We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Living near the bridge”
other travelers have booked this property
River Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River Cottage
The Courtyard Entrance and BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
33 reviews
River Cottage
The Courtyard
Entrance and BBQ
Accommodation centrally heated with maple floor
Bedroom configured as double bed with optional 3rd bunk bed
Crickhowell Bridge 50m from River Cottage
Seating area
Sunset from Sugarloaf mountain
Shower room
Fully equipped kitchen
Belfast sink ideal for preparing your salmon!
Shower room
Bedroom configured as bunks for 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brigitte...
1 review
“Living near the bridge”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

It is a magic place, inbetween nature and also next to a pub and in a few minutes to a little centre with friendly people. I enjoyed it walking around and had always a smile in my face because of my happiness to stay here.
The room has basically everything what you need. Because of there are not any places for clothes and other things it is perfect for one person or you are always on the run and it doesn't matter.
I am looking forward to come back to this special beautiful place! Thank you Rupert and Melanie also for your help in the run-up to my journey.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2017
Thank you Brigitte. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul w
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Second visit. Great location situated by the river in the lovely town of Crickhowell. Perfect accommodation for the outdoor person looking to escape... quiet pub within staggering distance. Very quiet location. Walking distance for the pubs, shops, local produce etc . The accommodation is exactly what is described on the tin ......

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilA608
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great value, superb location!”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Back again after three years. Cottage meets the needs. Yes it's small but it is a fantastic location and has everything you need really. Don't know when but I guess we'll be back!

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thanks Phil & family. We look forward to seeing you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidrD57...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy and great value for money”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My partner and I plus dog stayed here for three nights and found it suited our needs perfectly. We were out all day walking and returned to a comfy bed and facilities to make a hearty meal. The courtyard is lovely, the cottage is right by the river, near a pub and only five minutes walk into town.As my partner remarked, 'for the same sort of money it certainly beats camping!'

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thanks David, Kaz and Scout, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Rupert & Melanie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagmara D
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting place”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage is very small but we found it perfect for us and our dog. It was clean and we had there everything what we needed for our self catering little trip. We didn't have any problems with the parking but it might be an issue (issue with parking straight next to the cottage because you can easily find a parking space in a short walking distance from the cottage) in very busy period. The village is lovel too! We really enjoyed our stay there and we will consider coming back! Thank you.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Never seen a cottage like that before. Small but cosy if you don't look for a 5* hotel ;)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint but unkempt”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival, expecting to be able to park nearby, a rather abrupt chap who run the pub next door couldn't wait to tell me that he owned the car park, the lane, and the field which the lane leads to, and that I was not allowed to park in any of those places. I offered the gentlemen some money so that he would allow me to park but he said no chance as he needed the spaces for his pub customers, even if I wanted to use the pub I was not allowed to leave my vehicle there overnight. This left only a school car park which was a fair distance away (7 minute walk for fit individual) to park in and useless if you need access to your vehicle. The school actually put a ticket on my windscreen saying not to park between 7.30 am and 5 pm, so I am not impressed with the parking.
The old wash room (locally known as the garden shed) is actually quite quaint, but; on entry and use of the facilities (cramped but as advertised) it became obvious that the cleaning may have been forgotten about. There was congealed animal fat in the oven tray and the grill pan, and these also contained other matter which resembled breadcrumbs; the toilet did not flush properly and there was evidence from the moment of arrival of a blocked drain due to the persistent stench coming from the drain cover, which is next to the nice garden table area; Several cobwebs and spiders in the toilet, more evidence of the lack of cleaning, and the shower although powerful, was let-down by all the mildew and missing tiles in the cubical.
Come on chaps, I paid good money for this! Disgraceful, but could be very nice, although there will be an issue parking.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161debbie...
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Looking to stay away? Then stay away from here!”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

If this place was on Britain's Got Talent it would get four big, fat 'NOs'!

- NO cleanliness or hygiene standards
- NO heating, when it was only 3 deg C outside (in April)
- NO internet as advertised
- NO landlord presence or Customer Service

Having arrived about 11.30pm for a 3 night stay, we found the place so disgusting that we left at first light still dressed in the previous day's clothes. We felt it only fair to ask for reimbursement of the other 2 nights, but the absent landlord only consented to reimburse 1 night and has not responded to further emails since.

We note an earlier management comment on here where the landlord has a pop at young people who complained about the lack of customer service; his argument being that were just youngsters so what could they possibly know? Well, since we are somewhat more advanced in years no doubt he won't be able to use the same argument this time.

However, since he clearly likes to provide unprofessional retorts to some of the comments on here, we've included just some of the pictures of what greeted us on arrival so that you can make up your own minds; and any subsequent comments to this review will therefore be irrelevant. What you will see In the photos is apparently just after complete redecoration for the summer and a full clean before our arrival (the landlords words, not ours). You have been warned!

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Everything about the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing