We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Poincenot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Poincenot
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was a really good, clean hotel with nice rooms. It is a little far from the centre of the sprawling El Chalten, but it is very close to the excellent La Mure restaurant and the start of the northern treks. I would stay here again, but be advised, the WiFi is so slow it is almost unusable for anything other than email (don’t bother trying to skype or getting big web pages). Also while we were here there were lots of issues with hot water running out and having to wait 20mins for it to come back.

Useful tips: Chalten Travel bus (not the other one!) from El Calafate stops at the hotel next door (it goes on past the bus station) and picks up from here.

Positives: Good room, nice hotel, helpful staff.

Negatives: Wifi unusable, ? ongoing hot water issues.

Room Tip: Wind can be an issue on one side, but then that side has better views. Ask to be placed far away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    80
    23
    13
    1
See reviews for
22
117
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife got transferred from hostel Rancho Grande due to their mistake (they didn't have rooms upon our arrival so they sent us here, yeahhh). The hotel is very clean with a modern touch. The staff was very helpful with all our questions and they took care of our laundry for a fare price. I'm not sure about their prices since we booked with Rancho but we paid 153 USD for two nights in a double bed room.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smickeywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Newly built, comfortable, clean, with helpful staff and super conveniently located for most of the trail heads - there are certainly cheaper options in town, but this one was great value for money and a very lovely stay, with probably the best medialunas for breakfast we had in Argentina!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelOlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unteraegeri
Level Contributor
234 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is a revelation in El Chalten, a Hotel so nice, modern, clean and well-managed. The breakfast buffet is great, the rooms are spacious and clean, the reception desk is very competent, over lunch and early evening even small snacks are served. The design of the hotel is contemporary and eye-pleasing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterp_knobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Hotel Poincenot is a fairly new and more upscale hotel than most others in this intriguing little town. It is located at the very far end of the town from the main bus station (about 15mins walk with standard backpack). However, we walked to the hotel only to find that the bus we came on (Chalten Travel from Calafate) was parked next door – so ask the driver! However, the hotel is very close to the trailhead to Lago de los Tres. The hotel does not have a cozy ambience but is big, bright, clean and spacious. Front desk staff were enormously helpful and friendly and even allowed us to use the front desk phone to call relatives in Ireland on Christmas Day – no charge! Rooms were a good size, comfortable and spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are noisy when it rains - and it rains a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EandSmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Nice, clean hotel, everything you need for trekking in El Chalten, great location! Very friendly and helpful front desk personnel! I would adjust the interior of the lobby area to make it more inviting to hang out and have a glass of wine there at nights and improve breakfasts selections a bit - but overall we were happy there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is very good, clean, good ambience, helpful staff, comfortable beds. The view from the hotel is incredible, it's very near the main trekking start points. You can find restaraunts very near and also a small supermaket. Not so close to the bus station if you are walking with many bags, however the bus from el chalten to el calafate first goes from Rancho Grande Hostel that is from the same enterprise and it's just besides, so that is great, I believe even in the way el calafate to el chanlten the bus after stops in bus station will go to Rancho Grande Hostel, so you can take a hide until the hotel.
It has small bahtub that after long trekking is mandatory for relaxing the legs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.3 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#6 of 19 in El Chalten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica
PuduLodge Hosteria Patagonica
#14 of 19 in El Chalten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Infinito Sur
Hosteria Infinito Sur
#11 of 19 in El Chalten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poincenot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poincenot

Property: Hotel Poincenot
Address: Avenida San Martin 668, El Chalten Z9301ABA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poincenot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The grand opening of Hotel Poincenot was on early January 2010, and has 20 well-equipped double rooms with private bathroom. The great views of the most well-known mountains that embrace El Chaltén, will give the guest an exact combination in between comfort and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Poincenot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing