We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in El Chelten”
Review of Estancia La Quinta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Estancia La Quinta
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is comfortable and attractive, and we felt like we were able to experience a little of Patagonia's history since Alfredo is a third generation rancher. The best part was that Alfredo and his wife Patricia (sp?) are thoroughly familiar with the trails in the area. They were able to make recommendations for hikes which were spectacular -- and the reason we journeyed to the other side of the Americas! Thank you Alfredo!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enjoyyourself50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 176 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2012

such a friendly place. the owner, Alfredo, who spoke great English was so good at giving the history and activities around the area based on weather conditions and forecasts. We elt like pampered guests! We only wish the estancia had a view of Fitz Roy but the quaintness made up for the location. Also the town is not so great so it was a blessing to be away from the town but able to drive in for dinner. Breakfast was good but Alfredo made our stay special.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceg51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Dont be put off by the one or two bad reviews. El Chaltan is an amazing place -- a remote valley with a tiny frontier town. There is no cell service in the whole town, no chain stores, no chain restaurants. The difference between El Chaltan and Calafate are staggering and I will take El Chaltan every time. La Quinta is a real estancia still owned and operated by one of the oldest families in the area. The hotel itself is built into the frames of the old sheep sheering sheds. Its lovely and remote and you book it knowing you are two km from town. You could walk it, but you can usually get a transfer or a ride from your hosts on the way in and pay for a taxi on the way back (they will give you the number and any store/restaurant in town will call for you). The payback is watching the cows and horses graze as you eat breakfast and the enjoying the countryside instead of the dusty cluttered town. yes,the place was created as a hotel in the 80s and its well done, clean but the style is a bit dated. But you can live with red rugs when you have the mountains at your feet and breakfast includes preserves made at the estancia with local strawberries. They really care about visitors and go the extra mile -- A gluten intolerant visitor was surprised by special bread from one member of the staff while we were there. We also we thrilled to participate in a mate ceremony after touring the estancia. This is a lovely real working estancia and everyone is welcoming and friendly. They will do their best to make your stay enjoyable and i highly recommend it! In town try La Ceverceria and La Tapera -- the best food in town. For hiking, skip the box lunch and hit a bakery in town before heading to the trails -- Que Rica (2nd best) or the place next to Seyenra on Lago del Desierto (amazzzzzzing). It is very worthwhile to book four days five nights and plan laguna de los tres for the best weather day. Taxi to the north side of the park for a one-way hike back to Chaltan via LDLT is a great way to do this hike -- you will have the trails to yourself until the half way point and the terrain is more varied in the north part of the park. Dont skip the Viedma glacier even if you are doing Big Ice in Calafate -- its better here though bigger there. have a great visit!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank decca_mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The estancia is too much commercialized. You can see their dogs and cows, but this is all. The home made food, which is a great attraction to estancias in general, is completely missing. The steak is actually pieces of meat on a wooden stick, and what is totally against the concept of countryside hospitality, you have to pay money for extra bread. Small thing, but very typical for this estancia. All in all very expensive, and uncomparably low level to any agriturismo feeling you can get e.g in Italy.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuncee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We were here in January 2012, for three days. El Chaltén is a wonderful place and you can admire during the walks fantastic landscapes. Alfredo was very kind and avalaible to us.He explained all the possibilities for the hikes and help us to choose what to do. I suggest you : Laguna Torre, Laguna De Los Tres and Lago do Desierto with the Huemul Glaciar.
The hotel is 2 km from El Chaltén in a very quiet position. The breakfast is nothing special and the Internet Wi Fi doesn't work very often.
The rooms are clean and enough small but in this place you wouldn't stay a lot in the room. It's better to profit of the fantastic Patagonia's Nature!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veropalumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and 3 days at Hosteria La Quinta.
The hotel is really great. It is situated several kilometres far from El Chalten city in the small valley, surrounded by lots of trees, and thanks to it is protected from the strong winds. To my opinion you will fill there more comfortable then in El Chalten village. We had superior double room N 27 on the 2nd floor, which is very nice decorated in campaign style, spacious and comfortable.
The hotel is very clean with lots of flowers outside, staff and owner are friendly and helpful, they can advise you on all trekking circuits of the Park. Every day of the week at 19:00 they organizes Mate ceremony, that we highly recommend, and also explains the story of Estancia and the family at 18:00.
HOWEVER: Estancia is situated several kilometers far from El Chalten. To get there you shall use free transfers offered by the owner of Estancia - Alfredo (there're only 3 or 4 per day, house are fixed, and the last one leaves El Chalten at 18:30) or taxi. So if you want to walk through the city, go to the restaurant in the evening or make trekking in the Northen part of the park, you will have to take taxi to get back. As we stayed not too many days at El Chalten, we were not too much disturbed, but if you plan to stay for longer time you will have to manage it.
Another important thing to know: there is no mobile phone coverage at all and very slow internet!!! Make sure to call Estancia and inform them about your arrival time that they get you on the bus station! If they are not informed at what time you arrive, you will have to take text to go to Estancia.
During our stay at La Quinta we especially appreciated:
1. There are animals in Estancia (caws, dogs, horses, we have also found a nest of Eagle with small baby…)
2. Estancia produces own milk, meat, some fruits as strawberry, calafate fruit etc. and you can taste it all at the restaurant of Estancia. We really enjoyed the meat brochette as it was the best meat we have tried in Argentina. They also prepares very delicious home made ice cream and other desserts. Apart all this, restaurant propose you fresh fish (fished 200 km away from Estancia). We loved to eat at this restaurant and miss it a lot!
On the contrary, the breakfast is rather simple and nothing special. If you want to have some fresh fruits for breakfast, you should order it on the reception the day before. As we not correctly informed about, we couldn't get any fresh fruits, even an apple.
3. La Quinta has some private trails. One can be used to go to Lomo del Pliegue Tumbado and helps to cut some kilometers from the official trek. For us this was the most beautiful trek of the Park because of its wonderful and magic panorama to Fitz Roy, Cerro Torre and 3 valleys with glacier Grande. This trek is not too visited as it's rather difficult as you have to climb about 1000 meters and it takes about 7 to 10 hours AR.

Do not miss ice climbing or trekking at Viedma glacier!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusikBlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and two girls and I stayed here for 3 nights in December and had a wonderful time. El Chalten is a very small town, catering to people who love the outdoors and want a chance to hike near the FitzRoy. Alfredo and his family and staff run this wonderful estancia and are very kind and extremely knowledgeable and helpful. On the days we didn't catch a ride with Alfredo into town, we either walked or called for a taxi. It was a full 40 minute walk along the road to get to town but we enjoyed the time, looking at the beautiful scenery and getting warmed up for rock climbing. There was wifi in the lobby, a generous breakfast every morning, and the option to eat at the hotel restaurant for dinner. I ate a delicious trout dish with a mild blue cheese sauce, my daughter and husband loved the beef too. A highlight of our stay was learning about the mate ritual with their charming employee Lucrecia. I was happy to be out of town, in the beautiful countryside, with such kind people. This was a wonderful place to relax after a long day of hiking and being outside. I hope to come back to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel have a great view of the hills and the cows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drgrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
2.2 mi away
Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa by DON
2.1 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
256 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Guanaca
La Guanaca
#14 of 19 in El Chalten
100 reviews
0 mi away
Kalenshen
Kalenshen
#16 of 19 in El Chalten
167 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Poincenot
Hotel Poincenot
#9 of 19 in El Chalten
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Quinta

Address: El Chalten 9301, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in El Chalten
Price Range: $105 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia La Quinta 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Estancia La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta El Chalten
El Chalten La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing