We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Holly Shrine

Thanks to Sayyed Hamed who show me all historical and religious places in beautiful Shiraz. People... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
EdinKrnic
,
Podgorica, Montenegro
via mobile
mirror work of the building

Ali bin Hamza is a sacred figure for Shiites, he was prosecuted by the caliph and fled to Shiraz in... read more

Reviewed May 26, 2019
IranDestination I
,
Shiraz, Iran
Read all 181 reviews
  
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
104
57
14
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
104
57
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews domed ceiling non muslims tea and biscuits courtyard garden warm hospitality entire wall female visitors free entrance men and women take pictures beautiful architecture holy place fars province nice place mirror interior cloak
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 181 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

This place is absolutely amazing. The shrine is so huge that you should allow at least an hour to walk around. I got a local guide for free arranged by my personal guide so I am not sure if it is possible just to go in by yourself. Try to talk to the guy at the entrance. It’s definately worth the effort. No entrance fee.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank LarsSoholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2019 via mobile

We visited this shrine as a family, it was free of entrance, and it was very beautiful inside, decorated with mirrors and incredible lights.

The most memorable part was the guide who explained to us the history, details of the shrine and our questions relating to the religion. Our guide was fluent in English, very patient, and shared with us the theological doctrine.

I wish to return to this sight in the future, to learn more and to have a longer conversation with the cleregy/guide.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Tommy0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019

It is simply magical! This glittering mausoleum honors Emir Ali, a nephew of Shah Cheragh (also buried in Shiraz at the Shah Cheragh Mosque), and both are relatives to Iman Reza - the Fourth Iman. It was built in the 19th century, during the Qajar Dynasty years, with extensive and impressive works on Venetian mirrors, which bring an atmosphere of peace and enlightenment. "Ali Ibn Hamzeh Holy Shrine", unlikely other shrines, welcomes visitors. Foreing men and women (chadors are loaned at the entrance) enter through men's section and photography is allowed. Keep silence and respect, as many men are praying inside this holy shrine. Don't miss the superb "onion" shaped dome, the intricate carved wood door, the mirror works on walls and domed ceiling, the stained glass windows, the courtyard gardens and fountains, and Emir Ali's tomb itself, at the center of the shrine, right in the intersection of men and women areas. Best visited at early evenings when scenic lights are on. Enjoy!

Date of experience: November 2018
2  Thank LuizDutraNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2019

Very nice shrine, in addition there is staff there to explain (In very good english i may add) about Islam and the differences between shi'ite Islam and Sunni Islam, if it's on your way, it's worth the visit.

Lots of mirrors used inside, unexpected.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank MrBrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2018

A good place to visit during evening with all of their lights up. Don't bring your camera here as they don't allow outsider to take photo and you must be a Muslim to enter their main place.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank MarcusKKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews