We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After a day of hiking near El Chalten, Estancia La Quinta is a great retreat.”
Review of Estancia La Quinta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Estancia La Quinta
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After a day of hiking near El Chalten, Estancia La Quinta is a great retreat.”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights at Estancia La Quinta which is located just outside (walking distance or a short taxi ride) El Chalten. The historic estancia, complete with steers and other wildlife in the front yard, is a great alternative to staying in the settlement of El Chalten which is short on character and charm. The owners, Patricia, Alfredo and their son Alvaro, were extremely friendly, helpful and eager to make this portion of our trip to Patagonia a great experience. We ate in the Estancia's restaurant two nights and thoroughly enjoyed both dinners which were elegant and used fruits and vegetables grown on the Estancia.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    40
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
101
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix az usa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We were one of four couples (husbands/wives) traveling together in Patagonia. We all thought LaQuinta was a great stop -- location (close to town), the service (excellent), rooms (very adequate, although the ceilings in some places/corners were a little low), food (we had two dinners at LaQuinta and were very satisfied with the quality and selection), and the friendly cows. We are fairly demanding travelers. They claim they will have internet for guests by mid-2011. This would be very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zigzag_jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We stayed at La Quinta for our two days in the Parque de los Glaciares. It is a great place, very quiet (a couple of Km out of town but we had a rented car) and the owners are very kind and nice. Great sleep and nice to be in an active little farm (cows and horses popping up at our window in the morning...). I would definitely reccomend it to anyone staying in El Chalten and looking for a cozy nice and quite place to recover after a day of hard (but rewarding) walking in the park...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. It is a family-run hotel. Rooms are basic but clean and quiet. The difference is the quality of service (really friendly people who go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay). The food in the restaurant is also excellent.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Alfredo, Thank you for all theses particular moments you allowed us to live !
This 'Estancia' is unique. If you go to El Chalten, you have only one choice ... La Quinta !
The "Maté" show, and time sharing, was perfect !
Their restaurant, El Casco, is the best place of the "pueblo".
DO NOT HESITATE !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montcalm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Estancia. From the moment we arrived, Alfredo and Patricia did everything they could to make our stay at the Estancia and in El Chalten all we had hoped it would be. Alfredo was kind enough to share with us the history of the Estancia and the town of El Chalten. We went to El Chalten to hike so he even sat down with us and showed us all our hiking options.

My only warning is that the Estancia is a good 3 km walk from town (1-2 km or so from town to the Estancia turnoff and another 1.5km from the main road to the actual Estancia hotel building). We didn't have a car and managed just fine. Alfredo took us into town each morning and dropped us at the trail head. He even arranged a ride for us one morning when his car wasn't working. The last day, he met us at the bus terminal with our luggage so we didn't have to make the walk back to the Estancia from town.

Overall we had a great stay and couldn't have asked for anything more from Alfredo and Patricia. Thank you both for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smhirst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Although it is located outside of town with no direct view of Fitz Roy, this estancia makes up for it in many ways. First, it is well away from the backpacking hustle of downtown El Chalten, and really quiet and cozy. Secondly, the owners are really "hands on" and ever present to offer advise and help. They have a great sense of humour and it is great to share in english a few jokes at the end of the day. The place dates back a 100 years and the family are descendants of a Norwegian seaman who decided to stay in Argentina in 1909 when the boat he was sailing on sank of the " Falklands " islands. The dining room is full of interesting photos on the family and the initial expedition to claim FitzRoy by the french. It makes for great chats around dinner table. The food is good and certainly better than in many places downtown, so my wife and I never bothered to eat out. Rooms are ok and comfortable and do not forget to look at the night sky before retiring.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andresonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
1.8 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
343 reviews
21.4 mi away
Aguas Arriba Lodge
Aguas Arriba Lodge
#3 of 19 in El Chalten
217 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#2 of 19 in El Chalten
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hosteria El Puma
Hosteria El Puma
#6 of 19 in El Chalten
157 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Quinta

Property: Estancia La Quinta
Address: El Chalten 9301, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia La Quinta 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Estancia La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta El Chalten
El Chalten La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing