We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We do love Luau and we come back every year...”
Review of Luau Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wasaga Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luau Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wasaga Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We have spent 2 weeks in July at Luau for the past 7 years... would not stay anywhere else... Luau has immaculately clean rooms, a good variety of accommodation, really pleasant and helpful staff, and owners who care about the well-being of their guests... the grounds are extremely well kept with beautiful flower baskets everywhere and a great lawn area... the pool is clean, warm and attractive with plexiglass walls allowing you to see your surroundings... and the beach is a very short walk away... we thoroughly enjoy our stay each year and always feel very welcome and at home... absolutely the best place to stay in Wasaga Beach!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 158 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2011

We like the cleanliness, great location, walking distance to the beach, well designed and good air circulation. The room also had a TV and DVD player which was nice. But still we will not come back nor recommend this place to anyone. They were very cheap on toiletries, there were shapmpoo but no conditioner, cheap soap, no lotions. The bed was not comfortable The lady in the front was extremely rude, we expressed our interest to come back and stay with our 6 years old daughter and asked few questions about booking in advace but she sounded as if she did not want us to come back. We did some more reaseach in the area and found this place was expensive for what you get, there are better places for same price. We will never go back

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linma17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

The most horrible customer service I have ever encountered! The lady is downright rude and nasty. Even though the rooms are clean and the grounds well kept, I would never stay again and would definitely advise you to stay anywhere else if you want to have an ounce of fun. Owner watches you like a hawk to ensure you are miserable!

Room Tip: To have a good trip, DON
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cherry154980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I was a single father with two young daughters and stayed at Luau for one week stays for 10 years in a row! Best summer memories for my daughters and myself! Beautiful property,great location,very safe and family oriented,clean rooms and very nice staff and owners! Still go to Wasaga a few times a summer and go by Luau, hasn't changed,still best Motel there. You can't stay at a nicer place in Wasaga,expensive but worth every dollar!
Thanks for the memories!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

After we went to the Dyconia resort, which was awful, we found this amazing motel. The rooms are really clean and the location is great, since it is less than five minutes to the beach. The only thing that wasn't good is that my brother who came visit us some time, needed to pay to enter in the motel and for the parking and it was expensive. But other than that, nothing to say, Beautiful flowers everywhere on the site, a nice pool and a barbecue!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francescara7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We just got home from our yearly summer vacation at the Luau Resort and had such a wonderful time that we have booked another stay at the end of this month. As always, the owners were wonderful and our room was immaculate! Our 2 kids (9 and 14) truly enjoy coming up to this resort every summer - the grounds are absolutely beautiful, the pool is very clean and heated (facing the river) and there are lots of activities to keep them busy (badminton, ping pong, shuffle board, etc.). We know they are very safe at this resort, which allows us to relax as a family. We look forward to our next visit at the end of this month, where I know we will have a wonderful time again! Thanks Monique, Nick and the Luau team for always making our stay so amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacation36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

The Luau is close to the beach..about 6 min. walk. Very clean rooms and very friendly staff. Nice pool! The only bad thing I can say is it is very expensive. I wish the hotel would offer a better price but I have to say you get what you pay for because this place is worth the extra money if cleanliness is what you are looking for. Also, nice for kids as there is a nice playground for the kids and the staff are so nice! It is rather noisy by the road as it is a busy traffic section driving through all day and night. There is air conditioning, plenty of hot water but you do have to get your own charcoal if you want to roast hot dogs on the grill (which is a bit ridiculous considering the price you are paying for accommodations) There is a Walmart down the road but they are out of charcoal and do not take the Discover Card. So far we only went to KFC for dinner and that was really expensive and they offer NO exchange rate for us $$$$. Also, the Walmart has no deli so you can not buy fresh cold cuts.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triciaub13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasaga Beach
14.2 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
11.8 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
10.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Saga Resort
Saga Resort
#2 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#5 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Nova Motel Resort
Villa Nova Motel Resort
#6 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luau Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luau Resort

Address: 231 Mosley St | P.O. Box 280, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 2K1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Wasaga Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wasaga Beach
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Luau Hotel Wasaga Beach
Luau Resort Wasaga Beach, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing