We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Carcross”

Caribou Crossing Coffee
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Carcross
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: European, Delicatessen, Contemporary, Healthy, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Localy roasted coffees from organic fair trade, specialty teas, organic lemonades, italian sodas and cream sodas, real fruit smoothies, freshly prepared sandwiches, homebaked bread, muffins, cookies and biscotti, freshly baked waffles, weekend special: torts- fresh, local, fair and friendly!
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A gem in Carcross”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We love Baked in Whitehorse and decided to try Caribou Coffee in Carcross. It is also a great place. It was great to find such great coffee in such a small town. Great service, funky space and a nice relaxed atmosphere. Much preferred CCC over the Chilkoot Bakery, located nearby.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anato66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouCrossingCoffe, Manager at Caribou Crossing Coffee, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Anato66
Thank you so much for the visit and the time you took to write your review. We are really proud of our products wich are fresh and as much organic and locally grown or prepared as possible, as our coffee wich comes from Bean North, our local roaster who buys organically grown and fair traded coffee from around the world and roastes it twice weekly, so that we always have the highest standard of coffee available while supporting local business and organic and fair trade.
And we love the atmosphere in our coffeeshop as well, we put all our good energy into this place and love what we are doing while we are having fun doing it. And this shows! :-) We are happy to share this place we built for our community with visitors from all around the world.
Thank you so much again.
Take care
Heike and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    15
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YUKON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Girls Rock............”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I am not a fan of Baked (Whitehorse) but Heike rocks the Caribou Crossing. Good old Germany service and quality here.... The lattes are always to perfection and the Apfel Kuchen is the best. It is a sure pleasure to have the girls as our Carcross/Skagway neighbours.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YukonJohann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouCrossingCoffe, Owner at Caribou Crossing Coffee, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you so much YukonJohann, and we keep on rocking!!!! :-) I love it that you love the Apfelkuchen. It is my moms recipe and she has it from her mom and I am very happy that I can share this comforting taste with you and the friends and visitors of the coffeeshop.
We btw. extended our hours now and are open from march1st to may 1st from friday to sunday, and comes may it will be daily again. Come soon and taste the new goodies we have (and some Apfelkuchen of course).
Happy springtime!
Heike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best coffee !!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Got dropped off here by Becky from "Beyond Skagway Tours" had the best coffee for a long time ! Good food friendly staff , loved it , what a little gem of a place .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spladdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouCrossingCoffe, Inhaber at Caribou Crossing Coffee, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so much, Spladdy,
I am very happy that Becky dropped you off at my place and we were able to provide you with good coffee, food, music and atmosphere! We are always on the quest to serve not only delicious coffee and fresh real food but also a good time. When we reach our goal it makes my team and myself proud.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
All the best to you.
Take care
Heike and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great Latte”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Heike made us welcome the moment we walked in the door with her cheeky smile. We were really pleased when Heike also made the best Latte we have had in awhile. We were super impressed by the presentation of her yummy apple pie. All of which was complimented by the ambiance of the live music being played in the coffee shop.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouCrossingCoffe, Inhaber at Caribou Crossing Coffee, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear JimR,
the smile is still there....:-) And by now there are even more smiles to welcome our friends and visitors of the coffeeshop. We are now a whole team of smily, happy baristas and foodies who not only love what they are doing but having real fun doing it.
I thank you so much for having taken the time to write your review and I can only hope that you guys will find time again to visit Yukon, Carcross and the Coffeeshop again to enjoy our by now extended choice of specialty drinks - Blackforest Latte- Vanilla Orange delight- Shamrock Latte or our iced and blended Coco Cocoa Frappuccino and many more- and all the other delicious goodies available here.... newest local's biscotti favorite: mango- mangosteen- biscotti.... Delicioso!
:-)
take good care.
Heike and her smiley Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skagway, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Mocha and cake”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

As I drive to whitehorse several times a summer I was delighted to find this oasis at the halfway point , in time for a needed break . The Mochas have been delicious and the cake and muffins wonderful. I highly recommend Caribou Crossing Coffee with their wonderful fare and warm smiles , a great start for a stroll around the town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffrey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouCrossingCoffe, Manager at Caribou Crossing Coffee, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so much, Jeffrey,
I am really truly happy that we were and are able to provide a little break for all our people driving back and forth between Skagway and Whitehorse.
And soon again there will not only be Moccha and applepie available but fresh rhubarb pie and imagine when late summer arrives and there will be the wild blueberry pie- yum yum yum! :-)
Big smile to you!
Take care and be careful on the long drive.
See you in the coffeeshop!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribou Crossing Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Caribou Crossing Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing