We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect respite after trekking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosteria Senderos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hosteria Senderos
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect respite after trekking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Small but very comfortable rooms, lovely and accommodating staff, super clean. Right across the street from the bus station so VERY easy to access when coming from El Calafate. Terrific restaurants very close by. Easy access to many hikes right from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twotravelers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    129
    30
    7
    1
See reviews for
40
184
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
156 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at the Hosteria Senderos during my visit to El Chalten. It's close to the bus station, a bit further to the trailhead than the other hotels in El Chalten, but the town is not big, so it's really not a big deal. We all come to El Chalten looking for good hikes, don't we?

The hotel is small, and I stayed in a Premium Room on the second floor, with a view of the beautiful Cerro Chalten. The room is not big, but it's clean, and my room was quiet (or maybe my neighbors were quiet). The hotel staff are friendly and gave me some good recommendations as well as directions. I also enjoyed the dinner at the restaurant on premise. The food is not cheap, but delicious, and I love their chocolate volcano cake. A great meal after a long day's hike is very satisfying.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the room with a view of Mount Fitz Roy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanTam25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed 3-nights in a superior room on the second floor. They aren't very big but we still did fine with our large duffels. Rooms were quiet and beds comfortable and everything is very very clean. The front desk staff was absolutely marvelous. Seriously!! Eager to help and answer questions. They are real pros. We have already decided to stay here again when we return in 2014. It's also great that they are located directly across from the bus station. You won't be disappointed staying here. Just do it.

Room Tip: Pack light. Senderos washed a large sack of clothes for 12USD. Had I know this I wouldn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyInMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary. Alberta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a very nice hosteria, and we enjoyed our time there. The staff was very helpful for the most part (one was quite grumpy but everyone else made up for it). The rooms are very small and the walls are paper thin and not soundproof at all, but I think that is par for the course in El Chalten. They were very clean and the bed was quite comfortable.

The common area is warm and inviting and the restaurant had very good food for dinner. On nice evenings they move the tables outside so you can eat outdoors. It's definitely worth eating there one night you're in town. The location is good if you're coming in by bus as it's literally across the street from the bus station, but it's not the most ideal location for hiking as it's across town from all the Fitzroy trails which are the ones you'll be wanting to do. It's also a bit of a distance from many of the best restaurants. The location isn't a big deal as the town is very small, but the extra walking can be a bit annoying. You could do better on location in El Chalten. Overall, it's a great place and I would recommend it to people wanting a nice place in El Chalten.

A hint for El Chalten: In the bus station across the street from this place is an information office with very helpful staff that can tell you about all the hikes and activities. In the office there are large maps of the area and all the trails, which can help you get your bearings. There are also basic maps you can take with you but for anyone doing anything more extensive, the stores in town all sell very detailed foldout maps.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank star33star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nice place; we were there 4 Feb - 7 Feb 2013. VERY helpful staff, decent rooms, on the end of town (near bus terminal), but small town- so everything is walkable anyway. Breakfast is very typical, but works. Attached restaurant was good, has drinks; a little on the pricey side. Feel free to email me w/???

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were lucky and got a free upgrade to a nice and large room on the top floor. Good location close to the bus station, although a bit further away from where the walking tracks start (given the small size of El Chalten it doesnt really matter). Very clean and good service. We had dinner at the restaurant once and it was delicious. Internet didn't work most of the time but we heard that's a problem in all hotels in El Chalten.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kataliahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I think the best thing that can be said for Senderos is that it is 100metres from the bus station. On the other hand, everything else in Chalten is a bit of walk from here. We had a Classic room, upgraded - it was really tiny and so was the bathroom. I had to sit in the lounge to wear my shoes !
This was the only hotel, during our 2 week stay in Argentina, which charged us for eggs at breakfast.
Wi-fi worked only in the lobby.
Also, the chef does not take kindly to suggestions, so steer clear of Gustav.
I don't think we are going to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanjay0123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.4 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#6 of 19 in El Chalten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Poincenot
Hotel Poincenot
#13 of 19 in El Chalten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hosteria El Puma
Hosteria El Puma
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Infinito Sur
Hosteria Infinito Sur
#11 of 19 in El Chalten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Senderos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Senderos

Property: Hosteria Senderos
Address: Calle Perito F P Moreno 35, El Chalten Z9301ACL, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in El Chalten
#7 Romantic Hotel in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Senderos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the very doors of El Chalten, within Los Glaciares National Park, at the foot of the Fitz Roy Hill, Senderos Hosteria is waiting for you. Of typical Patagonian architecture, inspired in antique farms from 1920 and with all the modern hotel comfort, Senderos Hosteria offers guests the unique experience to feel and live this outstanding spirit reflected in decoration and mainly shown by the warm and personalized service of its professional staff. The 21 rooms and other spaces in Senderos Hosteria have been designed to offer guests warmth, privacy and peace of mind during their stay. Senderos Hosteria, the ideal place to live Your experience in Patagonia. services Senderos Hosteria gives its guests the following services: • Buffet American Breakfast • Wine Bar • Log fireplace corner • Reading room • Bilingual Receptionists • Room Service • Lunchbox • Laundry Service • Transfer in out • Excursions, horseback ridings and trekkings information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hosteria Senderos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Senderos El Chalten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing