We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stellar Gourmet food inside an Ikea Catalogue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Baie-St-Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stellar Gourmet food inside an Ikea Catalogue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

we stayed at la Ferme 2 days whilst on out honeymoon. Les Labours is an outstanding restaurant - atmosphere, service and seriously incredible food. The kitchen is open and in the middle of the restaurant - very cool and surprisingly the atmosphere of intimacy is maintained. downstairs I have to confess to having the best pizza I've had anywhere ... forest mushroom (better than Our Toronto favs like Teroni, Libretto, Gusto 101, Seven Entoneca ... and that's saying something!!!). special thanks to servers Jean (downstairs) and Pierrot (Les Labours). The hotel was really cool architecturally our room (in le Clos) had 14' ceilings and was very comfortable. Very cool swing chair interior area to lounge (and we did several times with a glass of wine). The self serve spa was also very serene and well presented - beautiful outdoor tub, steam room, quiet indoor room, very nice folks at the desk there. One unsung feature is the beautiful walking grounds and if you go on a nice day you'll be sure to make friends with the nearby goats. My summary view ... more like four star hotel with five star dining, don't agree with the three star rating.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ordongayisherfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    130
    53
    17
    4
See reviews for
117
270
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We had already visited Quebec City and had to kill time in this region, so got lucky finding Baie St Paul, and Hotel La Ferme.
The hotel is within an easy walk to the Main Street of Baie St Paul and all it's galleries, boutiques, restaurants and to the St Lawrence River.
Hotel La Ferme was extremely comfortable, friendly and relaxing. We're not spa people, so I can't comment on this. The hotel however is a mixture of industrial meets city chic. The food mostly grown within the hotel grounds, the linen and art is also regional, and the hotel is justifiably proud of this. We had a superior room which was large, well appointed and had been decorated in a modern unique style. The view from the room was across the hotel gardens, and paddocks to the St Lawrence.
The staff were genuinely friendly and eager to be helpful. I would definitely recommend Hotel La Ferme.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Freoroamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Stunning views, lots to see in town, the room where superb, the people at the reception very friendly.lots of nice photographs to take with you, with lovely memories of this wonderful place in Quebec.
Very modern rooms, loved the coloured keyed closets, the beds were really cozy and huge.The bathroom was excellent

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank viazaviaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights on our summer trip to the region and LOVED it. Original concept, well appointed rooms and nice walking distance to the "downtown" district where you'll find many quaint shops, restos and watering holes. Not sure if they always offer the live entertainment in the lobby of the main building (rooms are located in various other buildings that are easily accessed by car or short walks) but it was a nice touch! A little pricey but if you're not on a tight budget it is worth it overall, the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massif_de_Charlevoix, Directeur général at Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Google Translation
Merci Steve pour vos excellents commentaires et de prendre le temps de les partager avec nous. En effet, la distance séparant le Centre-Ville de Baie-Saint-Paul et l’Hôtel La Ferme permet de profiter d’une courte promenade et de découvrir les nombreux attraits du coin. À noter que notre traditionnel Marché Public du dimanche a débuté la semaine dernière jusqu’à la mi-octobre. Les activités sont toujours nombreuses à l’Hôtel La Ferme. Nous espérons que vous séjournerez à nouveau avec nous lors de votre prochain passage dans la région.

Cordialement,

Martin Lamothe, Directeur général de l'Hôtel La Ferme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is really nice but a little on the high price , the spa was expensive for what you have access , if you took the train it's really nice but way over price this is the main problem I think, if money is not a problem go for it ! Room are Nice and original has the hôtel good restaurant on site . Will i return ? Probably not cause it's too expensive but wort trying once...

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

There are growing numbers of quasi-boutique hotels that promise promise urbane comfort, super chilled style, sophisticated cuisine. Le Ferme actually achieves all of these things and more. In addition to be a great place to eat and sleep its gorgeus to look at – and to be in. Those who visited the better Club Med ski sites in Europe will see something familiar here; but only the very best CM’s would approach this (although Club Med Peisey-Vallandry comes close).

I am writing this review based on several stays at the hotel over past two New Year holidays. Although our main reason for visiting is skiing, we have visited this local in summer; there’s plenty to do in all seasons.

Le Ferme has it all a hip bar with an open kitchen, a first class dining room, artisanal cheese, slate fllors, ample parking and even its own train that delivers you to the Le Massif ski lifts. It is a design wonder; modern architecture built-out with surprising combination of natural materials and industrial hardware. If you like Dwell magazine you’re going to love Le Ferme; If you’re thinking of renovating in a modern style, bring your camera.

The hotel is located in Bai St Paul a small rural town (pop 10,000) about 100km north east of Quebec City. Despite its small size, Bai St Paul is a somewhat of an artist colony and has more than its share of decent restaurants, galleries etc. The Le Massif ski resort is about 40 minutes away by car, but why drive when you can take the hotel’s ultra-modern shuttle train right to the base of the lifts.

Bai St Paul is far enough north of both Quebec city and Mont Tremblant to be in a different weather zone; for skiers this can mean the difference between a week of snow and a week of rain esp over Christmas / New Year. A few years ago a new multi-lane highway was constructed making the trip from Quebec City much faster and safer than it was.

The hotel site is a complex of several structures: the main building has some accommodations but is mainly given over to the dining, the bar, administration etc. There are several separate buildings that are devoted to accommodation and one houses a spa complex. There is also an outdoor skating rink overlooked by both bar and dining room.

There are several different sized rooms some of which are quite small but surprisingly space efficient due to innovative storage arrangements (drawers under beds etc.) . The smalle less costly rooms have tub showers essentially in the room enclosed by a surrounding curtain, since the floors in these rooms are high quality wood material rather than carpet this worked out much better in practice than it sounds. All rooms are equipped with high quality multi-media entertainment centres featuring large screen televisions, IPOD plug-ins and reliable super high speed internet access.

You are in the real Quebec here; the staff are young friendly and energetic. They were casual style uniforms that are colour coded based on their job functions. Most - but no means all - hotel staff speak English. Around town you’re going to need some French. Although the society is distinctly French, we encountered no anti-Anglo attitudes at all. Face it: this is the closest you’re to get to Europe without flying over the Atlantic; it can be driven from Montreal in about 3.5 hrs, we did it from Toronto in just over 12.

Pros: Le Massiff ski resort. Not as big as St Anne or Tremblant, but over all a higher quality experience esp for a short trip (3 to 4 days). Less traffic, less people, better food easier to keep track of fiamily and friends.

European-style ski room: Right next to the train station. Individual lockers each with its own forced air drying racks for you boots and gloves.

The food is fantastic. Something for everyone from pizza to osso-bucco . The buffet breakfast is astounding.

The bar has a modern fireplace, cozy seating areas, wood oven pizza and superb wines for $8 / glass.

If you’re coming as a group many of the buildings have spacious common areas for gathering that are away from the main traffic areas of the hotel.

Cons: Not a great place for vegetarians. Menu is heavy on meat and game much of which is locally sourced. That said, the kitchen staff were generally more than happy to oblige modifications on request and there was always at least one meat-free pizza on offer.

As noted above, you are approaching the real north of Canada here and it can cold; if your’re skiing be prepared for -25 to -30 deg C which for most people means a face mask. If you’re driving make sure your vehicle has snow tires and a good battery. If you don’t like cold weather, go to consider Mexico.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BellwoodsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massif_de_Charlevoix, Directeur général at Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Bellwoods,

Thank you for taking time to share your great feedback of your recent stay at The Hôtel La Ferme and your loyalty to the Massif de Charlevoix. We are thrilled you enjoyed your several stays with us and it’s a pleasure to read that our colleagues provide you a great service. We will be sharing this feedback with them. We hope to welcoming you again for maybe your third New Year holidays at Hôtel La Ferme !

Sincerely,

Martin Lamothe General, manager of the Hôtel La Ferme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Generally I post to tripadvisor when I have a negative experience. This is the first post in response to a surprisingly positive experience.
The architecture was great. The only gripe was that a ski trip comes with a lot of baggage and there was little storage space in the room, save for one cabinet. We found ourselves tripping over our bags the whole time.
The food was great though in some instances bordered on expensive ($7 for two pancakes?).
The skating path was a pleasant amenity and the hot tub was fabulous (one of the best I've apres skied in).
And le massif was a fabulous mountain - just stunning skiing down towards the St Lawrence.
And I say all this despite the fact that I blew my knee out in the mountain! I'd love to come back and try again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank getmehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massif_de_Charlevoix, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for sharing your comments! It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed it despite you knee injury. We hope that you are already back on your feet!

We will gladly welcome you back,
Martin Lamothe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie-St-Paul
0.7 mi away
Auberge La Grande Maison
Auberge La Grande Maison
#3 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Baie Saint Paul
Hotel Baie Saint Paul
#5 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
21.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Motel des Cascades
Motel des Cascades
#2 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aux Portes du Soleil
Aux Portes du Soleil
#4 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Domaine Belle Plage
Le Domaine Belle Plage
#6 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix

Property: Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix
Address: 50, rue de la Ferme, Baie-St-Paul, Quebec G3Z 0G2, Canada (Formerly Hotel La Ferme)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Baie-St-Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Baie-St-Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Germain Hotel Charlevoix is a major cultural and social gathering place. On lively public squares, locals mingle guests hailing from all parts and staying at the hotel.Here the region's growers and producers display their savoir-faire with mouth-watering delicacies brimming forth from the Charlevoix's flavour-rich terroir. A multifunctional venue is set to welcome movie and show enthusiasts, while convention-goers and the corporate world are sure to be well taken care of in the projected ultramodern facilities. Hotel clients must pay $25 for acces to the Spa du Verger ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix Baie-St-Paul, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing