We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to impress”
Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bear Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stay at least twice a year - the outside is charming with beautiful hanging baskets in the summer and a huge decorated tree at Christmas. We have stayed in several of the rooms - all individually styled, but now have a firm favourite - there are several different rooms and bars to eat in. We were lucky enough to eat in the large great hall on Saturday night - stunning food and the christmas trees throughout the pub are beautiful. Simply decorated with loads of lights. The whole place is spotlessly clean. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidjo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 800 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at the Bear for a weekend break and found it,as ever,excellent.We have stayed there many times and now do so twice a year,so we can enjoy the beautiful surroundings in different seasons.This inn,with rambling rooms on different levels,is full of character and atmosphere.Staff are efficient and polite,accommodation is comfortable,each room has it's own charm. The food,whether a bar lunch or,at our last stay,dinner in the impressive "great hall"is faultless and seems to get better with each visit.Already looking forward to a break next spring to this civilised yet unpretentious old inn,set in the lovely little town of Crickhowell.

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard,on the first floor are our first choice-set apart from the main building but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Loved this hotel, great staff, great room and it was a standard room, bed is comfortable and room is well cared for and clean. Evening meal with friends in the bar was faultless and staff were brilliant but unfortunately the breakfast was by far the worst I have ever had at a hotel, all overcooked and tasting awful. Was offered hot drink but never received. But apart from breakfast its a faultless hotel and i will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MistyW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Bear was recommended to us and did not disappoint. The charm of the old building, the decor, the room we stayed in, the flowers in the courtyard and the garden were all enchanting. The room was warm and comfortable, the location is great, the town lovely, and overall we enjoyed our stay very much. Slight hiccup with dinner (Sunday evening, couldn't book, they lost our order so we waited a long time until we realised that, but nicely and apologetically dealt with and a free drink while we waited again - and the food was good when it finally arrived).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night in November, we expected it to be fairly quiet being a Tuesday night, how wrong we were, the bars and restaurants were all buzzing with a great atmosphere. We chose to eat in the bar but were allowed to choose from the restaurant menu.The food was excellent and very swift to arrive considering how busy they were.Our room was large and comfortable and we had a quiet night until the cleaners arrived at 7.30.We enjoyed our stay tremendously and thought it was good value for money.well done to all the team there, can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: room 16 is at the back of the courtyard away from the traffic and on the ground floor,so no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathernorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights whilst attending a wedding nearby. We had an excellent few days. If you're looking for modern and clinical, go elsewhere! This old coaching house inn is a labyrinth of duck-your-head beams, outhouses and multi-level access to rooms, bar and restaurant - wonderful. Good accommodation, good food and a well stocked bar. The staff are friendly, helpful and cheerful too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xraydiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and German Shepherd "Thor" for one night in november. We really could not fault anything about our stay, the food was great, and so was the beer. Thor was made very welcome and even had a bowl brought out with chicken in, while we were having our diner in the bar. Our room was a double delux, and was bigger than most we have stayed in, with all the usual mods and cons. Friendly staff made the stay run smouthly from start to end.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor room in the court yard, if you were looking for a late lay in then this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellaandbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crickhowell
0.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
0.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
644 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
#3 of 16 in Crickhowell
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Llangattock
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Address: High Street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range: $149 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bear Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 14th century coaching inn situated in the picturesque brecon beacons national park. It is paradise for walkers, cyclists, fishermen and families. The 35 bedroomed hotel boasts an award winning restaurant along with a bar which is always full of atmosphere. Very dog friendly, they will be served with a bowl of chicken upon arrival.we also have a beautiful beer garden where you can soak in the sun whilst enjoying a lovely cold drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Crickhowell
Bear Crickhowell
The Bear Hotel Crickhowell, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing