We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Take out!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicken Chef

Chicken Chef
Ranked #30 of 50 Restaurants in Steinbach
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Take out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We mostly get take out from Chicken Chef in Steinbach. Their chicken is fantastic. Their gravy is the best in town. It's fantastic that they now have delivery! My husband really enjoys their pizza (I'm not a big pizza eater myself).

We do occasionally eat in the restaurant, and mostly it's been for lunch. Their chicken snack dishes are good. A decent amount of food for a lower price. My husband also LOVES their chicken lasagna for lunch. Very tasty.

For supper, however, we have not been so fortunate. My husband once ordered perogies and they came out in a pool of water. During the same visit, my gravy was so runny, it was basically just colored water. We complained but were basically told to suck it up. I emailed the owner, and he did reply that he was sorry that we hadn't enjoyed our stay, but he also didn't seem to worried about rectifying the situation.

All in all, I'd recommend take out over eating at the restaurant, but neither is typically an awful experience. Good quality food for a decent price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetalto13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst meal I have ever had.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

This was by far the worst meal by far I have had in a restaurant
I would sooner starve than frequent this establishment again! !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mmmm...good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

9 of us from work went for for lunch last week. It was an average of $12 per person. Not exactly inexpensive. In fact at that price I can't justify eating out very often. I had water to drink. We ordered 3 pizzas (large). The taste was very good. The meat lovers is good as well as the ham and pineapple. The special was just ok. So, the crust was done nicely and the toppings were decent. Like a previous reviews stated the inside of this place is dated...like a throw back to the 80's maybe. But hey...if you're looking for atmosphere you probably won't be going here. The food is good. The server did her job well! Kudos! The kitchen staff did a good job too...didn't take long for the food to come.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WAY WAY 2 EXPENSIVE FOR LUNCH AND WHAT U GET”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I AM NOT A HIGH END KIND OF REST PERSON. JUST BECAUSE YOU PAY ALOT DOES NOT MEAN U GET A GOOD AMOUNT OR BETTER SERVICE. AND MOST PEOPLE R LIKE ME. They want value and good food for there hard earned money. THAT IS WHY I DO THIS.

1. This is a place almost like i dicribe above.

2.Out of the three times I have been here The food has been ok. there home made soups are good. So is there pizza depending on the cook. BUT I am realy happy I did not pay the bill all three times.

3.Service Is SPOTTY AT BEST.

4.Daycore old and echoey

5.dont burn rubber 2 go and <2> is what i give it out of six wheels

HAPPY WHEELING.

OOPPS 4 GOT TO TELL U A CLUBHOUSE SANDWICH WAS OVER $7.00 WITH OUT SOUP OR FRIES OR A DRINK OR TAXES NOW THATS 4 THE ????? PERSONS

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 6wheelcridic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our V-Day Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I enjoy Chicken chef i do especially for their chef burger n poutine. But when i took my girlfriend out for supper on valentines day there we were rather disappointed. On my chef burger they had the nerve to put on dry burnt NOT edible bacon! It looked like burned plastic. I figured simple mistake but they still could of NOT put the bacon there and give me fresh (which they did do in the end). As for my girlfriend's chicken, she ordered the 4 piece chicken meal and 2 of them still had blood in them had she not noticed she could have been sick. But we did manage to exchange them and instead of 2 back they gave us 4. I do enjoy chicken chef but really step up with watching how you cook things we pay for cooked food not cheap mcdonalds rubber for this restaurant i give an average.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Djvroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicken Chef also viewed

Steinbach, Manitoba
Steinbach, Manitoba
 
Steinbach, Manitoba
 

Been to Chicken Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing