We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice in El Chalten”
Review of Hotel Destino Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Destino Sur
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Hotel Destino Sur is an extremely comfortable hotel and perfectly located for hiking in the Fitz Roy range. The rooms are spacious, well-designed, and very comfortable. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. The only negative for us was the breakfast, with very limited options and poor quality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 273 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was a fantastic stay for so many reasons!! Great hotel, cozy and warm decor, boutique feel. Rooms were spacious and very clean. The common areas downstairs also the same. Hotel staff was wonderful - helpful every day with activity and restaurant recs & reservations, and overall very attentative. Hotel location was on the 'outskirts' of town - but that only mean about a 20min walk to bus station, or $5 cab. There also was even a bus stop right next to the hotel for getting back to the bus station. Location was also convenient to the trail entrances - right next to the Fitz Roy hike in fact. Helpful at the end of the day when all you wanted to do was get to your hotel after the hike…and into the hotel spa room, which we utilized just about every day we were there. Wonderful! The hot tub and sauna melted our aches away, and had us ready for dinner in no time after our hikes! Wifi was spotty and mainly only usable in the lobby area, but was the best of all the hotels we stayed in during the El Calafate/El Chalten portions of our trip. Would recommend this place in a heart beat! We paid full price, but friends of ours were able to book last minute at half of what we paid, so something to look for if booking last minute!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TToy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a lovely, clean rustic hotel in El Chalten. You can walk right from the hotel to the trails. They staff is very friendly, the rooms are spacious and nicely appointed, and just the right feel to relax after a day of hiking. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the area. They only downside is they don't serve dinner, so you have to leave the hotel - however so many amazing options in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a superior room with more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genevieve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The rooms in this hotel were quite clean, and the staff was helpful in checking the weather to determine which day would be best to hike to Fitz Roy and arrange the tours and transportation. The rooms were large and comfortable for five nights in El Chalten. The location in the northern end of town is great for hiking on the trails toward Fitz Roy. The free breakfasts are mostly continental items, but the staff will make eggs and bacon if you like as long as they are available. (I asked for bacon on morning and they had none).

The biggest problem was that there were two planned power outages in El Chalten when we visited and the hotel never communicated this to their guests. Also, the staff seemed to be a bit cold to their guests.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRY_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here as part of a organized hiking trip. Very clean hotel. One of our two rooms was slightly musty. Some of our group really enjoyed the spa. Internet was very slow but hey- you are on vacation in a beautiful location so why worry about that. Very nice service and a good breakfast. Made a pleasant place to stay after some more rural settings

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewski711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

You are in a very small town and this would be a great choice. This is the closest hotel to the start of the Fitz Roy 10km hike where every step on the way back counts. After the Fitz Roy hike we soaked in the jacuzzi and then went to dinner. It feels like a big log cabin, with clean rooms and bathroom. Breakfast buffet is very nice, mostly continental style w some cheese and ham.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenDre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

El Chalten is a small remote town in fantastic scenery. It is quite a surprise to find a hotel like this in the town, and it is lovely to return here after a day out walking in the mountains. The hotel is made of wood and looks lovely - the rooms are large, beds comfortable, good bathrooms. The staff are really friendly and helpful, and knowledgable about the walks in the area. They are totally accepting of dusty boots and clothes. Some reviews mention that it is 'out of town', but there is no real town centre and recent development, such as it is, has been near the hotel, so it is in fact within yards of restaurants and bars. It is also just yards away from the Laguna los Tres walk. Many guides suggest taking the bus to Hotel el Pilar to start this walk, but I would recommend walking in and out direct from El Chalten - the views of the Fitzroy mountains are much better on this route.
The hotel restaurant food is good and reasonably priced,but no one eats here which makes the atmosphere a bit sterile. Same for the bar area, which is lovely and very comfortable, but empty.
It can be hard to find accommodation in El Chalten, and while this hotel is relatively expensive, it really is of a very good standard.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.3 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poincenot
Hotel Poincenot
#11 of 19 in El Chalten
199 reviews
2.6 mi away
Estancia La Quinta
Estancia La Quinta
#14 of 19 in El Chalten
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria El Puma
Hosteria El Puma
#6 of 19 in El Chalten
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Destino Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Destino Sur

Address: Calle Lionel Terray 370, El Chalten Z9301AAT, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Price Range: $124 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Destino Sur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Destino Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing