We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Getaway”

Wasaga Beach Provincial Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Getaway”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great freshwater beach with shopping available for beachwear and beach products. Restaurants and bars are right on the beach. The public facilities could be improved though.
This is a great family spot.

Visited July 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    149
    59
    17
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Right by My House”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is known as Beach 3 and is only about 3 minutes walk from my house. It is just part of the 'longest fresh water beach in the world'. Wasaga Beach is well known for it sandy beaches and shallow waters. As the town is only about 2 hours drive north of Toronto, it is a very popular family getaway. The beaches are well maintained and groomed on a regular basis by the Parks Department.

Visited July 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“World's longest fresh water beach.....”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

You will really enjoy the almost 20 kilometers of white sand beach, along with the 5 provincial day parks that are located there. Lot's of fun and great for little ones as it is shallow for probably 50 yards or so until the water gets deeper.You do have to pay to park your car in the provincial park, but that is all you pay for. I live at Wasaga Beach and it feels like I am always on vacation!

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“For a whole day it is worth the money, but...”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you are planning more than 3 hours at the beach, the park is great. If not, I would save the $20-24 and walk in from a different parking lot nearby. Actually, it is a whole system of beach parks, ranging from beach one to beach six. Beach one has beautiful dunes and a boardwalk system, here, though, I would park in the much more reasonably priced municipal parking lot near the main beach area. This beach is frequented mostly by the young crowd due to its proximity to the bars and shops. Beach 2 usually gets the overflow when beach 1 is full. Beach 3 get quieter, as does beach 4. Beach 5 is known as the family beach, it has beautiful treed picnic areas and a nice playground. Beach 6 is known as the local beach, it forms the end of the 18km stretch of beach. Beach 1-5 are groomed and cleaned every morning, but if they run out of time, beach one does sometimes get missed. Also, beware of "off-shore winds". As the water is very shallow for quite far out, people underestimate the dangers here. When the wind comes from shore, it creates dangerous currents that push people out onto the open lake, so take especially good watch over your children or non-swimmers. Recently they also put in a whole section of disabled-friendly access to the beach, I believe it is near beach 2-3.

Visited July 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overrated and over hyped”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Where do I begin. Parking is hard to get and they charge you 10$ for the day. You better get there early or its really hard to get a decent spot on the beach. Its crowded and it seems like people come to the beach these days with everything but the kitchen sink. The body of water is the Georgian Bay and it was cold in August. This combined with the wind made it almost unbearable to take a dip in the water. the place is also become very commercial. There are big chain stores as well as hawkers selling everything from sunglasses to crocs. I guess for us Canadians we should be thankful we even have a beach. That being said if you really want a beach experience I would rather go to a more secluded area at a warmer place.

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasaga Beach Provincial Park also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing