We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice, dont look at the others”
Review of The Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crickhowell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night break at this lovely hotel. It far exceeded our expectations for a three star hotel. Its location is superb with views to die for, the pictures on trip advisor of its location really don't do it justice. Like many others we looked at other nearby hotels but are so glad we didn't choose them as many in Crickhowell are situated right on a busy road. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble they should be commended for their service. Food in restaurant was good, we ate dinner and breakfast outside on the terrace stunning! It also has a small pool which was lovely to cool off in, only thing I would say is it would benefit from a clean but not so bad it stopped us getting in.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view across the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maidencrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 647 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

We looked hard for somewhere for 4 nights walking in the brecon beacons.
We chose The Manor on location, price and the facilities (out of Gliffaes,(no doubt top place, but more expensive), Peterstone Court,( 4 star, same ownership), The Bear ( very central in Crickhowell) and Glangwyrney Court ( 5 star, but only B&B)).
We saw most of the others and weren't disappointed with our choice. We had fantastic weather but used the pool/spa twice early evening. The Bear had great atmosphere and character but right on the main road through the centre of Crickhowell.
The Manor has a great location right on the edge of Crickhowell with open views. The road is the main A40 to Brecon and despite being one field away the traffic noise does carry. It won't keep you awake, but its the first thing you hear when you do wake. ( We had front facing room).
Staff friendly but possibly lacking a bit of professional management i.e. our toilet was broken so that when flushed it wouldn't stop running to refill without careful fiddling with the lever or a severe thump. We told them and they made a note but 3 days later when we left it was still un-fixed.
Also, they do a lot of events/weddings. We guessed mid-week would be OK but they had a local school teenage "prom" one night.....all being collected from the car park below our window at 11.30pm.
The deal we had included dinner on their mid-week deal.....very good value and they let us eat one night down the road at the Cider Mill, under the same ownership and very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobandMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

From arrival at hotel reception until we left the staff could not have been more helpful. They made you feel very welcome by their friendly approach. Room was lovely. There is plenty of space to sit and have a quiet read in the reception rooms. Bar food tasty and reasonably priced. The breakfast each morning was delicious with a good variety of choice available. The hotel grounds were lovely even in the mist and low cloud! The hotel has a lovely and quite grand staircase leading to the rooms.the hotel pool would benefit from a little tlc. The hotel is just outside Crickhowell, a lovely little place to visit. Staff in shops also very friendly. I would certainly like to go back to this hotel as I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Deliveries being made to kitchen early in the morning made our room at the back of the hotel noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerseysideClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at the Manor for six months during the week on business, highly recommended for the friendly staff, great food, stunning views and comfortable accomodation. There is no request that is too much trouble and I hope to have the opportunity to return one day for pleasure. Also worth a visit is the Hotel owned restaurant, The Nantyfinn Cider Mill Inn, great atmosphere and hospitality for a wee night out.

Room Tip: Favourite room 14. All front facing rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LinlithgowDianeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The first glimpse of the Manor Hotel, from the road below, is very special, and the rest of the hotel/ experience lives up to that level as well. Room allocated to me (single on a business visit locally) was exceptionally large, very airy and comfortable. How lovely to be able to open curtains and windows all night, without any noise or disturbance at all. Bathroom (room 9) was a bit on the small side, and curiously displayed the obligatory sign about placing the shower curtain inside the bath before using the shower! Confusing this, because there was no bath, and definitely could never have been one in that room. Being on business in the area, the WiFi (free) was unfortunately very erratic, and the TV in room 9 did not function (had I noticed earlier than the middle of the night, I am sure they would have sorted it), but it would be an absolutely perfect location for a quiet weekend away, walking or just relaxing. Food in the restaurant was excellent quality, very well presented and served by staff who were always very pleasant, helpful and there if you needed anything. The local farm duck was really one of the best for ages. Thoroughly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PM02-08-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Took advantage of the "1, 2, tea" offer whilst touring.
Very positive promotion of Taste of Wales
Great service from the staff.
Food to die for. Dinner and breakfast.
Comfy room and bed.
What more do you need?
Disappointing indoor pool facilities.
Premises could do with general TLC/upgrading but generally clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here while attending a wedding in the area. Most of th hotel is well presented but some areas could do with a bit of tlc. Room was of good size with nice bathroom. On return from the wedding my wife & I decided to retire as it was past midnight. Unfortunately for me that's when the problems started. The bathroom fan was a screecher and set to run for an hour, during which time sleep was impossible. I duly complained only to be told no other rooms were available, despite the car park having only a few cars parked up. To make matters worse when the fan did stop and I finally thought I was in with a chance of some sleep another machine / fan kicked in on the outside of the building which went on and off all night seemingly on the hour! To make matters worse, staff moving around the hotel and arriving first thing in the morning seemed to make an Olympic sport of door slamming. Breakfast was interesting - lovely setting but a 45 minute wait for breakfast which when it arrived was far from what I would call a "full welsh breakfast" and is if to add insult to injury it was cold. I complained when paying the bill and received the following, tearse and argumentative repost: Bathroom fan stays on for a period of time for health & safety. The external fan is totally out of their control. The fire door slamming outside our room, room 12, door must need adjusting, will mention it to the manager - suggested while she's at it for health & safety reasons I suggest the cleaning staff do not wedge it open for their convenience after waking us all up with their door slamming, it is a fire door afterall. The door slamming was apparently guests coming down for breakfast..... at 5am, really. Then the cold breakfast - the food is cooked fresh to order and it was really busy this morning. Well fresh isn't cold and your guests didn't just descend from Mars and take you by surprise. Really disappointing responses as this could be a top notch place as it is it just appears to be very poorly run, managed and maintained. Go if you want the views but not if you enjoy a good night sleep and look forward to breakfast. Since my stay I have left 4 messages for "Catherine" 1 of which she returned hence the other 3 as I couldn't take the call. Common courtesy for any business interested in is customers is to get back to them when the have good & bad feedback. It's been nearly a month now so I guess they are not interested in sorting real issues at this hotel. Won't be returning.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MrGinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crickhowell
0.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
2.7 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
542 reviews
9 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
521 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
965 reviews
13.4 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel

Address: Brecon Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1SE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Crickhowell
Price Range: $133 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all at this hotel high on the side of the Black Mountains, overlooking the Usk Valley and the surrounding hills. Good food, warm hospitality and excellent facilities await those looking for a welcoming place to escape to. Relax and unwind in a fully equipped gym and indoor pool, or dine in the restaurant which uses fresh ingredients from their own farm. Out of doors, make the most of this hotel's location in the Brecon Beacons National Park, and go walking on one of the many public pathways. Visit the market towns of Crickhowell and Abergavenny or hike, climb or ride amidst the beautiful countryside. Take in the spectacular views both on your outings and from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel Crickhowell, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing