We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica
Nearby Hotels
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Rancho Grande Hostel(El Chalten)(Great Value!)
$38
$26
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$180
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aguas Arriba Lodge(El Chalten)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Destino Sur(El Chalten)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hosteria Senderos(El Chalten)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estancia La Quinta(El Chalten)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Poincenot(El Chalten)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
73
68
24
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
68
24
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslots of hot waterfitz roycold meatsstayed here for nightshiking trailsbus stationperfect locationbreadnice showerthe breakfast areafront desk stafflaguna torrecomfortable hotelwater pressuretrail headshort walkyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 175 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

First point to note is that Pudu Lodge is the furthest hotel away from the bus station. With limited taxi service and dirt roads, this may present a challenge depending on your fitness and luggage. We walked it in 25 mins. On the other hand, being on the edge of town means the hotel is right at the foot of the main hiking trails, definitely appreciated at the end of a long trekking day. Rooms are basic but clean. Breakfast is simple but good. The layout means that upstairs rooms face the open plan reception / dining area and subject to echo and clatter, we saw some complaining happening. Rooms on the ground floor are in a corridor behind reception, but our room was opposite the door to reception and we had to pop out to keep closing it. Dining room was not happening when we were there, but a recommendation for the excellent restaurant El Muro just around the corner kept us very happy. Given that typically outdoorsy types go to El Chalten to do some serious trekking, and so it's early to bed and early to rise for everyone ( eliminating the noise issue ), and you just want somewhere for a clean-up and sleep at the end of the day, we were satisfied in staying at Pudu Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor, away from the door to reception if a light sleeper. I think Rooms 5 and 6 are opposite the door.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimR065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Spent 4 nights over Christmas and were very happy with location, and the friendliness of the staff and owner. He gave us great information about trekking and basically organized our "trekking" schedule for us. Both young women who worked at the desk were great. The dining room is lovely with great views. Altogether we felt at home, very relaxing. I would also recommend eating at the restaurant. El Chalten is pricey and the food at Pudu was excellent and reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mid-evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed one night with friends and we really liked this place. Rooms are nicely decorated and the staff was very nice and friendly.
I was only expecting a nicer and home made breakfast, but it was plain without many options.
Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay and will be back in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pablost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Pudu Lodge is located at the edge of the National Park which makes for easy access to Laguna Capri Camp and Laguna de Los Tres Trail. We did not have car like most visitors to El Chalten who are trekkers. The area is safe and makes access to El Chalten's shops and restaurants very easy to access. The location definitely makes it a good choice.
The receptionist had limited English so was not able to confidently answer our questions. The common room where breakfast was served was bright and had lots of windows. The stove also was a treat to sit beside after the rain. The actual rooms were spacious and modern. The heated floor was a pleasure. Laundry was done in-house in a couple of hours at a very reasonable cost.
Probably a little more expensive than some accommodation in El Chalten but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful, including making sure we had early breakfasts two days before our early hike and bus departure. Had we understood that the El Chalten Travel bus stopped at Rancho Grando, very near PuduLodge, we could have saved ourselves a long walk through town. But, it did give us a chance to stock up on chocolate at La Chocolateria and to get an initial feeling for the town. The heated stone floor is comfy on the feet and the shower was one of the best anywhere. Our room, #5, was quite spacious. The hotel is very modern, quiet, and on the far end of town, near the finish and starting points of a couple of the hikes. Wish they had eggs for breakfast, but this is Argentina! The only other small recommendation I have is to put wastebaskets in the rooms themselves rather than just in the bathroom. Turned out to be a soothing, comfortable, easy place to return to after each of our long hikes. And four nights ended up being the perfect amount of time.

Room Tip: Our room #5 was okay, but just off the lobby. Probably would have been a bit quieter down the hall or upstairs.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judythr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews