We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Hotel Lunajuim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lunajuim
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just got back from El Chalten over the holidays and I was sooo pleased with this hotel. It is in the perfect part of town, and has a wonderful view of the massive peaks (when they are not shrouded in clouds). The hotel staff was extremely friendly (especially Joanna who works the desk), and very helpful with suggestions of where to eat, what to do, etc. The room was very nice and clean and had a great shower. The little fireplace/reading area was cozy and a great place to come back to after hiking all day. The breakfast was very ample for an included, continental-style breakfast. If you don't want to stay in a hostel or spend all of your money, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    124
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
50
156
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed for 1 night due to gap in availability of other hotel accommodation.

Positives:
* Great breakfast
* Clean, spacious room

Negatives:
* By comparison to other hostels / hotels, Lunajuim was expensive at USD 150+ for a room without tv (good for relaxing when weather turns bad) or mini-fridge (quite important for keeping hiking food). We stayed at another hotel for USD 80 which had these facilities
* Wifi not working but this appeared to be a provider issue

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyandRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

It was December 28th when we accidentally lost our debit and credit cards on our way to National Park Los Glaciares with our 5 year old. There is no bank or Western Union at el Chalten and Internet access is a miracle. So forget about money transfers of any kind. Carlos, the owner of Lunajuim not only gave us a room for two nights when everybody else turned us down. He allowed us to have dinner and worked out a way for us to pay him when we could get a hold of our cards. His staff was amazing as well, they were all eager and willing to help. We will always be thankful to Carlos and his staff. We would've had to turn around and forget about Fitz Roy and all the other amazing places we visited if it wasn't for them.

Beyond the fact that they were so helpful and considerate, the hotel was great. The room and bathroom were nice and impeccable and the beds were very comfy. I slept like a baby those two nights. The breakfast buffet (included) was varied and delicious. The social/lounge area was cozy and nicely decorated and we felt at home.

There are more trendy (and expensive) places to stay in town that may have fancy spa's and what not. At Lunajuim you will find true hospitality. Carlos, the owner, runs the place himself and he's is always there to greet you, accommodate you and perhaps share a story or two. He knows the area very well as he's been there for decades.

I hope we can one day return to this beautiful and remote place and stay with our friends at Lunajuim.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed in Lunajuim for 3 nights and totally enjoyed our stay, it is centrally placed and in easy walking distance to the restaurants and shops.
The accommadation was good,comfortable with most facilities available, the staff were very helpful particularly the girls behind reception.
We only had breakfast in the hotel, but it was very well supplied and on a continental basis.The hotel is located well for going on any excursion whether by vehicle or trekking directly from.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 915Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I LOVED Hotel Lunajuim - it was our favorite hotel on our 16-day trip throughout Argentina. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. The common areas of the hotel are very cozy and conducive to group mingling (every night we sat by the fireplace and chatted w/ other travelers). All of the food is delicious - the breakfast is included with the stay and is a wonderful spread of fresh homemade food. We also ate dinner one evening and loved it - definitely one of the best meals we had during our entire trip to Argentina. We loved everything about this hotel and highly recommend it to anyone traveling through El Chalten.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nisha_Chhabra_1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very very friendly staff, always smiling and willing to help. Very good advice when it came to trails and what to do. Comfortable rooms, the restaurant is ok (not the best but very decent, especially the empanadas and the lamb stew). There is a very comfortable room with a fireplace for rainy days.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were happy with our 4 night stay.

Stand out part of the hotel was the front desk, which was staffed by genuinely lovely and helpful ladies that went out of there way to help us on several occasions.

The rooms were good though not at all fancy. There was enough space for us, a comfortable bed, and good bathroom.

The location in Chalten is actually very good in my opinion with short distances to the best restaurants and trail heads. The great view mentioned in the description is somewhat mysterious and was not particularly evident to me from the hotel. Maybe if you climbed up on the roof?

Nonetheless: good hotel for most travelers--great front desk staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CycleB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#2 of 19 in El Chalten
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hosteria El Puma
Hosteria El Puma
#6 of 19 in El Chalten
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Infinito Sur
Hosteria Infinito Sur
#10 of 19 in El Chalten
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lunajuim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lunajuim

Property: Hotel Lunajuim
Address: Calle Trevisan 45, El Chalten Z9301ACB, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in El Chalten
#3 Family Hotel in El Chalten
#8 Romantic Hotel in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lunajuim 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown located, the hotel is ideally placed with a privileged view of the Fitz Roy and Torre peaks, some of the enchanting stone giants which dominate and captivate those who look at them. After an exciting journey through the mountains, you will find in Lunajuim, the perfect place to relax and enjoy a quiet stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lunajuim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Lunajuim El Chalten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing