We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique steak on a stone”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barcelos

Barcelos
Ranked #14 of 67 Restaurants in Wasaga Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Portuguese, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Barcelos original Steak and Seafood Restaurant in Wasaga Beach. Open all year round, with an 80 seat patio in the summer for your dinning pleasure
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unique steak on a stone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

What a hidden gem. Fantastic dining with friends. The steak on a stone is an incredible invention. I like my steak medium rare but I also like my food hot. I can have both with the steak on a stone. I wish all restaurants had this option and I wish I had my own stone for steak at home.
My companions meals were also good..
I'm not sure why this place is only ranked #8 out of 47. I would rank it #1 in any location.
I hope to return again and again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    18
    11
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exquisite steak on a stone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

What a great little place. Eaten there many times and was never disappointed with the food and service. You get what you pay for!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 44Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I went for dinner because Barcelos was highly recommended. They did not disappoint!! The atmosphere was fantastic & the food was absolutely amazing. A must visit when in the area!! We will definitely be back!!!

Helpful?
Thank Phelps84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't go if it too busy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We went to Barcelos every chance we got, until recently. The restaurant was full inside and out. The wait staff was stressed and actually arguing while serving customers. We ordered our food and very careful because one of us had a shrimp alergy. I was very worried as they were stressed and it showed. I expressed my concern about them putting shrimp in my order. The waitress said "don't worry the chef knows". I had my salad and it was not the usual great taste. Well if you could imagine my horror when I received my main dish and there was shrimp in it. She appologized and asked if i wanted to order something else. I wasn't taking a chance. The waitress said don't worry there is no charge. We are not going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Getfact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My girl friend and I just returned from Barcelos from what was to be an intimate birthday dinner but to our surprise it was far from it. The water I requested was $7.00 a bottle and the pricing on the menu was a little misleading with everything being alacarte The meal I ordered (rib eye steak with shrimp) was extremely fatty and the shrimp was not deveined so this was mentioned to the staff and that's when things got interesting. Apparently issues with the food are not welcome as we were shunned the rest of the evening and basically given the "bums rush"with no thank you for spending approx. $200.00 Would not recommend and would actually advise all to stay away
Rude staff, poor food and over priced

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelos also viewed

 

Been to Barcelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing