We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable experience!”
Review of Aguas Arriba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aguas Arriba Lodge
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We found unbelievable landscapes, first class cuisine, challenging hikes and a staff that constantly makes you smile.
If you like fishing, this is an unforgettable experience.
Pato and Ivor are always alert to make sure that you make the most out of this paradisiacal location.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing South!!! Unbelievable views all around, but South gets you the Fitz Roy massif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Obanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
114
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Aguas Arriba does not disappoint! Ivor and Pato are great hosts. Juli is an excellent guide, Ruben is an excellent chef and the entire staff makes you feel at home. The view from our room was of Fitz Roy and Lago del Desierto - it was incredible. The lodge is the only one on the lake so it is a great place to get away from it all and experience Patagonia. While it is 37KM from El Chalten, it is well worth the trip to stay here. There is plenty of hiking and there is an "at home" feel to the lodge. Ivor, Pato and Juli went out of there way to arrange day hikes for us. When my husband asked Ruben for his recipe for the bread, Ruben arranged a cooking class with him the next day - it was great fun. We have visited other parts of Patagonia and Aguas Arriba is a unique place in a beautiful setting. As they say in Argentina, it has "buena onda". We will definitely return!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon-Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

For us it's one of the best place in the world .. Beautiful lodge in the middle of the nature, and very lovely host as Pato and Ivor. We spent an amazing time with fishing and hiking and chilling ...

we miss this place every day !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annecha75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Dreams + Nature + Passion = Aguas Arriba. Pato & Igor & Team are wonderful hosts making you feel at home in an exceptional Patagonian setting. Juliana is a great mountain guide, showing stunning glacier.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuRitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Aguas Arriba lodge is unbelievable. The setting is one of the most spectacular I have ever seen (a gorgeous view of Fitz Roy, Lago del Desierto and glaciers hanging off the mountain across the lake from the lodge) and the energy is wonderful - so peaceful and relaxing. We stayed at Aguas Arriba for 4 nights/5 days - I only wish we stayed longer. Pato and Ivor are such warm and gracious hosts and their entire staff (from Nicolas in the kitchen to Juliana our mountain guide) went out of their way to be helpful and friendly and make our stay perfect. There are many treks from the lodge - short (including a quick hike up to a look out above the lodge) and long treks (we hiked to the border of Chile) and all of them were gorgeous and special. The rooms were extremely comfortable and all have beautifual views (of the lake, Fitz Roy, the glaciers and the forst). And of course all of the food and wine was amazing. I highly, highly recommend this lodge if you are looking for a wonderful, remote, high-end lodge surrounded by nature.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMSNYC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

12 hours trip from Buenos Aires, but it is a worth a visit! The Lake seems enchanted as it is the landscape. The Fitz Roy view, from almost every side of the hotel (rooms included), is deeply emotional. No words are enough to describe this place! It is a full immersion in the middle of nature. The Lodge construction is sober and cosy, essential with good taste. It doesn't interfere with the landscape. The staff is incredibly kind and helpful. Great and tasty meals are daily prepared by Nicolas, the friendly Chef. Attention is given to people who have some food intolerance. The guide Julia, organizes trekking tours depending on your level. Easy walking or harder ones. She is always smiling and available, explaining you all about local mountains and woods. Last but not the least, Pato and Ivor are the brave owners that let you feell like at your home at once. They perfectly know when looking after you and always respectful about your privacy.
An unforgettable place and an unforgettable experience to live again.

Room Tip: Are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 61roby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It is not easy to reach the lodge. From El Calafate airport: 215 Km of paved road to El Chaltén; then 35 Km of unpaved road to Lago del Desierto and from there 15' by boat to Aguas Arriba.
A long way rewarded by this privileged and untouched surrounding nature, the wooden lodge strategically built between the mountain forest and the lake and the most important point: the presence of Pat and Ivor, protagonists of a dream come true.
Thorough respect for nature and no superfluous decoration because it is impossible to compete with such an environment. The place is paradise for those looking for relaxation, contemplation of nature, trekkers, hikers and fishers. Location is extremely isolated: no internet, no mobile phones, no TV.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
19.5 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#2 of 19 in El Chalten
225 reviews
19.4 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
19.7 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
263 reviews
21.4 mi away
Estancia La Quinta
Estancia La Quinta
#13 of 19 in El Chalten
167 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hosteria El Puma
Hosteria El Puma
#7 of 19 in El Chalten
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguas Arriba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguas Arriba Lodge

Property: Aguas Arriba Lodge
Address: Ruta Provincial 23 km 130 | Lago del Desierto, El Chalten Z9301AAE, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aguas Arriba Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aguas Arriba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing