We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious ice cream”

Heladeria Domo Blanco
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Try the Calafate ice cream or the dulce de leche and you cannot go wrong. Prices are steep so slowly eat it and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    58
    19
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Get the Namesake Flavor”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The ice cream here is average IMO. I had much better ice cream at other restaurants. We had two very different servers. One said we had to pay first and could try only one flavor, and she didn't seem particularly interested in being there. The other let me try like 5 flavors. Far and away, the Domo Blanco was the best. We had a language barrier, but I believe it's dulce de leche + rum + walnuts. The Calafate berry was good. I got it because I can't get it anywhere else, but honestly, if it were something I could get back home, I would never go for it because it's not that great IMO. (But while you're in that region, try Calafate liquor. It's great!) The Domo Blanco, however, is worthwhile!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RooibosDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream, steep prices”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Domo Blanco is the perfect place to stop on a warm sunny day after finishing a tough hike! (then head over to nearby La Cerveceria for a beer). It's a surprisingly chic place for El Chalten and the number of flavors is impressive. The ice cream is fantastic but $$$. Expect to pay about ARS $22 or about $4.50 USD for a small cone (they do load it up quite a bit though). Worth trying at least once while you're in town. But if you're craving something sweet, La Chocolateria is another good option - their alfajores are fantastic!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank aml888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Domo Blanco”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good ice cream at the saint martin avenue. perfect after hiking or evening. best chocolat ice cream in patagonia. also calafate ice cream.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank netherlands_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I just love ice cream and Domo Blanco is among the best ice cream I have ever had. It is made with high quality, fresh ingredients and portions are very generous. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cecimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heladeria Domo Blanco also viewed

El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Heladeria Domo Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing