We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

Uncle Jakes Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 51 Restaurants in Steinbach
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Went for Breakfast on a Saturday. Eggs Sausage and Toast were of average quality if you were paying $4 but at $8 I expected more. Note that the coupon in the Entertainment Book does not apply to the $6 breakfast special and you are charged the full $8 price. Coffee service comes with the breakfast but the coffee tastes bad and water is the better choice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Steinbach
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient lication and good home cooking!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Good food. It's in the Clearspring Mall. So, if you're out shopping and want some non-fast food but a quick meal this is a great choice. The food is made to order. They usually have a daily special. They have soup, breakfast and great sandwiches. Check it out. It's cafeteria style. Take a tray, choose your drink, order your meal, take your number, pay, sit down. They bring your food right to your table. Coffee refill is free.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Manitoba
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Poor Quality Fast Food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The restaurant is located in the Clearspring Mall in Steinbach. Meals are fried, greasy and thrown together with little care. For example, there is more batter than there is fish inside the deep fried batter. There are no free refills on drinks. Staff appear unhappy to be there and are not challenged by the very limited menu - not a great place to have a meal but okay for a cup of coffee while shopping.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I HAVE BEEN HERE MANY TIME THREW THE YRS”
Reviewed March 16, 2013


I AM NOT A HIGH END KIND OF REST KIND OF PERSON AND MOST PEOPLE ARE NOT EITHER.JUST BECAUSE IT COSTS A LOT DOES NOT MEAN YOU GET A LOT of FOOD. OR GOOD FOOD AND GOOD SERVICE.

As I said I have been here many times over the yrs. When Iv been in town. Im sorry to say that over the last yr.or so. It has not been that great.

1.First I have to say They still have and always have had some of the best Home made soups I have ever had. There home made chicken and noodle soup with home made noodles is to die for.

2. In fact it is not so much the quality of the food as to the amount you get and the price you pay for the less you get.

3.When you order a meal and they bring it to your table it looks like a lot until you look at the size of plate its on it is the size you would use at home for a child. And evry ounce in awhile they seem to get smaller As I said its is not the quality as the quanity.
It is sad as that this res. has been on my fav list for a long time. And a lot of others also.

4.This could be why it is no where as bizzy as b4 just guessing.

AS THAT QUNITY AS WELL AS QUALITY ARE JUST AS IMPORTANT TO PEOPLE I CAN ONLY

GIVE IT < 3 > OUT OF SIX WHEELS SAVE THE RUBBER






Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 6wheelcridic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Mall Location”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The best thing about this restaurant is it's mall location. Food and service is average. Menu is soup, sandwiches, burgers, and all is tasty but not out of the ordinary.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 220pinkflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Jakes Restaurant also viewed

 
Steinbach, Manitoba
 

Been to Uncle Jakes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing