We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnifique !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A la Chouette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A la Chouette
Ranked #3 of 25 Baie-St-Paul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Magnifique !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at A La Chouette for 3 nights in the lovely town of Baie-St-Paul in the beautiful region of Charlevoix. It is only a short walk to the main street where all the restaurants and shops are.
Our room was big and more like a studio flat with a terrace. It has a big kitchen with all the facilities which is handy if you are tired of eating out and want to stay in and cook a meal.
Ginette and Francois are very welcoming and Ginette's breakfast are delicious! Every morning, breakfast was different and so tasty...we had fresh home made bread and jams, crepes with wild blueberries, all kind of eggs and locally produced cheeses...and of course lovely maple syrup!
The house itself is big and spotless. I think A La Chouette ticks all the boxes!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reminsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
78
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

As a non French speaker Jeanette made me feel welcome. Her breakfasts are amazing. She cares if you have a good holiday with great tips. You must stay. Great great place. Two minutes to walk to town for dinner!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sc0user
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for one night only but wished it was longer. As others have mentioned this is a clean property with extraordinarily friendly hosts. The location is perfect with only a short walk to the centre of town with all of the art and restaurants. The room was well equipped and the bed comfortable. The highlight had to be the breakfast with so many fresh and delicious provisions including real maple syrup and home made preserves. This B&B can only receive our highest rating. Stay with confidence; your enjoyment is guaranteed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sacul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed one night with my parents. We had a huge room with a balcony overlooking the beautiful garden. The hosts couldn't have been more kind and friendly. Since the B&B was not full and the only bathing facilities in our room was a tub in the room itself, we were invited to use the shower in an unoccupied room on the same floor. The house is beautifully decorated and immaculately maintained. A real highlight was the wonderful breakfast of homemade delights, which could be taken in the dining room or outside on the back terrace. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealYul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baie-St-Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix
Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix
#1 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Baie Saint Paul
Hotel Baie Saint Paul
#5 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge La Grande Maison
Auberge La Grande Maison
#3 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Motel des Cascades
Motel des Cascades
#2 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aux Portes du Soleil
Aux Portes du Soleil
#4 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gite Fleury
Gite Fleury
#1 of 25 in Baie-St-Paul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A la Chouette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A la Chouette

Property: A la Chouette
Address: 2, rue Leblanc, Baie-St-Paul, Quebec G3Z 1W9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Baie-St-Paul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Baie-St-Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A la Chouette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Rooms bed and breakfast + a loft ( rent without breakfast). Certified Terroir et Saveurs for the development of local products in the breakfast. Nominated 7 times for the quality of reception. Centennial vast and beautiful, recently renovated, the house combines refinement and warm character. Our priorities include space, light and comfort: VERY LARGE ROOMS ( family rooms available, up to 5 people),LARGE WINDOWS, king or queen beds, private bathrooms, many with tubs. Terraces, garden, lounge and KITCHEN AVAILABLE ( we only use it for breakfast). Antique furniture, piano, library,free Wifi. Pampered location between city, river and countryside. The RESTAURANTS, beach and river ARE WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE. Possibility to book the whole house (up to 20 people). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your A la Chouette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A La Chouette Baie-St-Paul, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing