We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
142 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Lovely and quiet”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed one night with friends and we really liked this place. Rooms are nicely decorated and the staff was very nice and friendly.
I was only expecting a nicer and home made breakfast, but it was plain without many options.
Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay and will be back in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    55
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
19
71
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
418 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Pudu Lodge is located at the edge of the National Park which makes for easy access to Laguna Capri Camp and Laguna de Los Tres Trail. We did not have car like most visitors to El Chalten who are trekkers. The area is safe and makes access to El Chalten's shops and restaurants very easy to access. The location definitely makes it a good choice.
The receptionist had limited English so was not able to confidently answer our questions. The common room where breakfast was served was bright and had lots of windows. The stove also was a treat to sit beside after the rain. The actual rooms were spacious and modern. The heated floor was a pleasure. Laundry was done in-house in a couple of hours at a very reasonable cost.
Probably a little more expensive than some accommodation in El Chalten but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island
Level Contributor
199 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful, including making sure we had early breakfasts two days before our early hike and bus departure. Had we understood that the El Chalten Travel bus stopped at Rancho Grando, very near PuduLodge, we could have saved ourselves a long walk through town. But, it did give us a chance to stock up on chocolate at La Chocolateria and to get an initial feeling for the town. The heated stone floor is comfy on the feet and the shower was one of the best anywhere. Our room, #5, was quite spacious. The hotel is very modern, quiet, and on the far end of town, near the finish and starting points of a couple of the hikes. Wish they had eggs for breakfast, but this is Argentina! The only other small recommendation I have is to put wastebaskets in the rooms themselves rather than just in the bathroom. Turned out to be a soothing, comfortable, easy place to return to after each of our long hikes. And four nights ended up being the perfect amount of time.

Room Tip: Our room #5 was okay, but just off the lobby. Probably would have been a bit quieter down the hall o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judythr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed here during a G Adventures tour through Patagonia in October 2013. Florencia and Gabrielle were lovely hosts - all staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful. They were happy to help in any way they could and never made us feel like we were just another tour group to have through.

The rooms are lovely and well heated. Views of beautiful El Chalten are great from the rooms in this quirky little town. They have a very well priced laundry service and make lovely coffees at reception. They make great pizza too.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babblingbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lévis, Quebec
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

New, modern small hotel located 5 minutes from the start of the trek to the base of Mount Fitz Roy. It's quite a ways from the bus station, however, so don't do like me and walk all the way there with a briefcase that has no wheels, it's a painfully bad idea : ))

The rooms are very nice and comfy, and as the hotel is new, everything is really modern.

Rooms are also very clean and well-maintained. Wifi signal is excellent.

Not all the front desk staff speaks fluent English, however, but everyone that I encountered was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, regardless of their level of bilingualism. The staff is top notch!

A small anecdote that speaks volumes about this place : I had to get back to the bus station and the front desk tried for a couple of minutes to get a cab (keep in mind that this is a very small town and everyone leaves pretty much at the same time to catch the bus out of town). The owner happened to pass by as the girl at the front desk tried to get me a cab. He gave me a ride to the bus station without asking for anything in return. This is the kind of service and helpfulness that you will get at the Pudulodge!

I really recommend you book this hotel - you will not regret it, especially after coming back down from the base of Mount Fitz Roy : ))

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanLeonLePrevost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Positive: The staff is really friendly and is trying to do as good as they can!
Negative: The staff isn't really competent. Only one spoke English.
Plus:
The hotel isn't finished yet. Shower curtain fell off. The area around the hotel is partly a construction site.
The room safe was just standing in the shelf without being fixed to anything! Absolutely useless.
Breakfast was mediocre.
When we tried to check out the women said: Not possible, we have to wait for the Boss. Maybe in one hour.
And: This is the last hotel of the town. You can't live farther away than that! This is no big deal, because El Chalten is rather small.

All in all I have to draw the conclusion that alle the five point reviews are hoax.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Could not be handier for the trails as it's 5 minutes to the start of the Fitzroy trek and the nearby waterfall. They also pick you up and drop you off at the bus station. The views through the giant front windows are incredible and the breakfast is great. The staff were great, Martin was very knowledgeable and helpful. 3 minutes from El Muro restaurant which is brill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveBonnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.7 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poincenot
Hotel Poincenot
#12 of 19 in El Chalten
193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Infinito Sur
Hosteria Infinito Sur
#10 of 19 in El Chalten
168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lunajuim
Hotel Lunajuim
#6 of 19 in El Chalten
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica

Property: PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica
Address: Calle Las Loicas 97, El Chalten Z9301AAH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing