We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of 3 glaciers to be sure to visit...”
Review of Viedma Glacier

Viedma Glacier
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$587.05*
and up
6-Day Tour of Patagonia: El Calafate, El Chalten, Perito Moreno Glacier and Los...
Ranked #5 of 38 things to do in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Viedma Glacier is located in Los Glaciares National Park in the Province of Santa Cruz and is the largest in Argentina. It flows directly from the Southern Patagonian Ice Field to the lake. Its front is 40mt from the level of the lake. Their risings are located in the heart of the ice field between 1.500 y 2.200 msnm. It has some dark, deep lines on the surface that are volcanic ashes strips mixed with ice. Also, it has suffered many repressions but not as important as the rest of the glaciers. Viedma Lake was discovered by Antonio de Viedma, in 1877 when Francisco Pascacio Moreno and Carlos Maria Moyano where on an expedition and discovered is location and characteristics. It belongs to the hydric basin of the Santa Cruz River.El Glaciar Viedma, ubicado dentro del Parque Nacional Los Glaciares, en la Provincia de Santa Cruz, es el mas grande de la Argentina.Este glaciar fluye directamente del Hielo Patagonico Sur hasta el Lago Viedma, su frente se eleva aproximadamente 40 metros sobre el nivel del lago. Sus nacientes se encuentran en el corazon del Campo de Hielo entre los 1.500 y 2.200 msnm.Tiene unas lineas oscuras en su superficie, que son bandas de ceniza volcanica, mezcladas con el hielo. Es un glaciar que ha sufrido retrocesos aunque no tan importantes como otros glaciares. El Lago Viedma fue descubierto por Antonio de Viedma. Se toma conocimiento exacto de su ubicacion y caracteristicas, como consecuencia de la expedicion que realizaron, hacia el ano 1877, Francisco Pascacio Moreno y Carlos Maria Moyano. Pertenece a la cuenca hidrica del rio Santa Cruz.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
460 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“One of 3 glaciers to be sure to visit...”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Boat ride out to this glacier and either enjoy ice trekking as we did, or give ice climbing a try...you can do it! Absolutely beautiful to see these glaciers up close.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    116
    32
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go Ice Climbing!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was a first for us--ice climbing. It was awesome! We happened to go on a great weather day, which I'm sure helped our experience. The visuals were stunning, but what really made our experience on Viedma Glacier so memorable was ice climbing with Patagonia Aventura. We enjoyed it more than just ice trekking on Perito Moreno. Our two guides were great, particularly Facu. He took excellent care of us. He coached me on all 3 of my climbs (that wasn't the case for everyone, and I can't comment on the other guide). There is quite a bit of down time as you wait your turn to climb (we had a total of 5 people), but that was actually very enjoyable. It meant you got to take in the views and cheer on other people. We had no previous experience climbing with or without ice and not in good or bad shape, but it was doable. I won't kid you--the first wall was hard. But each wall got easier as you get the rhythm down and as the guides coach you on what you need to do better. Ice climbing helped us appreciate the ice better, and it added a sense of accomplishment that we didn't get with trekking to make the experience that much more rewarding and fun overall.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RooibosDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“could have been better”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was a bit disappointed in the tour on the Viedma Glacier - Don't get me wrong it was awesome to walk on a glacier and the thing goes forever, but I was under the impression that we would get to go into ice caves. We also walked really slow on top of the ice because part of the group wasn't comfortable. I think they need to offer different athletic skill groups such as beginner or intermediate.

The baileys at the end was delicious!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spectacular Day of Ice Trekking & Climbing on Viedma Glacier, El Chalten”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had planned to go ice trekking on Perito Moreno Glacier from El Calafate, but we arrive in El Chalten , and found that we could to an Ice Trekking and Climbing excursion on Viedma Glacier, with a much more limited number of people. What a great choice, thank you to Federico at Lo De Tomy, who recommended it. The Viedma Pro excursion (take it, it's sooo worth it) was fantastic .. we had one hour on the boat, then onto the glacier. We learned to walk on croupons, and then straight to the ice climbing .. this was a great experience that was enjoyed by everyone. We walked on the ice afterwards, took some super pictures in an ice tunnel, and then had a glacier ice Baileys to finish ... the day couldn't have been more perfect ... we absolutely loved it! We would do this over the very busy Perito Moreno any day, but the Perito Moreno Glacier shouldn't be missed none-the-less, because it's awesome from the balconies.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lillypillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Took the 'mini ice trek' trip. Although it was expensive, it was an amazing experience and the group you walk with is quite small so some argue it is better than Perito Moreno Glacier walking where the group size is larger. We were on the glacier for 2-2.5 hours which flew by. Although they say it is a strenuous activity, it was no hike up a mountain so i cant see that many people would find it too strenuous.

This is not as 'clean' as Perito Moreno but still has vast white and blue colour ice to make for incredible photos.

The staff are safety conscious and make sure they help everyone walking around with crampons so you know you will be OK. And the drink of Baileys on glacier ice at the end was a nice touch!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DiverHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viedma Glacier also viewed

El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Viedma Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing