We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike!”
Review of Cerro Fitz Roy

Cerro Fitz Roy
Book In Advance
More Info
$540.00*
and up
2-Day Hiking Tour of Fitz Roy and Cerro Torre from El Chalten
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hike!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Fabulous hike! Enjoy every minute of it. Pack layers and lots of water. You will have outstanding views and earn your dinner.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amybell74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,944
    192
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ushuaia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent dayhike”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

After the amazing Laguna and cerro Torre, this is another amazing dayhike. Most people walk from El Chalten to Laguna de las 3 and back. But you have 2 more options. It is easier to get to Fitz Roy from the north along the trail from Hosteria El Pilar and it makes at least partly a roundtrip if you walk back directly to El Chalten. To get to Hosteria El Pilar from El Chalten it is around 19kms north on the road to Laguna del Desierto. It is also well worth to make the trip along the river to Laguna Sucia.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank HansOtto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It all comes down to the weather you have!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Unfortunately, I had dreary weather the day I hiked up to Laguna de los Tres. The scenery was spectacular though and I can only imagine how magnificent it must look on a beautiful day.

For anyone who is uncertain like I was, it is possible to hike to both Laguna de los Tres and Laguna Torre on the same day. It took me 10 hours and I was tired and sore at the end, but as I only had one day, I was happy with that. I had completed 5 long days of hiking at Torres del Paine only days before so I'm not sure why I was so sore here. If you are going to hike both in the same day, I recommend doing Laguna de los Tres first - and if you get going early (before 8am), you'll pass the tourist groups on the way down from the mirador, rather than meet them up the top. The track linking the two main tracks (not sure it has a name) has lovely scenery and is without the hordes of hikers you find on the main tracks.

I hired trekking poles from Viento Oeste and was pleased I did (except ask the staff for lessons in how to use the telescoping ones, I have Black Diamond ones at home and the lock on those is easier to use).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“breath taking ..... in more ways than one!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

It's not an easy hike, but it's not going to kill you so make sure you relax, take your time and the end result words just cannot describe...

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 2feetwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

if you're planning a trip to Argentine Patagonia, this is a must! We did the hike from El Chalten to Laguna del Los Tres, approx. 20km return through a variety of terrain. Its very, very windy at the base of Fitz Roy so pack accordingly but truly a great hike.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MAG1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerro Fitz Roy also viewed

El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Cerro Fitz Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing