We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crickhowell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and attentive staff. Gorgeous location with a lovely walk by the river and a comfortable warm open fire to relax by. Food and service were also excellent.

There was only one thing that would have improved our stay. We visited for our 5th anniversary before our wedding and nothing was done to make our stay extra special. I'm not sure if this is the norm but other hotels we've stayed in and worked at have at least acknowledged special occasions with guests. Whether it's just a quick congratulation on check in, or a small card or small extras like chocolate dipped strawberries.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 534 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed just one night at Gliffaes Hotel, but another two or three would have been even better! It is a classic, refined hotel, with comfortable warm rooms and spotlessly clean. The afternoon teas in the conservatory are a treat after a walk in the gardens and down to the River Usk, which runs below the hotel.
Our evening meal was delicious, with a good choice and extensive wine list. Breakfast choice was all you could want, again very good. and the service top rate. Fully recommended for a relaxing stay in a lovely secluded setting.

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are quiet, with good garden views, and we were especially lucky to be upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

After seeking out a special location to celebrate our friends birthday, I was surprised to learn when booking a table that I had to leave a £40 deposit. Only to find when paying the bill, the hotel tried to double charge. On challenging this, was told by the staff that I was rude. This followed with the staff being barracked in front of customers by a senior staff member.
Also observed another altercation with a customer. Will not be returning

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a very large room in what must have been a lodge opposite the main house. Very comfortable and luxurious room. No water pressure half way through a morning shower was an issue, had to rinse soapy hair in basin with cold water. The food was excellent and service was good, all the staff attentive and friendly. The house is set in the most amazing grounds which have to be walked to appreciate fully.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were very surprised to read the review of a visitor on 12th January 2014 and felt compelled to share our experiences, which have been so different. Gliffaes is an old country hotel full of character, hospitality, good food and wine.

We first visited about 15 years ago and have probably been back over 20 times since at various times of the year, so feel quite qualified to comment. The food has always been excellent but I imagine not to the liking of those who might grade their meal on 'plate coverage' criteria! The food is locally sourced and freshly cooked. The breakfasts are second to none in my opinion, and I am comparing with the excellent high standard of Le Manoir in that.

The wood fires are usually roaring away in the winter but, quite sensibly, some of the extensive corridors are not so warm, but in our experience it is often necessary to turn the heating down in the bedrooms!

As for service, it has never been our experience that the staff have been anything but very helpful and nothing has ever been too much trouble.

The setting of Gliffaes is stunning by any standards and naturally the Winter period is the worst time of year to appreciate that.

I think the writer of the January review, that I have highlighted, may have visited at a particularly difficult time for James and Susie Suter, the owners, and I would suggest they be given the opportunity to prove the experience to be so very out of character.

Room Tip: All the rooms have beautiful views. Our preference is towards the river. Bear in mind that it is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

When you are recommended a hotel, by two completely separate people, and one of those asks you to go along with them for a special event, you develop expectations that you hope will not be disappointed.
The occasion was a champagne dinner, held late Feb 2014, and in need of a few days away from the pressures of life we decided to stay for two nights, splashing out a little by booking a large double room with views over the river Usk - not cheap!
The online booking went a little wrong - a lower price being advertised than really available - but the hotel honored the advert (after a little compromise by me to show I am an understanding guy) and we looked forward to our welsh sojourn for weeks.
We were not disappointed. The hotel staff and facilities were welcoming, warm and comfortable. The room luxurious (although the DAB radio didn't appear to work). The food excellent. The grounds extensive - although had been more productive in the past I am sure.
We discovered, prior to arriving, that our view of the river Usk would be obstructed by scaffolding as pre-arranged works had been delayed and a discount of £40 per night would be applied. Yes, scaffolding had been erected but the effect on our view was minimal. We still accepted the refund however - thanks James!

Unfortunately, my disrupted sleep quality was a little adversely affected, not by the quality of the room and bed but my enjoyment of the food and beverages on offer!

To our mind, the only improvement that could have been made would have been to the weather - but the hotel did their best to improve this but failed miserably!!!!!!!!!! It is Wales after all.

We shall certainly be going here again

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3, the former Library, which was really nice. We are told that room 4, next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desres83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I and my family had dinner at the Gliffaes last night and I must say that it was of the best restaurant that I have been to ,the staff were great and very helpful, the surroundings are the best, food was delicious, I had glazed Quail, and then the lamb rump ,and then apple and rhubarb crumble ,and it was the best so we will be back , well we are going back tonight for the Champagne Dinner so I will let you know how it go's (if it is like the last it will be the best ) thank you The Gliffaes

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crickhowell
2.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
2.7 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
620 reviews
6.6 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
499 reviews
12.9 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
649 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gliffaes Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gliffaes Country House Hotel

Address: Gliffaes Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1RH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Crickhowell
Price Range: $176 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gliffaes Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gliffaes is a charming, 4 star country house hotel in the heart of the Brecon Beacons National Park.One of the last real fishing havens, the hotel is located off the beaten track in 33 acres of stunning grounds between Abergavenny and Brecon, surrounded by magnificent trees and next to the River Usk.The beautiful local landscape draws in walkers, cyclists and fishermen keen to get out and enjoy the countryside - whilst also staying in a little bit of luxury.Recipient of a Gold Award 2014 from Visit Wales, Gliffaes is a home away from home. Kick off your shoes and enjoy comfortable rooms, open fires, delicious food and excellent service.Run by James & Susie Suter since 1998, the hotel is passionate about this neck of the woods and the guests who stay there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gliffaes Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gliffaes Country House Hotel Crickhowell, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing