We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff and wonderful food!”
Review of Hosteria El Puma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hosteria El Puma
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2010

This small inn was wonderful: the rooms were cozy and spacious (especially the corner room #6 called "Fitz Roy"), and the food - especially dinner - at their restaurant was so good we dinned there four nights. In the end, however, it was the terrific El Puma staff we appreciated most. The front desk team was incredibly helpful with information and support for our trekking logistics. The restaurant staff was friendly and welcoming. We came back after 4 days camping/trekking in the park and the housekeeping staff graciously did all of our laundry in just a few hours.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 157 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2009

The best part was the receptionist. She was very friendly and helped us with planning of our hikes. The room was ok but not very clean, especially the bath room which definitely is in need of refurbishment. They're charging a lot for the rooms, so they could afford it!
Unfortunately, on the Saturday night, there was loud disco music from the neigbourhood until the very early morning! Of course, there is not much the country lodge can do about it. But, it's still important to know if you plan to be there on a Saturday night.
The worst part was the breakfast. Besides a tasty yoghurt, it was extremely simple and did not offer much choice. Given the high price for the rooms, you could expect much more!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Slanteddoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Chose El Puma on the recommendation of our Trekking Company. Despite temptation to stay at more upscale Los Cerros, we were advised that El Puma is homey, charming and "more in keeping with the atmostphere of Patagonia". We agree, it was a great experience, nice fireplaced sitting room, very nice large brick walled rooms, great friendly staff. The breakfasts were simple and not the best we had in Argentina, but the dinners were amazing. We had read about the chef and he was every bit as good as written about. We ate at several other great restaurants in El Chalten, Feugia and Malbec, but ended up eating at the hotel 3 nights! It's a very simple dining room and was never very busy, but we had 5 course dinners (amuse, appetizer, intermezzo, entree and dessert) each time! Also one of the trails, Cerro Torre was right out our back door! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seagulls55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Chalten does not have a ton of hotel options, but from what I saw, this hotel was the second nicest, and probably the best value. Conveniently located for both the Fitzroy hike and the Torre Glacier Trek. The restaurant has OK breakfasts, but the dinners are incredible despite the modest decor. The women who work there are super helpful and very friendly. Rooms are like what you would find in an old cabin--functional, but not uber modern by any means. All in all a good experience though.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SASerF98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

I loved this small charming hotel. A short walk to town, but in a quiet location. The food was outstanding. We called the young chef out to the dining room to give an ovation at the end of our stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. A wonderful restful place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank trekkergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

Good restaurant (only dinner), nice rooms. Located in a quiet place next to bus station and the path to Cerro Torre.
Nice lamas living around hosteria.
Hosteria organise excursions to Glaciar Viedma or Lago del Desierto or horse riding if you don't like walking to Fitz Roy or Cerro Torre.
For us the best place after a hard day trekking.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank schero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mchrist1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosteria-El-Puma, Gerente at Hosteria El Puma, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#2 of 19 in El Chalten
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poincenot
Hotel Poincenot
#12 of 19 in El Chalten
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lunajuim
Hotel Lunajuim
#6 of 19 in El Chalten
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria El Puma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria El Puma

Address: Calle Lionel Terray 212, El Chalten Z9301AAT, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Price Range: $86 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria El Puma 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Fitz Roy and Torre mountains, in the heart of Los Glaciares National Park, is El Chalten, National Capital of Trekking, chosen by hikers from around the world to perform the most varied hiking tours and horseback riding. There, right where the trails start, you will find Hostería El Puma, a pleasant and comfortable place for people who enjoy nature in an active way. The Lodge has 12 spacious, non-smoking rooms equipped with safety box, private bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer and amenities. The guest can rest, relax or read a book from our small library, in a large garden or in a warm living room in front of the fireplace, enjoying a glass of wine after a long day of hiking. El Puma has its own private parking (outdoor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hosteria El Puma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria El Puma Hotel El Chalten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing