.7 mi away
Aguas Arriba Lodge
Aguas Arriba Lodge
#3 of 19 in El Chalten
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Senderos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Senderos

Address: Calle Perito F P Moreno 35, El Chalten Z9301ACL, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in El Chalten
#7 Romantic Hotel in El Chalten
Price Range: $129 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Senderos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the very doors of El Chalten, within Los Glaciares National Park, at the foot of the Fitz Roy Hill, Senderos Hosteria is waiting for you. Of typical Patagonian architecture, inspired in antique farms from 1920 and with all the modern hotel comfort, Senderos Hosteria offers guests the unique experience to feel and live this outstanding spirit reflected in decoration and mainly shown by the warm and personalized service of its professional staff. The 21 rooms and other spaces in Senderos Hosteria have been designed to offer guests warmth, privacy and peace of mind during their stay. Senderos Hosteria, the ideal place to live Your experience in Patagonia. services Senderos Hosteria gives its guests the following services: • Buffet American Breakfast • Wine Bar • Log fireplace corner • Reading room • Bilingual Receptionists • Room Service • Lunchbox • Laundry Service • Transfer in out • Excursions, horseback ridings and trekkings information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hosteria Senderos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Senderos El Chalten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing