We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value; great stay!”
Review of Hosteria Senderos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hosteria Senderos
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value; great stay!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nice place; we were there 4 Feb - 7 Feb 2013. VERY helpful staff, decent rooms, on the end of town (near bus terminal), but small town- so everything is walkable anyway. Breakfast is very typical, but works. Attached restaurant was good, has drinks; a little on the pricey side. Feel free to email me w/???

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    134
    30
    7
    1
See reviews for
43
191
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were lucky and got a free upgrade to a nice and large room on the top floor. Good location close to the bus station, although a bit further away from where the walking tracks start (given the small size of El Chalten it doesnt really matter). Very clean and good service. We had dinner at the restaurant once and it was delicious. Internet didn't work most of the time but we heard that's a problem in all hotels in El Chalten.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kataliahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I think the best thing that can be said for Senderos is that it is 100metres from the bus station. On the other hand, everything else in Chalten is a bit of walk from here. We had a Classic room, upgraded - it was really tiny and so was the bathroom. I had to sit in the lounge to wear my shoes !
This was the only hotel, during our 2 week stay in Argentina, which charged us for eggs at breakfast.
Wi-fi worked only in the lobby.
Also, the chef does not take kindly to suggestions, so steer clear of Gustav.
I don't think we are going to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanjay0123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Rooms are on the small side, but very well laid out and have very comfortable beds. We had an amazing view of Fitz Roy from our room on the second floor. Breakfast was standard for the area and very convenient. Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Only complaint is that wifi is a little slow and only available in common areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

As others have said, the location for arrival by bus could not be better. The pleasing wooden structure has both small and large rooms (corner rooms are very ample), and the view up to Fitz Roy cannot be beat. Being in town offers advantages over the more remote lodgings, with the limited facilities of a hiking center/town readily at hand. No need to wander aimlessly for food, as the dining at the Hosteria is first-rate. Ample and diverse breakfast buffet, and a dinner menu that has somewhat limited options but all of them really stellar. The couple who own, cook and serve know what they are doing. Food quality is of the highest, preparation is big-city, and even high-tech desserts! They also have, for such a small place, excellent wine selections, really impressive.

Room Tip: Corner rooms offer more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picturedesk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

El Chalten is tiny, so all places are close to all activities. We enjoyed our stay but no special memories from this hotel are left.
Our room had no view whatsoever. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Hiking is superb !!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_en_Lizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Holland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

To start the Hosteria is perfectly located, opposite the bus terminal and around the corner of the main street. The place has an amazing charm, and the rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. No tv but we didnt miss that. Staff is friendly and the in-house restaurant is excellent. Breakfast is limited and wifi is slow but these are limitations of the whole town, and not necessarily this hosteria only. Still, we found the place a bit overpiced for what we got and the place we were in. As a tip, note that there is no network for your cell phone and there is only one atm at the bus terminal that hardly has money, so bring with you. For lunch, the pizza at Patagonica is excellent. And the local heladeria Abuelo Goye has an amazing hot chocolate made with chocolate from a swiss colony in Argentina.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank indegloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.2 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#2 of 19 in El Chalten
225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Aguas Arriba Lodge
Aguas Arriba Lodge
#3 of 19 in El Chalten
217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hosteria El Puma
Hosteria El Puma
#6 of 19 in El Chalten
157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Poincenot
Hotel Poincenot
#12 of 19 in El Chalten
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Senderos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Senderos

Property: Hosteria Senderos
Address: Calle Perito F P Moreno 35, El Chalten Z9301ACL, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in El Chalten
#7 Romantic Hotel in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Senderos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the very doors of El Chalten, within Los Glaciares National Park, at the foot of the Fitz Roy Hill, Senderos Hosteria is waiting for you. Of typical Patagonian architecture, inspired in antique farms from 1920 and with all the modern hotel comfort, Senderos Hosteria offers guests the unique experience to feel and live this outstanding spirit reflected in decoration and mainly shown by the warm and personalized service of its professional staff. The 21 rooms and other spaces in Senderos Hosteria have been designed to offer guests warmth, privacy and peace of mind during their stay. Senderos Hosteria, the ideal place to live Your experience in Patagonia. services Senderos Hosteria gives its guests the following services: • Buffet American Breakfast • Wine Bar • Log fireplace corner • Reading room • Bilingual Receptionists • Room Service • Lunchbox • Laundry Service • Transfer in out • Excursions, horseback ridings and trekkings information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hosteria Senderos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Senderos El Chalten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing