We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing spectucular, except the views”
Review of Hotel Las Piedras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Las Piedras
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Oxford, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nothing spectucular, except the views”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour. Nothing especially fancy here but it was a great home base while we were trekking the Fitz Roy. El Chalten is small and nothing is too far from anything so this hotel is centrally located. The rooms are nothing to brag about but they were comfortable enough and the wi-fi was good. This isn't the place if you're looking for a 5 star hotel but it was great for us.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
11
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daylesford, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We found the owners extremely helpful when we encountered problems with our transfer arrangements. They went out of their way to make phone calls and assist in every way. Had a Very nice meal there and pleasant room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paxosdaylesford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Lovely friendly small hotel in this very remote village surrounded by the stunning mountains of fitzroy and cerro solo. Rooms are located in separate units behind an un finished building that was to be part of the hotel and a little off putting to look at. very simply furnished, showers not great and the food served was not inspiring but staff were friendly, helpful and the location in the village was excellent. Stayed here with a walking group and found it a lovely experience but may not have found it quite so good if I had been on my own.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hostillaria is hosted by a Patron who was offhand, rude even, and did not know how to serve wine (his bottles needed decanting). The lady of the establishment and the waitress were charming and pleasant.
An example of the Patron's rudeness: at 10.00pm one evening whilst enjoying a game of scramble he informed us that the bar was closing and that we should continue playing in our bedrooms.
There was no furniture provided for sitting outdoors and we were chastised for using spare blankets on the grass.
The food provided at breakfast and for supper was ordinary, to say the least, and not good value for the money paid.

There is major building work being undertaken at present, though not actively whilst we were there.

I could not recommend this establishment under the present regime.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Chalten hotels

Kintbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We recently stayed with a group at this hotel. We have travelled extensively but never felt so unwelcomed as we did here. In fact the rooms were quite spacious and the bed comfortable, but that was where it ended. The other furniture was very sparse and untilitarion and the bedding of poor quality. The shower room did not even offer soap, let alone shampoo!! We were booked 4 nights half-board, a great shame as the food was awful and indeed the 3rd night, disgusting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with a group for one night after we had to stay in Chalten for an extra night and couldn't stay in our original hotel.

It was perfectly acceptable - basic, but comfortable room with good bathroom and a fridge; limited but decent breakfast; really friendly staff with good English. Wifi only in reception (and, even there, of variable quality). Good location with easy access to Chalten's restaurants. Lots of grass to relax on when the weather is good.

For something different, try the guanaco stew for dinner (I think they make it on the premises).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj1837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Run by a lovely couple, but at USD120 p/n you are paying a 50% premium over more modern offerings in El Chalten. TVs are ancient with little signal, no WiFi in rooms, very average breakfast, no comfortable area to relax in hotel (despite photos on website) which is important for a place with such variable weather.

Major construction works under way. Should be offering a good discount compared to others until refurbishment is complete.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ausfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.5 mi away
Kalenshen
Kalenshen
#16 of 19 in El Chalten
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Poincenot
Hotel Poincenot
#12 of 19 in El Chalten
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Infinito Sur
Hosteria Infinito Sur
#10 of 19 in El Chalten
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thiamalu
Thiamalu
#17 of 19 in El Chalten
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Piedras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Piedras

Property: Hotel Las Piedras
Address: Avenida Lago Del Desierto S/N, El Chalten Z9301ACA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Las Piedras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing