We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel(Abergavenny)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Llansantffraed Court(Llanvihangel Gobion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveler rating
283
233
80
45
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
283
233
80
45
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiessteam roomcocklesgroupon deallovely hotelstunning viewsbrecon beaconsfunction roomafternoon teafood was lovelyenjoyable staystayed here for one nightlounge areacooked breakfastfour poster bedcomfortable roomshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 667 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at the Manor for six months during the week on business, highly recommended for the friendly staff, great food, stunning views and comfortable accomodation. There is no request that is too much trouble and I hope to have the opportunity to return one day for pleasure. Also worth a visit is the Hotel owned restaurant, The Nantyfinn Cider Mill Inn, great atmosphere and hospitality for a wee night out.

Room Tip: Favourite room 14. All front facing rooms have great views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LinlithgowDianeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The first glimpse of the Manor Hotel, from the road below, is very special, and the rest of the hotel/ experience lives up to that level as well. Room allocated to me (single on a business visit locally) was exceptionally large, very airy and comfortable. How lovely to be able to open curtains and windows all night, without any noise or disturbance at all. Bathroom (room 9) was a bit on the small side, and curiously displayed the obligatory sign about placing the shower curtain inside the bath before using the shower! Confusing this, because there was no bath, and definitely could never have been one in that room. Being on business in the area, the WiFi (free) was unfortunately very erratic, and the TV in room 9 did not function (had I noticed earlier than the middle of the night, I am sure they would have sorted it), but it would be an absolutely perfect location for a quiet weekend away, walking or just relaxing. Food in the restaurant was excellent quality, very well presented and served by staff who were always very pleasant, helpful and there if you needed anything. The local farm duck was really one of the best for ages. Thoroughly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Took advantage of the "1, 2, tea" offer whilst touring.
Very positive promotion of Taste of Wales
Great service from the staff.
Food to die for. Dinner and breakfast.
Comfy room and bed.
What more do you need?
Disappointing indoor pool facilities.
Premises could do with general TLC/upgrading but generally clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here while attending a wedding in the area. Most of th hotel is well presented but some areas could do with a bit of tlc. Room was of good size with nice bathroom. On return from the wedding my wife & I decided to retire as it was past midnight. Unfortunately for me that's when the problems started. The bathroom fan was a screecher and set to run for an hour, during which time sleep was impossible. I duly complained only to be told no other rooms were available, despite the car park having only a few cars parked up. To make matters worse when the fan did stop and I finally thought I was in with a chance of some sleep another machine / fan kicked in on the outside of the building which went on and off all night seemingly on the hour! To make matters worse, staff moving around the hotel and arriving first thing in the morning seemed to make an Olympic sport of door slamming. Breakfast was interesting - lovely setting but a 45 minute wait for breakfast which when it arrived was far from what I would call a "full welsh breakfast" and is if to add insult to injury it was cold. I complained when paying the bill and received the following, tearse and argumentative repost: Bathroom fan stays on for a period of time for health & safety. The external fan is totally out of their control. The fire door slamming outside our room, room 12, door must need adjusting, will mention it to the manager - suggested while she's at it for health & safety reasons I suggest the cleaning staff do not wedge it open for their convenience after waking us all up with their door slamming, it is a fire door afterall. The door slamming was apparently guests coming down for breakfast..... at 5am, really. Then the cold breakfast - the food is cooked fresh to order and it was really busy this morning. Well fresh isn't cold and your guests didn't just descend from Mars and take you by surprise. Really disappointing responses as this could be a top notch place as it is it just appears to be very poorly run, managed and maintained. Go if you want the views but not if you enjoy a good night sleep and look forward to breakfast. Since my stay I have left 4 messages for "Catherine" 1 of which she returned hence the other 3 as I couldn't take the call. Common courtesy for any business interested in is customers is to get back to them when the have good & bad feedback. It's been nearly a month now so I guess they are not interested in sorting real issues at this hotel. Won't be returning.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MrGinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Called in Sunday afternoon and had afternoon tea in ther sun. Fabulous views the best scones we have ever tasted. Good service. Only a small gripe our hot drink arrived ages before the food and would have like the offer of a top up in view of this, but overall lovely and will be recommending to friends and calling again soon.
Sandwiches, scones and two other cakes each plus tea or coffee for £8.95.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews