We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“2 night family getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saga Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saga Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wasaga Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“2 night family getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Excellent facilities, 2 minute walk to beach 1, clean and comfortable furnishings, would highly recommend for families, couples, singles - all.
We chose this resort over a cottage this year, so glad we did, would return for sure, our teenagers loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in a mini condo, would book again
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    35
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
68
30
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I fell in love with Wasaga Beach and the Saga Resort has a big role to play in that. Our jacuzzi suite was VERY clean and the A/C was blazing away when we walked in. We had mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary and were touched to see a little note and a Lindt chocolate bar left out for us when we arrived.
The resort is just a few minutes' walk to Beach 1 as well as a ten-minute walk to a plaza with a Tim Horton's, Walmart and various chain restaurants. You can get away with just parking your car and not getting back into it until it's time to head home.
Wasaga has a reputation as a party town, but I would say the majority of people on the beach were families with little kids and adults with no kids.
On our first night returning to the motel, we were surprised to see a security guard standing in our parking lot. She said that a lot of family resorts have security guards until 6 am on weekends to ensure that no drunken teenagers cause disturbances to the guests. We appreciate that such steps were taken to ensure our safety and comfort.
There were also lots of bbqs and the resort provides you propane if you want to bbq your own meals, and there was a heated pool and two jacuzzi tubs in addition to a huge fire pit.

The only downsides were because of its fantastic location, you do sometimes hear the kids partying late at night as you are right across the street from a convenience store and some lower-priced rental units. The room also does provide WIFI, but it was very inconsistent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 452Miriamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! WASAGA WONDERLAND AT SAGA RESORT! No wonder it's Number One on TripAdvisor!”
Hello to Nancy & Bruce, it's James & Erin! (Nancy & Bruce are the owners & management of Saga Resort). Upon arrival it's evident that they take 100% pride in their property, and aim to take 100% care of their guests! It's no wonder that they hold the Number One spot here on TripAdvisor! We stayed in cottage 38 and it was great and absolutely immaculate! We had a Queen bed, with single in the other room, TV, full kitchen, appliances, utensils and supplies.We also had a picnic table and barbeque right outside our front door. You get a continental breakfast daily which consists of coffee, tea, orange juice, fruit, granola bars, toast, muffins, joe louis, flaky, cookies etc. They also have an ice cream night, hot dog night, and marshmallow/bonfire night. We visited the fire pit nightly to have our own campfire too. LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION... 3 minutes total to walk to the beach...(literally a 2 minute stroll to the river, and then over the bridge for another 1 minute stroll) and there it is...the cleanest and largest fresh water beach in the entire world...Wasaga Beach!
Our Saga Resort visit "made" our Summer amazing! We will be back! Thanks Nancy and Bruce!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Saga Resort is great for a family vacation. We stayed in a 3 bedroom cottage - it's small and a bit dated but it was clean. All the cottages are close and my kids loved playing with the other kids and being able to go to the playground. The playground is back behind the cottages so I didn't have to worry about them being too close to a road or cars. The heated pool was great and even warm enough for myself to get in. The staff was great and the Kidz Club had different activities my children enjoyed. We also traveled with teenagers who loved the pool. The beach is also really close. It was a really nice, easy, relaxing holiday as my children loved it there. I would go back. I also liked that they picked up recycling everyday and had lots of garbage pails around that were also emptied daily. My only compliant would be the wi-fi wasn't that great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

.saga resort rocks for family vacation. the place is super clean. we stayed 7 nights (cottage 37 two rooms) we were two adults and two teenagers, was beautiful. my girls love the heated pool. staff was very helpful and so nice. walking distance to the beach area (3minutes).Nancy two thumbs up, great job. cottages area were so quiet. thank you and we are coming back..... Anita with family.

Room Tip: heated pool, kids club, super clean, walking distance to the beach, love it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night. Two adults and two kids in a hotel room with 2 queen beds. The room was serviceable with a nice little kitchenette (which we didn't need). The beds were very uncomfortable and none of us could sleep! The air conditioner was too loud to run at night!
Also, the "light" breakfast was a joke! We had to go to a restaurant to get real food.
Good location tho...close to beach area.
Felt price was too high for room, but then again it is a beach town.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 3 day getaway at the Saga Resort. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite - we travel a lot and this was comparable to the 5 star rooms we've stayed down south. Beautiful layout, spotlessly clean etc. the pool is perfect temp and the fire-pit was wonderful to end the day at the beach a 3 min walk away. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Honeymoon Suite - same price as the other rooms with Jacuzzi's but completely differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasaga Beach
11.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 11 in Collingwood
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
6.3 mi away
Wasaga Motel
Wasaga Motel
#3 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wasaga Riverdocks Suites Inc
Wasaga Riverdocks Suites Inc
#7 of 15 in Wasaga Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Nova Motel Resort
Villa Nova Motel Resort
#6 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angels Wasaga Inn
Angels Wasaga Inn
#4 of 15 in Wasaga Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Resort

Property: Saga Resort
Address: 88 Main St, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 2K9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Wasaga Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wasaga Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Saga Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Hotel Wasaga Beach
Saga Resort Wasaga Beach, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing