We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trails/views”
Review of Cerro Fitz Roy

Cerro Fitz Roy
Book In Advance
More Info
$540.00*
and up
2-Day Hiking Tour of Fitz Roy and Cerro Torre from El Chalten
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great trails/views”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent 3 days in El Chalten. We did 3 treks. The little one to the waterfall (Chorrillo del Salto) we did under bad weather conditions (rain/windy). The second one was the best. We walked to Lago Capri and then up tot Poincenot. Instead of going up to Lago the los Tres we turned right to Hosteria El Pilar. From there we took a taxi back tot El Chalten. The trail is approximately 18 km and very recommendable! The last trail, also beautiful, was to the first viewpoint of Lago Torre.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,961
    192
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One could wax poetic”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

What can you say about such a beautiful and breath-taking view. It is one of the most lovely mountain ranges in the world!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
269 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“Hiking Mecca in Argentina”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Cerro Fitz Roy can be seen from almost anyway in Chalten, including most of the hiking trails. be sure to stop at the tourist center before hiking for maps and other hiking advice.

In summer, afternoons in El Chalten can become rather unpleasant. Strong gusty winds whip up sand, dust and other debris, turning the town and especially the trails in the hills around it into the site of a mini sandstorm. Day hikers should head out as early as possible to avoid the worst of these sandstorms.

Otherwise, El Chalten boasts excellent hiking trails with rewarding views along and at the end of each trail. The town itself is rather boring and good dining options are far and between. Good restaurants are rather expensive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“spectacular”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

it's not an easy walk up to Lago de los Tres to view Fitz Roy from its base, but it's well worth it, especially if it's a nice day (weather wise)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An unforgetable experience”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent 5 days in El Chalten and it was a experience I will never forget. The trekking here is amazing. We were very lucky with the weather and on our first trek on the Laguna de los tres we got spectaular views of fitzroy. There are lots of treks to do varying in lengths. They can be challenging enough and take up to 7/8 hours but are worth it. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bongodublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerro Fitz Roy also viewed

El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Cerro Fitz Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing