We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fathers Day Treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dragons Head Inn

Dragons Head Inn
Ranked #10 of 28 Restaurants in Crickhowell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: popular village pub, adjacent to a camp site and frequented by locals and tourists.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fathers Day Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Thank you to all the staff at the Dragon's Head for providing us with a lovely meal and afternoon at your pub. Perfect venue for a family day out.

Alice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    23
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great food and drink. Our children enjoyed playing in the pub garden and the little park in the village.

Recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rude!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Firstly, we had booked a table for 4 of us one Saturday night and then on our arrival they didn't actually take down our reservation and just stuck us in a side room. Secondly, the gentleman behind the bar was extremely rude to us when we asked about the menu and then he was rude to us once again when we tried to order drinks. We used to go there every weekend for a lovely meal, but he completely ruined it for us. He is too busy drinking behind the bar to serve the customers. I would avoid at all costs.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lucy-may23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Delightful cosy charming pub. Very good choice of food. Staff fantastic, really helpful. Superb local real ales.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Lovely little pub, tucked away amongst the village and surrounding farms. Really warm welcome from the staff and excellent classic country pub food (the scampi was fantastic!). Highly recommend a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBaddowDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragons Head Inn also viewed

Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Dragons Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing