We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Domaine Belle Plage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Domaine Belle Plage
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Baie-St-Paul
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked this motel because my mother went there a couple of years ago. She told me the room was small but clean and nice. When we arrived, the receptionist kept telling us how nice was our room. She told us it was overlooking the garden, that the floor was beautiful. Honestly, I didn't really knew why she was being so overly enthusiastic about the room. We had to pay before getting our keys.
First of all, Le Domaine Belle Plage has 2 buildings. The other one is named Le Cormoran. We were placed in this other building, although we had booked at La Belle Plage. We looked for the room for quite some time to finally find it just next to the kitchen, not overlooking any garden. It was in fact overlooking a pool. It was so close to the pool that I could hear everything people were saying while swimming. The cleaning lady was still in the room talking to a man. The room was VERY small and it smelled bad. We tried to open the window but it couldn't lock in position. We went back to the reception to complain and we asked to get another room. The receptionist told us the only available room was a basement single room (??). She then called the owner who told us we couldn't get a refund and that we wouldn't find anything else in the village since we were in the summer. So we had to stay there.
At the end of the day, the room was very clean and we only slept there for 1 night. However, it was very close to some kind of living room and we heard people talking until 11:30 p.m. The whole property smelled musty. We did not like how the situation was handled by the receptionist and the owner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ariane_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielL661, Owner at Le Domaine Belle Plage, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Mrs Ariane_89,
Thank you for your review, sorry that your experience wasn't like you had expected. I have heard about that and Judy who is a new employee had made a few error. The first and the bigest is to have gave you your room before the check in time that is 15:30. At 11:30am no rooms can be ready because the last guest just have leaving their room. The other one is to have made a personal review of the room. It's because she like this room! But we don't want that the employee make their personal impression, we prefer that our guests make their own choice without any influence. Not all the people like the same thing. It's shure that the best room position in our buildings are on the Saint-Lawrence river or on the river not all the room can have that view but the rooms without water view are less expensive in the same category. Many choice are availables. (Larger, smaller, cheaper, and more expensive). You have made your reservation the night just before your arrival, in this busy period I suggest you to make it more in advance if you can for having more room's choices. It's sure also that if you open the room's window you will hear what's happens outside but is it not better to hear people to have fun than the truck and car traffic downtown? The room also have a recent quiet and efficient air conditioning to give you the peace inside your room with the window closed. Your mother liked her stay I am sure you could also like it. May be can we be better in helping you in your room's choice the next time?!.
Daniel Langlois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    35
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
18
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This motel/inn in Baie St. Paul is located about a mile from downtown, on a smal inlet of the St. Lawrence. Very nice location and offers a pleasant walk to and from downtown along a neighborhood street. It is an old-fashioned motel/inn combination property housed between 3 properties. We opted for a smaller room and regret that. The bathroom was very small. This room is fine for 1 person, but not for a couple. The building we stayed in was renovated a couple of years ago and does provide a common area on the lower level - kitchen if you want to bring in some takeout or need wine glasses (that was a nice perk) and a sitting room. The breakfast was excellent with many hot and cold options. Served buffet style in a large dining room overlooking the inlet. Everyone was very pleasant; we are from the states and were touring on our motorcycle. After being just outside Quebec City, we wanted to explore the coastline and chose Baie St. Paul as our base for 2 nights. We noticed less English spoken as we travelled out of the Quebec City area. We faired out fine, though. I would definitely recommend choosing a larger room/price point. And be warned that the streets in downtown are all dug up/mid-construction - they are undergoing an upgrade to their utility infrastructure (our dates were 6/22 to 6/24) and the workers were on strike. Not sure how long this project will take.

Room Tip: Study the website photos and descriptions carefully and call the property if you have questions prio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielL661, Owner at Le Domaine Belle Plage, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you "vtgirl56" for your review, and for the good tips for a best booking experience. We have many rooms choices and if you have questions and want to be sure for your room's choice we are there to give you more information.

Daniel Langlois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I just spent one night in this wonderful auberge. I highly recommend it. The room was very clean and breakfast was generous. Located by the water, it must be marvelous in summer. The hosts were very nice and accommodating. We had shampoo and soap and just needed to ask for the hair dryer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielL661, Owner at Le Domaine Belle Plage, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Diane, thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you have had experience a good stay at our Hotel and thank you for all the the beautiful things you have writed.

Daniel Langlois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I went to "le domaine Belle Plage" with my Montreal outdoors club. The driving weather was horrible, but we were well welcomed when we arrived! The rooms were standard, but clean and most had a fridge. There was soap and towels, but no shampoo or hair-dryer, so bring your own. The food there was delicious and the service very curtious!
This Inn is situated beside the river, which I'm sure is beautiful in the summer (just a lot of broken ice in the winter!). We went to two cross-country ski places nearby and were very impressed with the groomed trails and nice warming huts!
Baie-Saint-Paul is so pretty in the winter - will definitely plan a return trip there!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lacadienneOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We very much recommend this place. It's a beautiful old house, decorated with taste. It's owners are warm and charming people. It's location is perfect - close to downtown Baie Saint-Paul, but just far enough so you can enjoy peace and quiet. The view from there is awsome - waterfront, mountains, you have it all. And the price is very reasonnable. We'll certainly return next year.

Room Tip: We had the what they call the "small room", with a view on the water. Less expensive and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

I was there for two nights and I am recommending this place. Everything corresponded to my expectations. I wanted equilibrium between activities and resting. Everything was there. Great walk on the beach, the sky, the river, peaceful, calm, action and astonishing view. At The Domaine you can stay outside and enjoy yourself on the propriety, watch the Marina, walk to the peer in few minutes, etc. the building is well preserved and the inside decoration is relaxing. It was a great surprise and discovery. I do not know other places in the area where you have access to all of that during your stay. There is even a pool!
Should you prefer to go out, you can go on the main street by walking and fine nice places. However the food at the Domaine was a very good quality/price ratio. Everyday we took breakfast over there at the buffet. What can you expect in addition to that?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joelle_QC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

Terrible. Do not, under any circumstances, go to this motel.

I found an exposed needle on the floor next to my bed. Almost stepped on it with my bare feet in the morning. God knows if it was used and by whom.

When I showed the needle to the manager, he said it it wasn't a big deal and that he'll just show it to the housecleaning staff. He said it was from an Epipen (like he's a specialist). I checked online and it was a lancet (for diabetes).

He refused to give me the needle back though. If it's not a big deal, why was he afraid to give it back?

Oh, and we also were missing a towel when we moved in late in the evening and the door wouldn't lock.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baie-St-Paul hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix
Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix
#1 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Baie Saint Paul
Hotel Baie Saint Paul
#5 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge La Grande Maison
Auberge La Grande Maison
#3 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aux Portes du Soleil
Aux Portes du Soleil
#4 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel des Cascades
Motel des Cascades
#2 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge la Maison Otis
Auberge la Maison Otis
#7 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine Belle Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine Belle Plage

Property: Le Domaine Belle Plage
Address: 192 rue sainte-Anne,, Baie-St-Paul, Quebec G3Z 1P8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Baie-St-Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Baie-St-Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Domaine Belle Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Le Domaine Belle Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine Belle Plage Baie-St-Paul, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing