We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand house with great hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Clockmakers Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Windsor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I recently spent the weekend at the Clockmaker for a "girls' weekend" and was very happy with my stay. The house and grounds are truly beautiful; the rooms are decorated in keeping with the period of the house but in a way that makes them inviting and usable for guests as well. We loved the back porch with all the rocking chairs and the sitting area on the second floor. Breakfasts were delicious and just the right amount. The family who own and run the Inn were attentive without being intrusive and we appreciated their relaxed, casual style. Some of our group in another room had an issue with their air conditioning, which made for hot sleeping conditions one night, but the owners dealt with this inconvenience very fairly. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend in Windsor and would highly recommend The Clockmaker Inn.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank TeamScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

we stayed one night in the clockmakers inn and enjoyed it tremendously. the house is beautiful and we spent a lot of time walking there and exploring the treasures in it. it looks like and old country palace, impressive inside and outside with ancient gadgets like old gramophones, ancient telephones, luxurious staircase, beautiful vitrages etc. each room is a masterpiece, spacious and beautifully decorated. the staff attitude was superb and we really enjoyed our stay there. do not miss it when you are in the area...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yehuda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A big thank you to Sarah for a lovely stay. The place is simply amazing, full of history. You feel extremely welcome. Breakfast awesome.
Very clean room and bathroom. Free wifi.
Discount at the local pub (same owners) - live music on Saturday night.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank hannah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Absolutely spectacular. And I had no idea this place was here until now!

I booked an anniversary week-end on the spur of the moment, based on the recommendation of a road-tripping friend who had been there a week prior via arrangements made by his employer. The pictures he posted were enough to get us curious about this venue so unexpectedly close to the city, and we are eternally glad we made the decision to check it out.

The owners are enormously friendly. We stayed on the weekend, and were met by the family members who live next door in the carriage house, (FYI, the owner has a rather unique sense of humor, which adds to the character of the house. It's definitely an entertaining time.) He's quite the antique aficionado, and you'll get the opportunity to see many interesting pieces scattered throughout the house, many of which he can speak to at length. We also stayed in the King's suite, and since it was off-season and near mid-week, we were also essentially given the run of the house to explore as we wished. The King's itself is incredibly spacious, and in addition to the hot tub, has an excellent en suite bathroom, with a rain-style shower head and multiple sinks, etc. The bed is enormously comfy, and scattered throughout the house are an interesting collection of books of all sorts - making a treasure hunt in itself. The other rooms in the house -which we were able to thoroughly explore, are all very well fitted, and quite nice. Wherever you stay when you book here, you will end up with a nice room. There are also lots of other rooms to explore, (games, entertainment, business, dining, etc.) with the arrangement being that - unlike other B&Bs, you are not sharing the house with the owner. He believes that you can have a better experience without worrying about tripping over the homeowner's slippers, pets, etc. if they remain discreetly off-site, yet nearby, and I believe he is correct. There is also a hot tub and pool area, which we were unable to check out because of the weather. (Next time, for sure.)

Breakfast, was, in a word, delicious. I've posted a picture, but the photo doesn't do the experience justice. Delicious homemade blueberry jam and the fluffiest pancakes I have ever eaten - and I've eaten a lot of pancakes over the years- rounded out an elegant breakfast in one of 2 dining rooms. After breakfast, it should also be mentioned that checkout times are about the same as any other place, but you are free to stay and enjoy the grounds for a while afterwards.

This is simply one of the best places I have stayed in this province. If you are looking for a quick night away from Halifax, are planning a wedding, or just looking for somewhere stately to stay in the valley, strongly consider the Clockmaker's Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlawrence3814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This place is fantastic! By far the best place to stay in Windsor. All of the rooms have been lovingly updated with crisp, modern colours and fixtures, yet the place remains cozy and intimate. It's the perfect balance and the owners go out of their way to ensure you feel right at home there. Whether it's a girls' weekend away, or a romantic mini-break from the bustle of the city -- the Clockmakers Inn is just right.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at the Clockmakers Inn to attend a wedding over the weekend. This idyllic place is set in beautiful surroundings. I was amazed by the kindness and generosity of the owners and their staff, they did everything they could to make my stay enjoyable. Hard to believe I had never met them before, I really felt like a valued guest and not just a customer.
My bedroom, the Sam Slick room, was spacious, light and spotless, but it did not have an adjoining bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and I appreciated the air conditioning on those very hot days.
I highly recommend it. You won’t want to leave!

Room Tip: A room with air conditioning is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

For the past five years, we have been repeat guests at this fabulous Victorian inn averaging about 5 visits per year. It's been my intention to submit a review for quite some time and I'm finally getting to it! The Dunhams & Arthurs have lovingly transformed this former sea captain's son's home into a beautiful vintage inn full of antiques and unique artefacts from the era. From the moment we first stepped into the inn, we were delightfully impressed with its charm and beauty. Breakfast is a delectable delight; if you're having trouble making a choice, pick the French toast breakfast. You won't be disappointed! As lovely as the inn is, however, it is the intergenerational family who operate it that keeps us coming back. They are warm, welcoming and take excellent care of their guests. We wouldn't think of staying any other place and plan our Valley visits around availability at the inn. When you arrive as guests, it is a given you will leave as friends!

Room Tip: The Windsor, 2nd floor is a favorite of ours - a delightful, sunny room in the morning. Our favorit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Clockmakers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clockmakers Inn

Address: 1399 King St. | P.O. Box 3671, Windsor, Nova Scotia B0N 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range: $60 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clockmakers Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Victorian mansion with 4 rooms and 4 suites all with ensuite private baths. Suites have air jet tubs, fireplaces, flat panel cable T.V.'s, kitchenettes and pillow top mattresses. The house is decorated with antique furnishings and the entire property is designated for guest use. Full breakfast from our menu is included. Wireless internet and long distance phone calls within North America included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Clockmakers Inn Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing