We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay in El Chalten”
Review of Hosteria El Puma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hosteria El Puma
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay in El Chalten”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My friends and I loved El Chalten and loved staying at Hosteria El Puma! It was in a wonderful location in the little town close to some of the best restaurants we ate in during our three week trip to Argentina. And the service was incredible - including the breakfast buffet each morning. And they were able to comfortably accommodate all three of us in one room, which felt like a cabin in the woods.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrdcs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    53
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
88
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Only stayed one night, but we were pleasantly surprised. Its nice and quiet, just a few blocks away from "town." Comfortable rooms, and cozy warm feel. Perfect for hikers and the like. Only complaint is they wouldnt let us shower for free after our hike since we would mess up a room. They wanted to rent us towels and a shower at a ridiculoous price so we went to a nearby hostel and got the same for like 25% of what they quoted.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

My only complaint about El Puma is the price. For a town where there is construction everywhere and it's just building up, I found this to be rather expensive, along the prices of what I'd find at home in the States.
But I saw the photos online and couldn't resist. It lived up to our expectations. The service was so incredibly friendly, and they gave THE BEST dinner recommendation (next door a whopping 2 minute walk away).
I personally loved the location - the town is tiny, and nothing is far away (right now anyway - that may change with all the construction and expansion going on). But being slightly off the main pathways ensured a solid uninterrupted night's sleep.
The room was large and extremely comfortable, with a spacious bath. Tons of charming accents throughout the place, from the sign on the door of the room to the comforts inside the room to the cozy fireplace in the lobby (where we hung out and enjoyed tea and beer), to the breakfast room with really cool climbing accessories and maps and photos for decor.
Speaking of breakfast, that yogurt and fruit was some of the yummiest I've had in a long time. Lots of tea selection, and toast, and I think I remember eggs as well.
The best part? After a 25k hike, and a really long day, you come out of the trail and it's one of the closest hotels, which means we got our hiking boots and gear off faster than most others staying in town.
LOVE El Puma. Love every little thing about El Chalten. Go now, before it changes any more!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brindled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We found this place online, but their website is very misleading. There is no restaurant or bar there, which was a real bummer when it poured rain and snowed because we had to go out in it to eat other than the meager "breakfast" they served in what used to be the restaurant.

The bed was kind of soft and the walls were so thin the girls laughing in the next room kept us up all night because it was as if they were in our room.

At $180 a night, no way. The only good thing I can say is the girls who worked there were very sweet

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrlancer1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2010

we were very very very disappointed in our stay at el puma. there is no restaurant. there was last year, but the cook did not come this year so it is closed for the season. not a big deal if you are in the center of town, but definitely a pain when you are a 10 minute walk from the center of town and it is cold & snowing... the room was adequate, at best. there was a leak in the ceiling and you could hear the people in the room next door. the staff was very nice, but it was unbelievable that they charged $180/night. unfortunately, i am not sure if there is another high end accomodation in el chalten, but the other hosterias are probably half the price for similar accomodations...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisa_sanfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Warm and perfumed atmosphere, this place is perfect to have a rest after a trek in the park!
Friendly and helpful style, they will be closed to all your needs and desires.
We spend one night after a trek of 3 days and we definitely advise it to all traveler who want to find the best hotel ever in Patagonia!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManuGraillansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

This was a small hotel, where our expectations were not high. Instead, we found a wonderful place, with very nice staff, clean rooms and even a warm towel rack in the bathroom. Pure heaven!
The breakfast is minimal (no eggs, nothing warm) so that would be a nice thing to improve, but we would stay there again anytime.
The staff’s restaurant recommendations were all very good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#2 of 19 in El Chalten
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Don Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poincenot
Hotel Poincenot
#12 of 19 in El Chalten
194 reviews
19.2 mi away
Aguas Arriba Lodge
Aguas Arriba Lodge
#3 of 19 in El Chalten
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria El Puma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria El Puma

Property: Hosteria El Puma
Address: Calle Lionel Terray 212, El Chalten Z9301AAT, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria El Puma 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Fitz Roy and Torre mountains, in the heart of Los Glaciares National Park, is El Chalten, National Capital of Trekking, chosen by hikers from around the world to perform the most varied hiking tours and horseback riding. There, right where the trails start, you will find Hostería El Puma, a pleasant and comfortable place for people who enjoy nature in an active way. The Lodge has 12 spacious, non-smoking rooms equipped with safety box, private bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer and amenities. The guest can rest, relax or read a book from our small library, in a large garden or in a warm living room in front of the fireplace, enjoying a glass of wine after a long day of hiking. El Puma has its own private parking (outdoor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria El Puma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria El Puma Hotel El Chalten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing