We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chilkoot Trail Authentic Sourdough Bakery

Chilkoot Trail Authentic Sourdough Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Carcross
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
728 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“Good lunch stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stopped here for a quick lunch as part of a Beyond Skagway tour on the way back from Emerald Lake. The sandwiches were pre made but freshly, along with home made soups and baked items. Rustic and small stop for lunch while in Carcross.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fair Hill, Maryland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing soups and great sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stopped as part of a DYEA Dave land tour. The building was small but clean and had outdoor seating. The soup of the day was ham & barley and it was amazing. We also had ham & swiss sandwiches and those were great - not amazing like the soup but they hit the spot. The warm scones were terrific - get one for the road. The bathroom was clean as well and the staff was very nice. A great place to stop, glad Dave recommended it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cute place with good baked goods”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stopped on our way back from a drive to Emerald Lake and Caribou Crossing. We just had a snack, an apple crumb cake and a soda...I think the soda cost as much as the pastry!. The place was rustic but welcoming. Don't expect fine dining or exotic cuisine, but for a place to stop, have a snack and relax for a bit, this is a good option in a small town. If you are in Carcross it's worth a stop, but not something you'd drive out of your way to experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Level Contributor
210 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A Nice Place for Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I passed through Carcross on our way to Whitehorse from Skagway. The bakery made some good sandwiches and other baked goods. Nothing exceptional, but did the job for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YUKON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE........”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The service was ok, but the product was not eatable. I thought to have something healthy, but the Chocolate Zucchini cake was awfully dry and tasteless. My suggestion is ti hire professional bakers, if you want to open a bakery................

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank YukonJohann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilkoot Trail Authentic Sourdough Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Chilkoot Trail Authentic Sourdough Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing