We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely quaint stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
Kitchen/Diner Kitchen/Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Sitting Room
Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen/Diner
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
garden1
garden2
Spring garden at Ramblers Rest
Spring in the garden2
Kitchen/Diner
Spring in the garden
River Usk
Crickhowell Castle
Morning - Crickhowell
Early Morning Mist
street view
Ramblers Rest Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JulesHong...
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint stay”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were welcomed with some lovely goodies upon our arrival. Christina was very friendly and helpful and was on call if needed (we didn't). The house is small and really not suitable for anyone who has problems with climbing stairs or who needs to be near a toilet at night, as this was situated downstairs, however for my children, it was excellent. Two good sized bedrooms, a comfortable living room, good sized and well equipt kitchen, a larder and bathroom. My favourite place was the beautiful garden where we spent lots of time and ate lots of meals. The town center is only up the hill so a short walk away.Overall a comfortable stay and one I would recommend. My children wished for wifi and at times me too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for your welcome feedback on the cottage. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. Regarding the bathroom, I feel that I must point out that this cottage was built in the mid-1800's and it does state quite clearly on the website that the bathroom is downstairs (no properties at the time of the build actually having any bathroom facilities at all !). However, luckily, this was not a problem for your family - and you were blessed with good weather, which has been somewhat lacking this summer in the UK. Re the WiFi, this is something we are now considering, but at present, there are BT hotspots in the street, and free WiFi available at the Library, TIC, and most of the cafes and pubs. We did receive just one call from you during your stay, regarding a faulty shower, which was fixed immediately. Thank you, and we hope to welcome you back one day. Christina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernseyl...
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Immaculately clean in a great setting with a traditional pub not far away. Lovely garden area and have no complaints whatsoever other than it may be time to invest in a newer and slightly larger TV. No internet but we knew that. Great base to walk and explore from

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Positionand garden
Liked least: Old small TV
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2015
Thank you for your review, and we are so pleased you were able to enjoy the garden and outside space as well as the cottage - the weather in the UK does not always allow this! The TV is not actually that small, and we will renew it one day, but we are aware that the cottage is a Georgian Listed Building, and we do not want a TV to be too 'space age' ! (and you are quite correct, no internet in the cottage itself, but it is available in most of the pubs and cafes, libruary and TIC, just a short stroll away). Again, many thanks for your review, and Crickhowell welcomes you back at any time...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellamand...
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great wee cottage”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was a return visit to this lovely cottage in a vey nice village. It has everything you could need and a BBQ if the sun shines. It's a great base for days out at Hay on Wye (vintage fairs, book festival), Bike Park Wales, walking through waterfalls, the Big Pit, the cave/dinosaur theme park, climbing hills and visiting the local vineyard (at Sugarloaf), The village itself is full of good pubs (the Bear being particularly good for dinner) and nice shops. The fact we went back again this year says it all.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2015
Thank you or your review of your time in Crickhowell, and we are so glad you all had a good week - certainly you struck lucky with the weather, which brings this beautiful area into it's own. Christina (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy S
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“An absolutely charming, delightful cottage, we hope to stay again!”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The place was perfectly located a few doors from a great pub serving excellent food, and an easy walk into the village. There is a great river walk nearby too.
The place itself we found perfectly laid out, comfortable beds and furniture, great kitchen, wonderful garden, and spotlessly clean!
I would hope to stay again when I am next in Crickhowell.
Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the place
Liked least: I couldn't fault the place
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of the cottage and I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay. Crickhowell is a very special place, and people do appreciate it's uniquness! Christina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanny D
2 reviews
“Just perfect”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Christina is very welcoming. The cottage is so cute and comfortable. We found everything we needed as if we were at home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments about the cottage - we do try to make it feel welcoming, so it is good to know that that is what our guests feel! Christina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a great place!”
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Discovered Crickhowell while on a canal holiday, a couple of years ago. Had been wanting to come back ever since. This cottage was a great find, had everything we could need, an excellent starting point from which to explore the Brecon Beacons. Friendly locals, lovely owners, a truly great little town.
A very enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dearivan
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious cottage in a great location”
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the large spacious kitchen which didn't diminish the cosiness of the cottage. Christina was really welcoming as were all the locals we came across. The cottage is very close to the pretty high street but at the same time it's on a very quiet street. There were plenty of maps and booklets for walkers to use, and they were very useful for guiding us through an excellent walking week ( yes November was kind to us). We were car free and we found both, the location of the cottage and Crickhowell in itself a great starting point for many beautiful walks. It would be great going back in warmer weather to make the most of the lovely garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I am tall and it was a nice change to have a big kitchen in a cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing