We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the food”

Nantyffin Cider Mill Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Crickhowell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $34
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Loved the food”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We popped in here for lunch as we wanted a dog friendly pub with good food.
Overall we were impressed, we had the mixed meat meze and it was lovely. the starter and desert were also top class. The cheese board didn't come with the advertised bread but it was supplied when I queried it. It was a very quiet lunchtime but the desert did take a surprisingly long time to arrive so the we'd drunk the coffee long before.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    139
    56
    44
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
483 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Good fish specials, which is just as well since my wife is not a big meat eater. Really well presented dishes, all very good quality. Desserts were also very nice and staff were excellent. Recommended

Visited September 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good - but slightly flawed”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My octogenarian father would definitely give Nantyffin 5 stars. He loved his salmon (from the chalkboard) followed by gooseberry fool. I have a photo of him gazing with anticipation at the fool and, I understand, he was rewarded when he ate it. We sat outside with a lovely view across to the (sunny) Welsh countryside.
I, on the other hand, had the experience of ordering at the bar (not a streamlined operation even though it wasn't particularly busy) and being served sardines which needed a few seconds less cooking. I appreciate lightly charred edges but these had moved over to being burnt. I didn't complain because I was with my father who's not a complainer!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberbargoed, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wow, wow and oh wow!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited with friends for a birthday meal and was blown away with the stunning buiding, old cider mill equipment and overall feel of the place. The choice of food and drink, quality of both and service were excellent. Couldn't ask for more. Portions were large, unusual for such an restaurant. Helpful and friendly staff made the experience even more enjoyable. Will be dining here again, no doubts on that, worth booking a taxi as the cider choice was great too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We've never had a bad meal here but lunch today was so amazing I felt prompted to review again, particularly as the previous owners are now back at the helm.

Just.... wow..... Loved the 'Nibbles' addition to the menu, which allowed us to have three savoury courses as we don't really have a sweet tooth....Everything was completely perfect and utterly delicious!

Going back next weekend as there are so many gorgeous dishes on the menu we want to taste as many as we can!

As usual, very highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nantyffin Cider Mill Inn also viewed

Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Llangattock, Crickhowell
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing