We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total Perfection”
other travelers have booked this property
Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
Kitchen/Diner Kitchen/Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Sitting Room
Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen/Diner
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
garden1
garden2
Spring garden at Ramblers Rest
Spring in the garden2
Kitchen/Diner
Spring in the garden
River Usk
Crickhowell Castle
Morning - Crickhowell
Early Morning Mist
street view
Ramblers Rest Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gilliansm...
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Total Perfection”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I stayed at Ramblers Rest for 4 nights but this was not long enough as it is without doubt one of the loveliest cottages we have ever stayed in. Its spacious, beautifully maintained, so well equipped there is nothing that has not been provided. The garden is beautiful and a real bonus to the cottage. The owners are a lovely couple and are there if you need them and if not you are left alone. If you are looking for the perfect accommodation in one of the loveliest towns in the area then stop looking as you will not find anything to compare to Ramblers Rest.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the cottage. We feel very lucky to live in such a beautiful and friendly place, and it is heartening to know that our visitors enjoy Crickhowell (and the cottage!) too. We hope to see you again one day. Thank you. Christina (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babyseasn...
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Possibly the best cottage we have stayed in.”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Very pleasant stay in this comfortable and well equipped cottage.We have stayed in a number of properties in England and Wales and this is certainly one of the best.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2016
Many thanks for your review - we do try our very best to make Ramblers Rest, a true home from home, and it is good to know that our visitors feel the same. Thank you. Christina (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
this0ne
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Refreshed and recharged”
Reviewed January 25, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We arrived much later than we had planned and Christina and Peter were very accommodating. We found lovely welcome gifts and we all found the cottage cosy and charming. It was really a home from home and the cottage is full of character. Warm when it needs to be and a good sized garden at the rear Safe for young children. Crickhowell is a great village - with obvious community spirit and well located in terms of walks and family activities. The Number 18 Café does yummy vegetarian food, especially the Glamburger.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review of the cottage - especially in view of the fact that your stay was in fact quite short! It is good to hear that guests do appreciate Crickhowell and this beautiful and friendly area. We hope to see you all again one day. Christina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful cottage, and perfect location. A tonic!”
Reviewed December 22, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My partner and I spent 5 days in the cottage a couple of weeks ago and I'm already planning my next visit.
It was a very easy journey from our home in London and very easy to arrange our arrival with Peter and Christina, who were super helpful.
The cottage is perfect for couples or small families and is located ideally for both the pubs and shops of town (try out the amazing chocolate shop) and perfectly positioned for some beautiful walks. It was warm and cosy to return to after walking and we were more than happy to stay in with the selection of board games on the one rainy day we saw.
Would heartily recommend both Crickhowell and the cottage, and can't wait to get back. Thank you!

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage had a really homely, cosy feel and was perfectly located for walks and town.
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2015
Hi Laura. Thank you so much for your feedback and review - so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. Crickhowell is a really special place, and we are lucky to be able to invite visitors from far and wide, to enjoy the area. Christina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesHong...
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint stay”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were welcomed with some lovely goodies upon our arrival. Christina was very friendly and helpful and was on call if needed (we didn't). The house is small and really not suitable for anyone who has problems with climbing stairs or who needs to be near a toilet at night, as this was situated downstairs, however for my children, it was excellent. Two good sized bedrooms, a comfortable living room, good sized and well equipt kitchen, a larder and bathroom. My favourite place was the beautiful garden where we spent lots of time and ate lots of meals. The town center is only up the hill so a short walk away.Overall a comfortable stay and one I would recommend. My children wished for wifi and at times me too!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for your welcome feedback on the cottage. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. Regarding the bathroom, I feel that I must point out that this cottage was built in the mid-1800's and it does state quite clearly on the website that the bathroom is downstairs (no properties at the time of the build actually having any bathroom facilities at all !). However, luckily, this was not a problem for your family - and you were blessed with good weather, which has been somewhat lacking this summer in the UK. Re the WiFi, this is something we are now considering, but at present, there are BT hotspots in the street, and free WiFi available at the Library, TIC, and most of the cafes and pubs. We did receive just one call from you during your stay, regarding a faulty shower, which was fixed immediately. Thank you, and we hope to welcome you back one day. Christina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G F
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Immaculately clean in a great setting with a traditional pub not far away. Lovely garden area and have no complaints whatsoever other than it may be time to invest in a newer and slightly larger TV. No internet but we knew that. Great base to walk and explore from

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Positionand garden
Liked least: Old small TV
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2015
Thank you for your review, and we are so pleased you were able to enjoy the garden and outside space as well as the cottage - the weather in the UK does not always allow this! The TV is not actually that small, and we will renew it one day, but we are aware that the cottage is a Georgian Listed Building, and we do not want a TV to be too 'space age' ! (and you are quite correct, no internet in the cottage itself, but it is available in most of the pubs and cafes, libruary and TIC, just a short stroll away). Again, many thanks for your review, and Crickhowell welcomes you back at any time...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellamand...
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great wee cottage”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was a return visit to this lovely cottage in a vey nice village. It has everything you could need and a BBQ if the sun shines. It's a great base for days out at Hay on Wye (vintage fairs, book festival), Bike Park Wales, walking through waterfalls, the Big Pit, the cave/dinosaur theme park, climbing hills and visiting the local vineyard (at Sugarloaf), The village itself is full of good pubs (the Bear being particularly good for dinner) and nice shops. The fact we went back again this year says it all.

Date of stay: June 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2015
Thank you or your review of your time in Crickhowell, and we are so glad you all had a good week - certainly you struck lucky with the weather, which brings this beautiful area into it's own. Christina (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing