We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean, Comfortable and Inviting”
other travelers have booked this property
3 Storey converted Chapel, 5 *
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
3 Storey converted Chapel, 5 *
Spacious lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
3 Storey converted Chapel, 5 *
Spacious lounge
Games room
Mountain views
Large kitchen
Family room
Room for one!
Family bathroom
Utility room
Relax in the courtyard with a BBQ
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alexandra...
Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Clean, Comfortable and Inviting”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We visited for a week with a group of 15. Ages ranged from newborn to 40 years old. The house was very well stocked with all the mod cons to make your stay hassle free. Children's toys, films and a games room for the older children made for a very entertained group of kids leaving us to relax in the living area on the top floor with views of the rolling hills.
We visited two pubs to eat at and with such a large group of us both The Dragon Inn and The Bear coped with great food and no delay.

Crickhowell is a beatiful town with every shop you would need. We never had to travel to a supermarket.

We are definitely planning a return visit!

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2017
Thankyou Alexandra, looking forward to your next visit ! Lawrence
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SQL C
Martock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation for large groups”
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had 9 adults booked in for a weekend of cycling and walking. Westcombe House was exactly what we were looking for: high standards of cleanliness and equipment, plenty of beds, large lounge area where we could all have fun together, excellent large kitchen area with a table that seats ten, room to secure our bikes and a games room for a fun table-tennis tournament. The owner was very helpful and quickly came to sort out a couple of very minor glitches. Crickhowell has everything you could want from excellent pubs to restaurants and first class, interesting, small shops. We were even able to watch live Lions v All Blacks rugby, transmitted at 8.30 in the morning, at a small village pub along with lots of cheerful Welsh supporters! Other minor comments for large groups of adults: the double bedrooms are excellent but single bedroom is very small for an adult (the better option may be the sofa-bed in the lounge) and don't try to sleep if you have friends still in the lounge/kitchen, because the noise of their movements is very loud in the rooms below. However, those are minor comments, overall this was an excellent experience and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonesGare...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Had a fantastic week staying at Westcombe House.
The bedrooms are all huge and the living area upstairs is spacious and cosy and boasts breathtaking views of the black mountains on two sides of the property.
The bathrooms and kitchen are in immaculate condition with all the modern amenities you can think of.
The property itself is fully stocked with everything you need and has a real homely feel with loads of books to read and DVD's to watch.
One week was not enough to do everything that the surrounding area has to offer but a walk up Table Mountain is a must, as well
as a visit to Raglan Castle, The Brecon Beacons and Talybont on Usk.
Crickhowell itself is a beautiful little town and we highly recommend Askews Bakery, The Dragon Inn, The Beaufort pub and any of the local butchers shops.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2016
Thanks Gareth & Jess; it was a pleasure having you to stay and we hope you will be able to do so again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H T
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely,comfortable and well equipped house centrally located.”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Grandparents, parents and grandchildren ; we all had plenty of room ithi spacious house. There were board games, books cds and videos for us to enjoy, plus a well-equipped games room with table tennis and a dart board. The kitchen had every thing one would wish for preparing meals but with the Bear only minutes away,made little use of the kitchen. There was off-street parking for three cars.

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Thankyou Eleanor, I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay; it was a pleasure to meet you all. We have since bought some nice fluffy towels ! Hope to see you again.
Lawrence
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious and extremely comfortable, fantastic for large groups”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Westcombe house for a family christening. The photos do not capture how spacious the property is with the large open plan area on the top floor and several of the bedrooms are large family rooms. It was perfect for three families without being on top of each other and the children especially enjoyed the jacuzzi bath. The games room also kept the children entertained along with a good selection of toys. The house is extremely well equipped and the beds and the bed linen are super comfy. The house is in a fantastic location in the middle of Crickhowell, 2 mins walk from the renown Bear hotel. The town itself was a big surprise too, lots of boutique independent shops including two butchers which we made good use of. We also braved a walk up Table mountain one day which has fantastic views over the valley.

Date of stay: April 2014
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Thanks Andrea, glad you enjoyed your stay; hope to welcome you back soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family and friends in Crickhowell”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the property because it is great for a large group of three families with varying needs, spacious, good location, basically it is lush.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fab property
Liked least: Broken ping pong balls
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing