We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$96
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel(Llanfoist)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel(Abergavenny)
$145
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
$135
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$73
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llansantffraed Court(Llanvihangel Gobion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveler rating
313
138
57
26
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
138
57
26
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssandwichesafternoon teathe rivercountry househigh teafly fishingbuffet stylewonderful settingextensive groundstrout fishingdining roomwine listkipperssalmonspecial treatlog firecomfortable hotel
Filter
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 558 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were in Room 22, a standard double where the thin Dimplex wall heater was totally inadequate to heat the room making it too cold to sit in. The only means of heating the bathroom was a towel rail which was not switched on when we arrived but it didn't heat the room anyway.
The corridors and staircases on the first floor were not heated either making the overall environment unwelcoming.

There were log fires in the drawing room and dining room but these were not adequate to heat the rooms to a comfortable temperature. On our second morning the waitress tried to breathe some life into the fire in the dining room at 9.30 am but to no avail. How about lighting the fire early enough to make the room warm for breakfast guests?The only room which was comfortably warm was the small bar but there was not enough space or seats there for all guests to use the room.

The Roberts radio in the room was a nice touch but it didn't work on DAB or FM on the first day. Wi-Fi didn't work in the room either. We aren't impressed by UHT milk in sachets on tea trays when marketing materials boast about luxury but when we asked we were given some fresh milk.

The food and service in the dining room was very poor. At breakfast we had to ask for everything; the staff didn't use any initiative - marmalade, more milk, more toast - it all seemed like a struggle for the staff and us. We were given an uncooked, tepid kipper on the first day and when we told the waiter he just took the plate away without saying anything. We told the receptionist but she obviously couldn't improve the situation because day two was worse with cold tomatoes and mushrooms. The waitress we complained to did apologise but just what is happening in a kitchen which cannot produce simple hot food? Dinner was no better with the duck and lamb not quite hot enough and lacking in flavour - was it prepared in a factory a long way from Wales we ask? At least when we asked the waitress if the cheese was served at room temperature or straight from the fridge she was honest when she told us it came from the fridge. We passed on that!

When we came to pay the bill we told the receptionist that we were dissatisfied but she made no attempt to address our concerns. Throughout our stay there didn't appear to be anyone taking responsibility for quality and customer care and young, inexperienced staff were left to muddle through. We assume the man who escorted guests from the bar to the dining room in the evening is the owner - he could make better use of his time sorting out the heating system, putting logs on the fires and employing better kitchen staff.

Room Tip: Only go if you are prepared to tolerate poorly heated rooms and mediocre food.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cymraes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grout, Owner at Gliffaes Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Well, I have certainly let you down and not delivered up to any decent standard in respect of food, service and heating. I can offer no excuses as there are none for the sort of service you highlighted in your report, but I will be investigating everything you mentioned.

I am disappointed that my receptionist did not try and contact me when you were checking out, I realise that I would have not been able to make good anything that had already happened but it would have been good to apologise.

If you are the reviewer I would very much like you to get in touch so I might be able to apologise in person and try to make amends, thank you.

Yours sincerely
James Suter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Have been here several times in the past and decided to treat ourselves with a Xmas away (no family this year). The food has improved even more and especially the meals on Christmas Day at breakfast, buffet lunch, afternoon tea and dinner were quite outstanding. One has to compliment the owner, his family and all the staff for making this a memorable time for us. Not forgetting the excellent carol singing on Xmas Eve from local inhabitants of Crickhowell and district. Well done Gliffaes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I stay at Gliffaes once a year. Set in a stunning, peaceful location with old world service and fantastic food.

It is not "bling" but if you want peace, quiet, good food and wine in welcoming and beautiful surroundings, this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

12 of us ladies went for afternoon tea yesterday and had made arrangements for lifts etc only to be informed that the bar would not open until 6pm!!!!!! very disappointing. We were told on the telephone that the bar is usually closed on a Sunday afternoon but would open on request if anyone wanted a drink. We had have our hearts set on a glass of wine as well and would have been perfectly happy just to have a couple of bottles on the table with us but we were not allowed any alcohol!!The afternoon tea is self - service and the cakes were very nice although the bread was a little stale and the tea only warm! the outside is also extremely dark with no lighting so a walk in the pitch black to the car park. The staff however are all very polite, the place is very clean and tidy and well kept and the furniture highly polished etc. It is in the most beautiful setting sadly these little things let the place down big time. Please open bar and maybe after a few glasses of wine we would not have noticed the stale bread and maybe visit the Angel and pick up some tips for a luxury afternoon tea!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel77Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We dropped into Gliffaes for afternoon tea on Sunday 10th November thinking it would be fun to have tea in the conservatory and admire the autumn colour in the garden and by the river. All went wonderfully well, the staff were charming and helpful, BUT the bread for the sandwiches was stale, scones delicious and cakes/meringues a mix of good and indifferent. The tea was good to drink but not quite hot enough. There were plenty of other guests enjoying the tea and I was not the only one there to notice the stale bread. To have had fresh and really good bread and hot tea with skimmed milk (for preference), would have made the £12.50 per head seem entirely reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews