We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine as a short stay Inn”
Review of Hosteria Fitz Roy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hosteria Fitz Roy
Berkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine as a short stay Inn”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Fitz Roy Inn is fine as a base for exploring the National Park. El Chalten itself has a frontier town feel about it. It is the newest town in Argentina built to prevent land grab by Chile. It has become a base for walking and climbing in the Mt Fitzroy Massif area. It is worth bearing that in mind when staying here! There is a great Microbrewery just down the road from the Inn definitely worth visiting!

We stayed for 2 nights to do walking. It is a basic single story Hosteria. The decor is uninspiring, however it was clean with a comfortable bed. The shower room was basic but the shower was very good with lots of hot water. On arrival our toilet wouldn't flush but it was fixed within minutes. The curtain poles did not have stops on so they came down for at least 3 couples within our group! Not dangerously I must add, more funny. They were rectifying this as we departed!

Breakfast was simple and very Argentinian (sweet) but plenty of it. The staff were friendly and very helpful - see above!

We were out walking all day and we ordered 2 packed lunches for the first day. These were huge and very good, so lasted us for the 2 days!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EccentricExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    43
    10
    5
See reviews for
11
40
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Situated on the river close to the edge of town, it's in a good position for walking the trails. There are a few bars/cafes/restaurants close by and the remainder are only a few minutes walk away in the village. The rooms are in two single storey wings either side of the reception area. The rooms are en-suite and reasonably sized. They are perfectly adequate for a hosteria and well maintained, if perhaps in need of a bit of a refurb. A reasonable breakfast was served in the reception are but I agree with the comments about the dodgy toast. The free wifi was useful as there is no cellular coverage. Final comment saved for the staff who were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PashWagMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Fitzwarren, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Fitzroy Inn is a great place to base yourself in El Chalten, great value, very simply done, it's all on one floor and the rooms are spacious, clean and all en suite. Staff are very friendly and helpful, located towards the north end of town, it's quiet and peaceful and you get up to views of snow capped mountains!
Ideally located for trekking, for a very small place it's well served by small, local restaurants serving very good quality, well-priced food - La Tapera is well worth a visit as is La Cerveceria micro-brewery.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very nice little hostel, with great rooms, clean and nice location. Very firendly staff. Only downside - breakfast - Argentinian style (i.e. sweet) and not too much choice. But overall, I loved it.

Room Tip: ask them for rooms with a view towards the village, but not close to the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxanaBXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here in April for 2 nights. The rooms are very basic, we had a twin with a couple of beds and bed side tables. Overall the bedroom was reasonably clean. Note however they ask you not to turn off the gas heater in the room which means if it is warm you have no way of shutting the heating down completely. Further there is a distinct lack of a bin and electrical sockets in the rooms.

The bathroom door did not close and had no lock on it. The shower was ok but the water takes 5 minutes to warm up.

Breakfast is a fairly standard affair, 35 pesos for basic cereal, bread etc. one problem is that they toast the bread at the start of the sitting, there is no toaster in the dining room to use. This results in cold toast. Juice was very sugary.

As for location it is in El Chalten and close to the shops, nothing spectacular about it that makes it stand out from the other lodges.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vonman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The hotel is a single story building at one end of the growing town of El Chalten. It is quiet and has fantastic views along the river and valley. It is also next to two of the local hikes: to Lago Capri and to the waterfall. Restaurants and cafes are only a 5 to 10 minute walk away and the local microbrewery is almost opposite. The Tourist Information office, National Park office and ATM are on the far end of town but it is a reasonable walk.

The hotel has a nice bar/lounge area in the middle of the two wings and this is where you can access the free wi-fi. The signal was intermittent for me but others had a better connection. There is another lounge area at the end of one of the wings.

Breakfast was included and was very good compared to other hotels I have stayed in. There was bread, cheese, ham, but also pastries and fruit as well as tea and good coffee.

The rooms were basic but clean and the bathroom, although small, was modern and also very clean.

I would recommend this as a good place to stay to enjoy the activities in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
250 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

For a little place in the middle of nowhere this place not just suited the need but exceeded it.

It may not be a five star hotel but then again if that's what you want, stay out of Patagonia.

Room was clean, heated, a novel option in some places, bathroom was fine, bed was comfortable and the staff was great.

Neat little town with an amazing glacier trek

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelloverdelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Complejo Turistico Lo de Tomy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Estancia La Quinta
Estancia La Quinta
#14 of 19 in El Chalten
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Lago Viedma
Hosteria Lago Viedma
#19 of 48 in El Chalten
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Kau Si Aike
Hosteria Kau Si Aike
#2 of 16 in El Chalten
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Fitz Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Fitz Roy

Property: Hosteria Fitz Roy
Address: Avenida San Martin 520, El Chalten Z9301ABA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 Specialty Lodging in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hosteria Fitz Roy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitz roy inn is provided with 30 bedrooms,al of which are equipped with a private bathroom.this include beds with sommiers,great natural light, and good space. The bedrooms are carpeted and heated by a central air system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hosteria Fitz Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing