We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza”
Review of Patagonicus

Patagonicus
Ranked #7 of 55 Restaurants in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Argentinean, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Great restaurant deserves a place in tripadvisor. Frommer´s, Fodors and Travel and leisure recommended it, absolute BEST IN TOWN!
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We had seen the comments on tripadvisor and decided to give it a go (being weary that the pizza's we had tried whilst travelling were not the best)...
And we were pleasantly surprised. Pizza's are of good size, they have lots of variety and the base is relatively thin (ofcourse not Italian style, but definately not the thick based style you normally find).
You also cannot beat the price!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naniwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    184
    57
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Beer and Pizza!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My mom stopped here after a long day hiking and were not disappointed. We tried as many beers as we could during out trip and the Patagonicus Blonde and Dark were top notch. I haven't been able to find these back home though:(

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank RissyDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I did not expect a lot but they actually serve good food. The homemade pasta was tasty and the pizza was thinner and more crusty than anywhere else we had seen. It is not really cosy but they have some nice pictures on the wall of historic hikes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good service of disgusting food”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We ordered pizza, salad, and water. The pizza was the worst we've ever had. The ingredients were completely tasteless. The cheese and sausage had no flavor and appeared to be ancient. The ingredients for the salad can most generously be described as venerable and without any taste that would distinguish one from another. Even the olive oil was poor and tasteless. The water was good.

We have dined many places in Argentina and this place ranks as one of the worst although the waitress was cheery and diligent in fulfilling her responsibilities. The atmosphere of the restaurant was appealing but could not overcome the poor quality of the food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peregrine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very popular so reserve or wait”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Food was just so so to me and the salads not nearly what La Cerveceria can put on the table. Still, you can't deny the crowds and the locals -- they uniformly like the place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nail56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patagonicus also viewed

El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Patagonicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing