We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homey place with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tapera

La Tapera
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Homey place with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

A quaint chalet style restaurant with very delicious food and lovely service from staff. A top choice in the small city of El Chalten! The glass of homemade liquor at the end is a winner

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank md_nji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    232
    76
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best food we had in El Chalten!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were a bit worried the roof was going to blow off, but we were worried about that our entire trip in El Chalten.

I had the sorrentinos de calabaza and my boyfriend had the lamb. Both were delicious! The bread they give you at the beginning was also better than most restaurant bread.

The cabin like setting is awesome. Only complaint is that it took us a while to be seated and then again to get our check. We would definitely return though!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TK_Traveler_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Beach, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Warm & Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

As well as having excellent food. We had the handmade gnocchi with wild mushroom sauce with a salad and dessert. Enjoyed every bite!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debby I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
“Succulent and feel like Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Best food in El Chalten. The owner is super welcoming, the food is just a dream and wine is wow.
Yes it is a bit more expensive than some other restaurant, but it is by far the best for your buck. We went twice out of our 3 night in town. We had : lamb ravioli(my fav), pumpkin ravioli, lomo steak with wine sauce. Wish I could go there now!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandrine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield, UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Small, cosy restaurant with a football-mad owner and souvenirs. We ate a rather dull trout with decent accompaniments and the best fillet steak I have had in years (not just one but two whole rounds), served by helpful staff and accompanied by an excelent Malbec.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ldhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tapera also viewed

 
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
El Chalten, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to La Tapera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing