We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Once Again”
Review of Auberge La Muse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge La Muse
Ranked #5 of 25 Baie-St-Paul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at this lovely Bed and Breakfast Auberge and once again we had a delightful experience. The owner, Evelyn and her staff always are friendly and accommodating. This was the 6th consecutive year that our group of 20+ skiers have taken over the entire house for several days of skiing at nearby LeMassif Ski Mountain. My husband and I have stayed in all 3 of the newer rooms upstairs above the restaurant, which are larger than some of the rooms in the main part of the house. The entire facility is clean and well maintained and has a cozy, comfortable feel. The meals in the restaurant are delicious and hearty and certainly the menu is varied with several dinner specials and a good wine list. The breakfast menu has delicious raisin bread french toast, and eggs benedict besides the regular breakfast choices of eggs and sides....the healthy bowl of yougurt and fruit can easily be shared by two! It is located on the main street of Baie St. Paul which has many art galleries and boutiques to browse through after a day of skiing. We have enjoyed staying here so much our group has already rebooked for next year!

Room Tip: Rooms 12, 14, 15 are larger and newer and 15 has a whirlpool bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okemospike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 225 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

We found the La Muse "dinner, bed and breakfast" package somewhat overpriced given the quality of our dinner, which failed to meet the high standard of our previous night at Le Canard Huppe in Ile D'Orleans. However, the location in the centre of town was ideal, our room was nice, and the service was congenial. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This review is for the restaurant section only. My wife and I visited at the end of July for a Saturday evening meal. The other restos in the area were jammed and had waiting lines. Here we were 1st in line waiting(only 5 minutes and we were seated). We had a nice table in the outdoor covered porch. Our server took 5 minutes to just get to us and offer menus and water.
Another 10 minutes before we could even order wine and appetizer.
I chose a Cab/Merlot mix called Arrogant Frog Ribet Red(French red wine$34-lovely). The appetizer(Terrine Foie gras$20) arrived with 4 skimpy slices of French bread, some apple chutney, red onion puree and a sprig of greenery- the pate portion was 4 generous slices). No bread basket arrived until I mentioned it twice that it's missing from a meal service like this!
Main course entrees were Pintade au miel(Seafood skewer-jumbo shrimp and scallops$27) for my wife and I chose The Omble Fontaine( Brook trout poached with mushroom and shrimp sauce$23). Both served with rice and side veggies( average taste at best). The entrees were however tasty and well presented.
We finished off with a shared Arcane chocolate mousse cake$11 which was delicious.
The 2 hours we devoted there was typical for a supper meal of this nature.

Total meal cost was $132 taxes in (reasonable ,I suppose) but the service left a bad taste for the experience.
An above average place and meal got downgraded by poor service.
We wont be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twowheelfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our room was small & clean. When we checked in, they talked us into buying a coupon for the breakfast ($10.00 each). Well, when we arrived at the restaurant the next morning, we were greeted by a server that was not in a good mood because she was the only one working and it was fairly busy in the restaurant. She didn't seem happy as she told us to find a clean table. We sat there for about 10 minutes ... the server totally ignored us, never said "I'll be with you in a moment". Finally, another waitress arrived. I waved to her and asked her if she could bring us a coffee as we'd been there for a while. As she went to get our coffee, the "not too happy" server told her that we were not "a priority" so we didn't get our coffee until 20 minutes after sitting down (I'm not exaggerating). We were about to leave and demand a refund when she finally brought us coffee and took our order. We ordered juice, water and our breakfast. We never got our juice or water and had to try & get her attention when we wanted a coffee refill. The food was just ok. That was the worst service we've ever had. As we were leaving (she had already collected our coupon for the breakfast), the stressed-out/rude waitress had the nerve to stop us and demand a tip by saying "did you put the tip on the table or are you adding it to the room?" She was shocked when I said "a tip is given when the service is good, correct?" She said "yes". So, we just left and she yelled "thank you very much madame".

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baboone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Right on the main street, great spot if you go to l'lle aux coudres for the day. Rooms are quaint good size. Breakfast is optionnal but worth it. You hope for good weather because the small 13 inch tv wont keep you occupied Especially if you have the room with 1 single and 1 double bed. I definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank db0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My wife & I could not have enjoyed our time more! The owners are wonderful! Everything has been updated beautifully, and the new restaurant is amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

This a rather pretentious inn. We chose it, thinking it was a quiet location in the centre of the village. What we didn't realise was that a busy main road runs not far from the rear of the hotel, with noisy traffic running past all night. The noise problem was magnified by the garbage collection vehicle, zig-zagging around the village, from 2.30 AM to 10.30 AM, peeping its horn at every stop and reverse. Unfortunately, the sound insulation in the extension roons appears to be non-existent.

At breakfast, the service was slow and surly. Incredibly, as we left the restaurant, the waitress scuttled across to ask us to sign for a tip! We refused, but noticed it had been added to our VISA payment, in our absence, without our authorisation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devonian1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baie-St-Paul hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Le Germain Charlevoix
0.2 mi away
Auberge La Grande Maison
Auberge La Grande Maison
#3 of 8 in Baie-St-Paul
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Baie Saint Paul
Hotel Baie Saint Paul
#5 of 8 in Baie-St-Paul
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aux Portes du Soleil
Aux Portes du Soleil
#4 of 8 in Baie-St-Paul
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gite TerreCiel
Gite TerreCiel
#2 of 25 in Baie-St-Paul
263 reviews
5.9 mi away
Auberge Carpe Diem
Auberge Carpe Diem
#13 of 25 in Baie-St-Paul
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Muse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Muse

Address: 39 rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste, Baie-St-Paul, Quebec G3Z 1M3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Baie-St-Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Baie-St-Paul
Price Range: $123 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge La Muse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming inn in the picturesque town of Baie-Saint-Paul. 12 rooms different categories. Package with dinner and breakfast, train excursion, whale watching, ski, concert. The meals are served at pleasant and modern Eco bistro Chez Bouquet. Fine cuisine with local food, fireplace and sunroom. Nearby the boutiques and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge La Muse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge La Muse Baie-St-Paul, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing